Menu
Open today until 8pm 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Isabella Agnes
West Cornwall

£414 - £962 per week
Book

This gorgeous little barn conversion idyllically situated down a country lane, within a small group of other similar properties, makes an ideal get away retreat for couples or small families alike. Although set in a rural location, Isabella Agnes is brilliantly located for days out by the sea, being only a short drive from the stunning beaches in Marazion, Carbis Bay and the surfer's favourite, Gwithian beach. Enjoy your morning coffee from the decked terrace with views across open countryside or in the cooler months light the woodburner for cosy evenings in.

If you can pull yourself away from this lovely holiday home you will never be short of places to explore with the sought after towns of St Ives, and Penzance close by. Still an easy drive away there are numerous hidden coves, beaches and sites including the Minack Theatre, Sennen Cove and the picture postcard fishing village of Mousehole with its winding streets and lovely harbour.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Zip and link

Bedroom 2

Double

Entrance

via two steps onto wooden decking area with stable door into:

Sitting/dining room

large sofa, two chairs, TV/DVD, woodburner, three steps up to:

Kitchen

electric oven and hob, dishwasher, fridge with small freezer compartment.

Bedroom 1

zip and link beds (king or twin).

Downstairs bathroom

shower, WC, basin.

Bedroom 2

double bed.

Outside area

to the front of the property there is an enclosed decked terrace, with a picnic table and bench, to the rear of the property there is a patio area, this area is not enclosed.

Additional information

due to the rural location of the property the WIFI can be sporadic, oil central heating throughout, located in front of the property is a small pond so children must be supervised. Please note there is a dehumidifier provided within the cottage as the property can suffer with occasional damp areas, WiFi, one dog welcome, short breaks available.

 
 

We loved our stay at Isabella Agnes, the location was exactly what we we're looking for.

September 2023

Isabella Agnes is a fantastic property. If your thinking of booking don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed. Great place to stay. As for Aspects, from booking to arrival they are a very easy company to book with. Thank you!

August 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in West Cornwall

There is almost an embarrassment of riches for the visitor to choose from when looking at holiday cottages in West Cornwall. With its extraordinary variety of landscapes and coastline, as well as its proud history and cultural heritage, you won't be disappointed.

With many superb beaches to enjoy, including five with the coveted Blue Flag status, it is easy to see why so many people associate this part of the world with sun, sea, sand and, of course, surf. There is, however, so much more on offer when contemplating self catering holidays in West Cornwall.

West Cornwall is home to popular destinations such as MarazionPenzanceCarbis Bay and St Ives, which are all worth a visit. From the iconic St Michael's Mount to the breath taking Minack Theatre as featured in our blog, you wont be short of things to do while self catering in West Cornwall.

Top tip

When planning a day at the beach, check out our webcams to see where the weather looks best!

Things to do in West Cornwall

Days out

With such an abundance of stunning sights in West Cornwall, you'll be spoilt for choice when choosing where to visit while holidaying here. St Michael's Mount, The Minack Theatre, and St Ives harbour are just a few of the enthralling places on offer. The many golden sandy beaches that West Cornwall boasts are perfect for topping up the tan. For something a little more energetic, boat trips, fishing excursions and water sports are available. Museums and art galleries provide an equally enjoyable day out, with world famous exhibitions at the Tate St Ives and the Barbara Hepworth museum within easy reach.

With the bustling coastal towns of St Ives, Mousehole and Marazion within close proximity of one another, you can be sure to find somewhere to provide everything you need to the perfect family day out. 

Walking

Cornwall's spectacular scenery provides the perfect backdrop for exploring. The coastal paths which hug the rugged cliffs offer breath taking sea views, while walking inland you can enjoy the many nature reserves, ancient stone circles and woodland, for which Cornwall is renowned.

Art & heritage

Famous for its quality of light, the area has long been a haven for artists and there are many galleries to be found wherever you go. There are also many gardens to enjoy; the mild climate will often let plants flourish here which you won’t find anywhere else in the country. For those wanting to dig a little deeper, there is also an amazing mining and maritime heritage which has done much to shape the county and its people as well as, it could be argued, the rest of the world.

Previous Next

Events

Tom Bawcock's Eve, Mousehole

Every year, the people of Mousehole celebrate the bravery of Tom Bawcock. Years ago, when the boats couldn't get out in the storms, the villages had no fish to eat. Tom dared to take his boat out and returned with enough fish to make a Star Gazey fish pie for the whole village.

23rd of December, 2024

Find out more >

Montol Festival

Each year, the people of Penzance celebrate the Winter Solstice with a festival of Cornish tradition, torch processions, and dancing through the streets. It's a truly wonderful celebration. 

21st December 2024

Find out more >

Penzance Literary Festival

Popular with visitors and locals alike, this exciting festival celebrates everything literary, including spoken, written, recited and sung word. Take part in the reading and writing discussions and activities and enjoy the many performances.

2nd - 6th July 2024

Find out more >

New Year's Eve in St Ives

Spend New Year's Eve in St Ives for an unforgettable evening at the largest fancy dress party in the county. Ring in the New Year with an unbeatable fireworks display by the sea. 

31st December 2024

Find out more >

St Ives Feast Day

Feast Day offers visitors the chance to witness, and even join in with, a centuries-old tradition. The Mayor 'Hurls the Silver Ball' into the crowd on the beach below. The one who returns the ball to the Guildhall steps by midday receives a silver coin. 

5th February 2024

Find out more >

Golowan Festival - Penzance

Golowan Festival is an annual arts event that celebrates local culture and community. This year the theme will be 'Back to the Future!

21st - 30th June 2024

Find out more > 

Mousehole Christmas Lights

Possibly the most well-known and popular Christmas Lights in the county, Moushole combines stunning displays against the backdrop of their gorgeous Cornish fishing harbour to bring real festive magic to all who visit at this special time of year. Read More >

December 2024

Find out more >

St Ives Food & Drink Festival

Growing in size and popularity, the St Ives Food Festival features top chefs, quality Cornish goods, sandcastle competitions for children and food demonstrations.

TBC 2025

Find out more >

Porthleven Food & Music Festival

The small Cornish fishing village of Porthleven hosts its annual Food & Music Festival every April and encorporates street performers, a range of local produce, Samba dancing, theatre, beer marquees, hip-hop dancers, fireworks, Cornish singing & much, much mmore...the list is endless!

26th - 28th April

Find out more >

St Ives September Festival

Now becoming a sellout event, this festival keeps attracting more and more visitors who come to enjoy a wide range of acts, including music, theatre, poetry and visual arts.

14th - 28th September 2024

Find out more >

Camborne Trevithick Day

Join in the celebrations at this community led festival. The annual event celebrates the engineering and mining history of the Camborne area, and is dedicated to Richard Trevithick, pioneer of high pressure steam power & inventor of Road and Railway Locomotives.

27th April 2024

Find out more >

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

When booking we had some concerns that the accommodation could be too remote, however the property is well located and provides easy access to both the North & South coasts. The train station at St Erth is also just a short drive away and this provides parking and easy access to St Ives. The property is in a secluded area with stunning views over the surrounding countryside which can be enjoyed, weather permitting, from the front deck. In our opinion, the property is a bit small for 4 people, there is a general lack of storage for both clothes and food / provisions. The kitchen is compact and the kitchen table can only comfortably seat 2. In summary, although the property sleeps 4, the cottage is probably better suited for 2.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. We were so pleased that despite your concerns about the property's location when booking, you found it to be peaceful and secluded, yet close enough to both coasts of Cornwall, giving you ample chance to explore. We were sorry that you found the property to be a little on the small side for your party, being a barn conversation Isabella Agnes is slightly on the cosier side when compared to other properties we market, though we hope you'll agree that this adds to the charm of the property. Hopefully it won't be long before you're back again in the near future. Ben, Customer Services.

We loved our stay at Isabella Agnes, the location was exactly what we we're looking for.

Isabella Agnes is a fantastic property. If your thinking of booking don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed. Great place to stay. As for Aspects, from booking to arrival they are a very easy company to book with. Thank you!

Lovely countryside views! A lovely rural setting (maybe too rural for some) A perfect place for a romantic getaway!

Its a lovely little property in a quite rural setting. It was clean and tidy and kitchen is well equipped. The property has quite a large decking area and felt that it could benefit having a sheltered area as it was raining alot when we went and couldnt sit outside. On arrival we were given tea,milk,coffee and some basics and cream tea which was a very nice gesture.

The pictures on the website did not show that there was a neighbour abutting the property who was resident. We were assailed by loud music and two very young screaming, crying children. The resident knew her music was loud as at 10 to 11 at night she informed us that she would be turning it down shortly! The overall aspect of the barn would have been nice except for this but sitting outside was not pleasant due to this. Would have been OK if we had known as we would not have booked it.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Whilst Isabella Agnes is situated within a small group of similar barn conversions (which we have now made clearer on the website), so there will be other people around; all feedback and any staff who have visited, have always found it to be a very peaceful location, so hopefully this was a bit of a one-off experience. We are sorry that it took the shine of your experience there but thank you for letting us know. We will closely monitor this going forward. Tanya, Customer Services

Beautiful location, small property but comfortable. Aspects are brilliant, would definitely use them again!

Can’t recommend aspect holidays enough! After a bad start to our holiday at another holiday resort we went online to look for another place to stay, we came across aspect holidays and so glad we did they were very helpful from the word go couldn’t fault there service. We chose to stay at Isabella Agnes and was not disappointed it was a lovely place to stay would highly recommend and would definitely stay again!

The location is peaceful and is perfect for exploring Penwith and the Lizard. The cottage is comfortable and it's nice to be able to sit outside. We loved hearing the owls at night! This was our 2nd time here and we had another amazing week walking the coastal path.

Perfect for a quiet relaxing holiday. Use Star Inn, St Erth for great pub food.

A pretty and comfortable cottage in an idyllic, out of the way location.

Lovely little cottage if you want peace and quiet as it's down a track and not really walking distance to anywhere. Has a good feel about it and the new bathroom is so nice !

This is a beautiful cosy property, we had a lovely stay here. It’s very clean, bright, well equipped and tastefully decorated.

The location is great! Lands End, the Lizard, St Michaels Mount and many beautiful coves are within a short drive away. There are lots of supermarkets within 10 minutes drive.

We would definitely recommend!

A very pretty cottage , off the beaten track if you like to get away from it all would be perfect. Be ware the single track road can be tricky.

This is a lovely, characterful cottage in a unique, tranquil countryside location. Unfortunately, there were numerous problems with poor property maintenance that seriously affected our stay and I’ve submitted a formal complaint to Aspects detailing these: On our arrival, we found that the bathroom had just been painted and “wet walls” had been written on the door in tape. Paint was dripping down onto the wall tiles & it was a real pain to have this inconvenience after a very long drive. My wife and son both received electric shocks from a broken plug socket in the downstairs bedroom. The bedding, especially the duvets & pillows, were poor quality & uncomfortable, making it hard to get a good night’s sleep. We bought replacement pillows. There was extensive wet mould on the walls in several places, easily cleaned but it hadn’t been done. The main upstairs bedroom / stairwell window had no blind or curtain & there was a piece of broken blind left hanging next to it. All of this gave an impression of neglect, poor standards of safety and hygiene and an overall lack of consideration for guests. We would consider renting again, but only if it were demonstrated that much better maintenance & cleaning had been put in place.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were very sorry to hear of these issues and saddened that we were not aware while you were here so that we could have had these rectified, where possible. The painting should have been completed and dry before your arrival, and we agree completely that you should not have arrived to it like that. Similarly, had we been aware that the blind had not been put back up and that a socket had been broken and not replaced, we would have had those attended to before your arrival and we are really disappointed that these were not reported to us beforehand. These have since been repaired. Isabella Agnes can suffer from damp occasionally, as highlighted in the website description, but those areas that you have mentioned should have been wiped down and as a result of your feedback and further enquiries with the property owner; they have now put a new housekeeper in place. The owners are also installing an oven extractor hood, to reduce condensation in the property, and over the winter months are having a PIV unit installed to minimise the risk of the property becoming damp. Ourselves and the property owners are genuinely sorry for this experience and we have been in touch since to discuss this further, so we hope that you can see how seriously we take such matters. The owners are very keen to ensure that this kind of situation does not arise again, and we hope from the actions that we have discussed, you have been reassured of this and that we may see you back here again. Tanya, Customer Services

Nice looking cottage in a very rural location, down the lanes but not far from Marazion/Penzance. Well equipped and dog friendly. However, damp is a real issue in this property.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

The location really is great for a peaceful escape; we are glad that you liked it. Due to the traditional granite construction and slightly milder conditions that we experience in Cornwall; some properties can be susceptible to damp at times, and with a lot of properties having been closed up for several months due to the pandemic, and not getting much ventilation, this can increase the likelihood of it happening. We always want to be open and honest if something like this is a risk and so it is included within the property description. However, we have spoken with the property owners to discuss any options that may minimise this risk going forward, and we are pleased to report that the owners have some work planned over the winter months that should really help to improve and potentially irradicate this. Thank you for your helpful feedback; we hope that you still enjoyed your stay at Isabella Agnes and hopefully we will see you back in Cornwall again. Tanya, Customer Services

Isabella Agnes is situated in a peaceful location and his well placed to explore the Lizard and Penwith.

Terrible accommodation - would not stay here again!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were so sorry to hear of your disappointment. From speaking to you at the time of your arrival; you had been disappointed to find that there was some evidence of damp at the property and disappointed to find a dehumidifier supplied. Being an old, traditionally constructed cottage, this property can be susceptible to damp from time to time, and so the owners provide a dehumidifier to keep this risk to a minimum. We completely appreciate that this may not suit everyone, and so we include the risk of damp and the dehumidifier on the website description. The owners are in the process of investigating other solutions that will provide a more permanent solution to this. Unfortunately, with the toilet seat cracking during your stay, and a decorative bit of wood falling off the window, we appreciate that this only compounded your initial disappointment and we tried to help in rectifying these straight away, with the offer of trades attending. Unfortunately, things can sometimes break or stop working, as they do in our own homes, and whilst we really do appreciate that you would hope for everything to be perfect during your stay, we will always try to do everything that we can to help, should anything go wrong. We are really sorry that in this case, we were not authorised to attend to these issues for you, so that you could get the full use and enjoyment out of everything there.

A lovely little cottage ideal for a quiet break beautifully laid out would not hesitate to return

Lovely central location. Spacious and well equipped property.

Beware of damp issues. This property is remote so not within walking distance of anywhere.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry to hear that you had experienced some damp areas in the property while you were here. With the granite construction of a lot of the more traditional buildings around here, the close proximity to the sea and more humid conditions, some properties can be more susceptible to areas of damp occasionally. We try to be open and honest with this in our descriptions if we are aware, and as we do for this property, will state this within the description. The owners of this property supply a dehumidifier, which if used regularly would ordinarily prevent damp areas from appearing, so we will keep a close eye on this. We hope that you still had a great holiday here and if you are ever looking to return to Cornwall, please do not hesitate to get in touch so that we can recommend other properties that will be in a more suitable location for you. Many love the beautiful, peaceful, rural location that Isabella Agnes is situated in, but we appreciate that this may not suit everyone, so our experienced team would be happy to advise. Tanya, Customer Services

We had a fantastic time in this beautiful cottage set in a beautiful location with lots of places to visit.

We had a super holiday in Isabella Agnes. It was in just the right location for us as we like to venture somewhere different each day. It's about 7 miles to St Ives and 5 miles to Marazion. May was a perfect time to holiday here as the hedgerows were in full bloom with colourful wild flowers. The cottage was comfortable, well equipped and in a tranquil setting. Our dog Ruby loved it too! We will definitely be visiting here again.

Lovely little cottage in nice quiet location. Great base to visit lots of the local attractions. Enjoyed cosy evenings in with the log burner on!

A quaint and comfortable cosy cottage with additional parking for more than one car. The welcome gift of a pint of milk and biscuits was a nice touch. Beds were very comfortable and the cottage very warm, very quick to heat up which was welcome as we stayed in November. Bathroom has a powerful shower just wait a moment longer for the water to heat but when it does it's very toasty.

Internet/ Wifi can be patchy and you just need to step outside if you want a phone signal as being an old barn the walls are thick, it didn't bother us much but may bother those who like to stay connected all the time.

We did experience a few issues in our stay but Aspect Holidays team were impressive with their speed, friendliness and helpfulness with assisting us to resolve a series of problems.

Kitchen is well equipped but could benefit from an extractor fan as even with the windows open soon steamed up and had condensation running down walls in kitchen. The property does suffer with dampness and a touch of mould in places there is a dehumidify constantly running to help but the problem does need properly addressing by the property owner particular for those staying in winter as possibly more noticeable at that time of year.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your helpful comments. We were glad that we could help in resolving those issues for you. We will pass on your suggestion of an extractor fan in the kitchen, as being a traditionally built building, where they used materials such as granite; it can hold some of the moisture and occasionally then suffer with a bit of damp. This is seen to regularly by the property owners and is highlighted on the website, as we would always want to be completely open and honest, but if there is anything that can minimise this risk further, it is certainly worth passing on for the owner's consideration, so thank you. We hope that you had a fantastic time here and hopefully we can welcome you back to Cornwall again soon. Tanya, Customer Services. NOTE: the owners have now installed an extractor hob in the kitchen and a PIV unit, which should significantly reduce any risk of damp in the property

This is a lovely,quaint cottage in a lovely location. However I would say a car is needed as it’s quite a way from any main roads. It was September when we stayed and was a bit chilly in the mornings and evenings so we did use the heating, which was brilliant and gave us a very cozy cottage in minutes. Plain white bed linen and white, fluffy towels were supplied. Although we had no need to contact aspect holidays it was good to know we could if needs be.

Would not stay here again

Isabella Agnes was the most beautiful cottage we have ever been too... gorgeous waterfall in front of the cottage and the views are our of this world. Thankyou for such a lovely wonderful stay

Lovely peaceful location but in easy reach of main tourist locations Cosy clean cottage, great place to unwind

An excellent and charming place to stay. Very relaxing and peaceful. Good to be right in the country.