Menu
Open tomorrow at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Seascape
Downalong, St Ives

£698 - £2054 per week
Book

Seascape is a wonderfully presented holiday home in Downalong in the heart of St Ives, close to all beaches and other amazing amenities. As you ascend each floor the views just get better and better, culminating in a fabulous vista, from one of the bedrooms, over the harbour and beyond, which you can admire from the comfort of your bed. Bring the kids armed with buckets, spades and body boards, while you relax on the golden sands on one of the many beautiful beaches in St Ives. You won't want to leave!

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Double

Bedroom 2

Double

Bedroom 3

Double

Entrance

three steps leading into the communal hallway, with entrance door for Seascape leading into:

Kitchen/dining/sitting room

electric oven, gas hob, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, washing machine, table with seating for six, two sofas seating six, footstool, TV, electric fire. Stairs to first floor.

Bedroom 1

double bed, TV, sea views, en suite with WC, basin and shower.

Bathroom

bath with shower over, WC, basin. Stairs from landing to:

Bedroom 2

double bed, TV, sea and harbour views.

Bedroom 3

double bed, TV.

Additional information

gas central heating, please note that the stairs to the top floor are steep and may prove difficult for some. WiFi, one dog welcome, short breaks available.

 
 

Lovely house in an ideal location. Very clean, well presented and well equipped with loads of little extras to make the stay extra special. Fabulous week in St Ives, will definitely stay at Seascape again!

May 2024

Lovely cottage and very central to st Ives. The decor is lovely and the whole place was very clean. It’s well equipped, lots of kitchen utensils and a fridge and freezer, dishwasher and washer. Would definitely stay here again.

September 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Downalong

One of the most popular areas of St Ives, Downalong is an idyllic spot for a seaside retreat. Overlooking the picturesque Harbour beach and just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Porthmeor and Porthgwidden, and the iconic Tate St Ives. Meander along cobbled lanes, dotted with traditional fisherman's cottages, and admire this quintessential corner of Cornwall.

Steeped in history, Downalong is a timeless haven that captures the fishing heritage and thriving art community of this enchanting area of St Ives. With all that St Ives has to offer on your doorstep, spend endless days exploring the sandy shores, stunning coastal paths and bustling harbourside.

Did you know...

Downalong is a historic Cornish term for an area of harbourside fisherman's cottages 'down along the harbour'?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Lovely house in an ideal location. Very clean, well presented and well equipped with loads of little extras to make the stay extra special. Fabulous week in St Ives, will definitely stay at Seascape again!

Aspects are a great company to book with and are always very helpful. We had a couple of issues with accommodation but Aspects worked really hard to resolve issues, Thank yo7 once again.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay at Seascape, we are glad you had a great time. It is a shame that you experienced some issues with the radiators on arrival, though we are pleased we could to assist you in making sure the temperature was set correctly so your holiday could get back on track. We have also checked the washing machine following your holiday and can confirm that everything is working correctly. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Katy, Customer Services.

Lovely cottage and very central to st Ives. The decor is lovely and the whole place was very clean. It’s well equipped, lots of kitchen utensils and a fridge and freezer, dishwasher and washer. Would definitely stay here again.

We had a family holiday in Seascape - very close to island car-park so unpacking car is only a short walk to cottage. All beautifully decorated inside - very clean made us feel very comfortable. The cottage is very well equipped has everything you could need - lots of work space too, which was needed as only 1 overhead cupboard to store food. Would definitely stay there again, but probably at a different time of year when seagulls are not looking after fledglings - was very noisy in the night/early morning - However was still a wonderful holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Seascape

We have stayed in Seascape 3 times and have always had a great time however we were little disappointed with the general comfort and cleanliness this time. The mattresses need replacing and there was a doggy smell in the cottage.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were sorry to hear this. We would always expect the highest of cleaning standards, but as we are sure you can appreciate, it is very difficult to assess what it was like after a holiday has taken place. We would have loved to have had the opportunity to get this addressed for you at the time, but now being aware, we have passed on the feedback to this owner's housekeeper. The mattress in the middle bedroom was replaced earlier this year, and we will continue to monitor the other mattresses, as they can be very subjective to personal tastes, and so far, the owners have not received any feedback on the others. Thank you so much for letting us know, and we do hope that you still had a lovely time here. Tanya, Customer Services

Lovely property in a great location.

We’ve stayed at Seascape twice and another family member has also stayed there. We’ll hopefully be back again very soon!

On arrival we found the floor was extremely dirty looked as if hadn't been washed for weeks. We had to wash it before letting the baby crawl around the floor looked a totally different colour after washing it for a few times. The washing machine was dirty and smelt so did the dishwasher so we weren't able to use them. They provided one towel each person per stay and one tea towel in total so not being able to use Washing machine meant we had to buy more when we were there which were extremely expensive. The Stairs to top floor are very narrow and very steep with no hand rail, my husband fell down them hurting his foot. If all the above were put right it would be a lovely place to stay. Its in a good location for everything in st ives and has lovely views from top floor.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were so sorry if any areas of the property were not cleaned to the high standards that a guest, us and the owners would expect. The owners would have loved for their housekeeper to have been able to return to rectify any concerns for you and cleaned out the washing machine and dishwasher so that you felt comfortable using them. Whether white goods need cleaning out or are not working due to a mechanical failure, we can usually get someone there the same day to rectify anything like this so that you can fully use everything in the property as you would have expected. Thank you for highlighting the steepness of the stairs. As with many of the characterful, traditional Cornish cottages here, layouts are often quite quirky and stairs steeper and narrower than in more modern buildings. Whilst things like this do not need to be highlighted in descriptions, we try to include information on this where applicable so that you can chose the best property to suit all your party's needs and we have, as a result of the team visiting the property since your stay, added a note about the steepness of the stairs to the second floor. We would also pass on recommendations to owners about the addition of handrails if these are not available, but on our visit, we found that there is a handrail up the whole length of both flights of the stairs except for where the door opening is on the top landing, so this isn't something that they could improve on. We do hope that your husband is ok and that you still had a great time here in St Ives despite your disappointment with these areas. Tanya, Customer Services

Really enjoyed our stay in Seascape. A very clean accomodation in a perfect location. I would recommend Seascape as a great place to stay in St Ives.

Another fabulous Christmas holiday at Seascape! Love the house and location. Everything you could wish for was provided. We had another lovely stay. Thank you :)

We had a fab week at Seascape and will no doubt be back again.

Lovely property, tastefully decorated in a great location. Easy booking facilities from Aspects’s as usual. Wetsuit drying facilities would be great as nowhere to put them. Overflowing rubbish is an issue, Cornwall council needs to address this in busy holiday periods. Other than that, a lovely clean and tidy place to stay!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were sorry to read that you found parts of St Ives not looking their best with overflowing rubbish bins. This is certainly not the norm but I'm not sure that anyone was prepared for how busy it has been here this year, and we are sure that the council will address this. Thanks for your comments and we are glad that you liked it here and enjoyed Seascape. Tanya, Customer Services

Love this place, perfect for larger families

A nice house right in the middle of the action. As described on the website, clean and tidy. A little too much furniture for the small space, especially downstairs in the living area. Parking is a real issue if you’re wanting to move the car during your stay. Both seagulls and people on the street and in neighbouring houses can be noisy at night.

This house is in a great location, 2 minutes walk from the harbour and Porthgwidden beach and it is well equipped and beautifully decorated. We were a party of 5 adults and it felt quite small for us. The lack of drying facilities (outdoor space or a dryer) was a problem and the seagulls were very noisy for most of the night - ear plugs are supplied, you should use them!

Fantastic accommodation . the location and Local people , as always , brilliant and welcoming . Aspects always on hand to help and I would recommend Aspects and Seascape to my friends and family ( even though I’d want to keep it secret ) . We defiantly becoming again and using Aspects.

Ps I’ll even forgive the Seagull who nicked My salted caramel Ice Cream

We thought that the house was particularly well equipped. It is located in the heart of St Ives and is convenient for everything. We were pleased that Aspect advised us to buy a St Ives parking permit from Cornwall County Council which allowed us to park at any of the five long term car parks in town. Our dog loved it as well and enjoyed snuggling in front of the electric fire in the evening.

Good location, well equipped, spacious bathroom, nice views from 2 bedrooms. However, this property is very cramped and not really big enough for 6 people with nowhere to store boards/wetsuits/beach paraphernalia etc. Also the stairs to upper floor are very steep.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

With 2 double bedrooms and a zip and link bedroom, Seascape provides enough to sleep 6, as well as seating for 6; however, it is within a traditional St Ives fisherman's cottage, and as with many properties in this style, they can be smaller, with quirkier layouts and steeper stairs than in more modern buildings. Some quirkier than others! So whilst this style will not suit everyone; for many, it is this character and charm that that is so appealing and that brings people back to St Ives and staying in this type of property year after year. We try to be open and honest with all photos and descriptions, and we hope that we have achieved that in this case, but we will continue to monitor for any further comments on this and we will of course make the descriptions clearer or add any necessary further information where needed, so thank you for highlighting this. If you are ever looking to return to the area, please do not hesitate to get in touch with our team so that we can advise on other properties that may be better suited for all your parties needs. We hope to see you again! Tanya, Customer Services

Great location but that’s all that is good about this particular experience. No real space to put our clothing and belongings due to all wardrobes and cupboards being filled with someone else’s belongings. The cottage didn’t look or smell particularly clean and there was lots of dust on woodwork and carpets and around the beds I wouldn’t stay here again.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were sorry to hear of your disappointment and would like to reassure you that this is not the norm for this property, which you will hopefully see from all the other very positive comments. Unfortunately, after such a long time of being closed off while the country was in lockdown and owners and housekeepers not being able to visit the properties and keep them aired, we had a lot of reports of musty smells on the first bookings back as a result, despite them being aired for several days before guests arrived. We would like to reassure you that a full and thorough clean had taken place. Whilst it is very difficult for us at this stage to be able to comment on the cleanliness on your arrival, having not had the concerns reported at the time and no opportunity to assess or rectify these concerns; a deep clean had been carried out a few days before, so we suspect that any dust that may have been present was again likely down to it being empty for several months and dust settling in the few days between the clean and your arrival. We are very sorry if that had been the case and would also like to apologise for any lack of storage space; the owners have since removed extra items from the wardrobes and cupboards so that guests have more space. We hope that despite your disappointment, you still had a great time here, exploring this fantastic area and being there in the heart of it all. Tanya, Customer Services

We had a superb Christmas holiday at Seascape. This is a lovely cottage in an excellent location, beautifully decorated and clean throughout. Fabulous.

Great location, lovely views, very comfortable and relaxing holiday

Another wonderful week in St Ives with Aspects. Our property again, met all our expectations and more, the helpfulness of the holiday firm was outstanding. Thank you

Lovely house, excellent location with a fantastic view from top floor bedroom window.

Lovely property. Close to amenities. Beautiful views from top rear upstairs bedroom.

Super holiday house in a great location with a fantastic view of the harbour from the bedroom on the top floor. Also lots of lovely personal touches which make a big difference on arrival.

The cottage is beautifully situated to explore St Ives and all its lovely beaches. The cottage is comfortable and the views from the window of the middle bedroom is amazing. We couldnt stay out New Years Eve as we had our 2 dogs with us so we watched the magnificent firework display from our bedroom window. We probably had one of the best views in St Ives.

A wonderful property, so much so, we have booked for next year and can't wait!!

Thanks we have had a very good time, enjoyed this place every thing was ready okay