Menu
Opening at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your summer holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Skipper's Rest
St Ives Town

£420 - £913 per week
Book

Skipper's Rest is a perfect little bolt hole for two, right in the centre of St Ives in a quiet location, yet just a stone's throw from Fore Street with all its many independent shops and restaurants. Renovated to a high standard, you'll find everything you need inside to enjoy a relaxing holiday, but you'll also benefit from a pretty courtyard, which is a fabulous place to sit and chill, after a busy day exploring all that St Ives has to offer. Skipper's Rest offers couples a fabulous retreat or, when booked alongside the main house, Sandy Shores, a total of eight people can be accommodated.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

King

Entrance

from Virgin Street, through a gate into a communal courtyard, front door into:

Kitchen/dining room/sitting room

electric oven with induction hob, dishwasher, washing machine, breakfast bar with two stools, two seater sofa, Smart TV.

Bedroom 1

king size bed, Smart TV, en suite shower room with basin and WC.

Additional information

Regretfully Skippers Rest can not acccomodate a Travel Cot in the bedroom, please bring your own dog bed if bringing a pet, WiFi, one dog welcome, short breaks available.

 
 

This is a lovely little cottage for two. It’s a clever layout that makes it feel bigger than it is. Perfectly located a 30 second walk from the shops and 1 minute walk from the beach and the harbour which is priceless. Our only issue was the shower was too small for my other half who is 6ft 3, but then that’s cottages. Would definitely recommend to a couple or someone travelling alone!

October 2023

Excellent cottage in an excellent location, would definitely return again and would recommend to other guests

July 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in St Ives Town

St Ives Town is the perfect place for those looking to soak up the atmosphere of a bustling coastal town. Nestled in the heart of St Ives, most of our holiday cottages in St Ives Town are within a short walk of the harbour where you will find an array of fun-filled things to see and do, from building sandcastles to paddling along the shoreline or hopping on a boat trip for an exhilarating sea safari. 

Narrow lanes are dotted with boutique shops, artisan bakeries, cafes, bars, and restaurants. Discover picturesque gardens, stunning coastal paths, and art galleries galore, all on your doorstep.

 

 

Did you know...

St Ives Town is home to Trewyn Subtropical Gardens, tucked away behind Fore Street?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

This is a lovely little cottage for two. It’s a clever layout that makes it feel bigger than it is. Perfectly located a 30 second walk from the shops and 1 minute walk from the beach and the harbour which is priceless. Our only issue was the shower was too small for my other half who is 6ft 3, but then that’s cottages. Would definitely recommend to a couple or someone travelling alone!

Excellent cottage in an excellent location, would definitely return again and would recommend to other guests

Situated in a lovely quiet location yet within moments of Fore Street and The Digey. Cosy and ideal for 1-2 people. Well equipped and comfortable.

Brilliant location and a lovely little cottage. Would definitely book it again.

Lovely property, very happy and will be back again. Thank you.

Disappointed with skippers rest, it didn’t come up to photos shown by Aspects Holidays Dark and dirty in places, no window in bedroom or en-suite, had to leave the one door open for light and to air the bedroom and en-suite. I believe Aspect have now mentioned no window after complaining to them about this and the cleanliness of the place

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were sorry to hear if this wasn't what you had expected. With every guest have very different requirements and tastes, we work hard to ensure that the photos and descriptions on the website, give customers a good idea of what they are booking. This cosy sleeps 2 property in the heart of St Ives is a fantastic base for being close to the heart of all the town has to offer, but we appreciate that its size and layout may not suit everyone. We try to show that you only have the windows and a door to the front on the photos, but to make it as clear as possible, we have since added a specific note to highlight this. It is never our intention to hide this sort of detail. We are sorry if the housekeeper missed anything and offered to get them to reattend but understand that you had already addressed anything that had been missed. We do hope that you still had a lovely time in St Ives despite your disappointment. Tanya, Customer Services

An tiny cottage, very dark, centrally located in St Ives. Ideal for one, would have been a bit cramped for two. There is an outside space, but untidy and didn’t get any sun. Good for hanging out wet swimwear though!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Skipper's Rest. Advertised as a bolt hole for two, the property may be on the smaller side, but is certainly packed with character. Due to its small size, some may find it more suitable for one, but rest assured there is everything you need for a holiday for two. We're sorry if the outside area did not meet your expectations, we will certainly keep an eye on this to ensure it is kept maintained. We are sorry for any inconvenience by this. Katy, Customer Services.

This was my second visit to Skippers rest, and is the perfect accommodation for solo travellers or a couple. Compact but perfect for me, and the location is amazing - right off the Main Street and seconds away from the harbour and seafront. I’ll definitely be back.

Excellent location and well kept, bijou, accommodation. Somewhere I would definitely re-book

Skippers rest is a lovely property close to the harbour and right up close to all the shops and restaurants. The property has everything you will need to get you started , it’s spotless, cosy and very homely feeling . We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. Wonderful property in a fantastic location.

Wonderful little cottage, great location. Just enough for a couple with a dog.

This was our second stay at Skippers Rest and we loved it just as much as the first. Great location with a shared enclosed courtyard perfect for a well behaved dog. Difficult to believe you're steps from Fore Street as it's so quiet and calm on Virgin Street. We did hear the gentleman upstairs snoring a couple of times but it's not unexpected in such close quarters. Overall we would recommend this property to other couples with a dog.

Great location. Clean and comfortable. Shame about all the rain. Will definitely book again.

PROPERTY IS A GREAT POSITION BUT BE AWARE OF DIFFICULTY IN GETTING LUGGAGE TO AND FROM LOCATION.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

With St Ives history as a traditional fishing village, many of the streets are characterful narrow, cobbled streets that were not designed with today's vehicles in mind, and where this particular property is, there is only pedestrian access. It has the benefit of being just steps away from all the great shops, restaurants, and beaches, but being set back a little, you can experience the hustle and bustle without the noise of vehicles going past all day. The flip side being that you have a bit of a walk with your luggage at the beginning and end of your stay; but hopefully you will agree, it is a small price to pay for this amazing location. Tanya, Customer Services

Had a great holiday staying at this apartment in a quiet location but right in the heart of St Ives. The accommodation was small but well designed with outdoor space. Would recommend.

A great, compact property in a superb location. It has everything you need and is just seconds from Fore Street. Furnished to an excellent standard with great facilities. If you need to stay in touch with people, Wi-Fi is a bit temperamental and there's minimal phone signal inside, but otherwise you can't fault it.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to see that you took advantage of the fantastic location that this property offers, it is in such a superb spot for exploring all that St Ives has to offer. We were sorry to see that you found the Wi-Fi to be a little temperamental during your stay, but we can happily report that since receiving your feedback, the property owner has had Openreach attend and they have fixed an issue with the line which was causing this to go slowly, so the fibreoptic broadband should be up and running as normal from here on out. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to St Ives again soon! Ben, Customer Services.

Lovely to stay at Skippers Rest again. Perfect location and very comfortable. Being greeted by a cream tea and a cuppa on arrival after train journey was very welcome!! Fresh daffodils were a lovely touch and lasted beautifully.

Brilliant location and quiet location simply lovely Would definitely stay again

What a stunning little property. Location is quiet but just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Fore St. Very comfortable with everything you need. I would definitely book again.

Look at the pictures carefully. If you've not been to St Ives before, pay close attention to parking availability and distance for car parks to your chsen property.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback. Parking is in very high demand in St Ives, with many properties not having this facility. Being a traditional fishing village, it was not designed with cars in mind at the time but is part of what gives it such a charming appeal. For properties without this facility, it is always worth looking into parking options beforehand on the local council website and looking into private parking availability, particularly for peak weeks. There is also a park and ride facility which some find useful. Please feel free to contact the team for any advice before booking or arrival to your chosen property; we will always be happy to answer any questions. Skippers Rest is within a 5-minute walk of Barnoon car park and The Island car park, but as they fill up quickly, it is certainly worth being aware of the next closest options. Thanks for your comments, and we hope to see you back here soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Perfect quiet little property ideal for a couple, brilliant location!

Fabulous little property. Great location. Spotlessly clean with good quality furnishing and equipment.

We had a lovely weekend stay at Skipper’s Rest. It’s in a lovely quiet location but really handy for Fore street and the Downalong area of St Ives. Perfect for a couple or single traveller. Looking forward to staying there again in the future.

Fantastic location a stone's throw from Fore Street. Modern accommodation with classy furnishings. Cosy and comfortable.

Excellent property, fab location, decorated to high standard and very clean, definitely stay again