Menu
Open today until 6pm 01736 754242

Reserve your summer holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Tremorna Artists Studio
Treloyhan, St Ives

£622 - £1638 per week
Book

Originally built for the St Ives School of Artists in 1890, this generous penthouse apartment commands breathtaking sea and coastal views, from Carbis Bay beach to Godrevy Head. The property boasts comfortable, spacious accommodation whilst retaining many of its period features and charm. It has been thoughtfully decorated and furnished and has the added bonus of two parking spaces. There is also a Victorian veranda for storage of beach and surf kit.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Double

Bedroom 2

Zip and link

Entrance via external stone steps

from the parking bay, through the garden to the apartment door. Small entrance hall with washing machine and freezer in hall cupboard. Stairs to first floor and all rooms. Door to:

Cloakroom

WC and basin.

Sitting/dining room

two sofas, armchair, Smart TV, double aspect windows with window seat, dining table with chairs, door balcony, outdoor furniture, table and chairs.

Kitchen

electric oven and hob, fridge, dishwasher, nespresso machine, sea views to Carbis Bay and Hayle Sands. Washing machine and freezer located downstairs.

Bedroom 1

double bed, sea views, en suite bath with shower over, WC, basin.

Bedroom 2

zip n link (king or twin beds), large Velux window to rear, en suite shower, WC, basin.

Additional information

parking for two cars, gas central heating, communal gardens with access to coastal path, Please note that from October 2023 the property will sleep 4 guests, with bedroom 2 changing to zip n link beds, providing guests with either a twin configuration, or super king bed, WiFi, short breaks available.

 
 

Tremorna Artists studio is in a great location, and the flat is spacious and well furnished It was very clean and there is parking for 2 cars, however one space can be difficult to access if other cars are parked near to it We were not affected as we only had the one car .Tesco is a convenient 5 minute walk away, and we would recommend the Cornish Arms pub for good food at a reasonable price. We had a Sunday Roast there which was excellent, and again it is only a 5 minute walk. We would stay again.

September 2023

We had an amazing week at Tremorna Artists Studio. The flat has everything one needs for a comfortable stay and the view over Carbis Bay beach is breathtaking. Aspects holidays quickly responded to an issue with the shower and sent the handyman who resolved the issue promptly. We can’t wait to be back again!

August 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Treloyhan

A sheltered corner of St Ives, between Porthminster beach and Carbis Bay, Treloyhan is surrounded by a plethora of magnificent mature woodlands. A rarity on the rugged north Cornish coast, it is home to an abundance of diverse flora and fauna, the perfect spot for keen ramblers and nature lovers. Away from the hustle and bustle of the harbour town, but close to the meandering coastal paths and stunning seascapes. 


Enjoy the best of both worlds, with the tranquility of nature on your doorstep and the bustling seaside nearby, find the pale sands of Carbis Bay beach just ten minutes walk away, while the harbour of St Ives is just five minutes further on foot. Discover majestic secluded coves and rocky outcrops as you walk the stunning coastal paths. 

Top tip

Bring your binoculars for a spot of coastal bird watching.

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Tremorna Artists studio is in a great location, and the flat is spacious and well furnished It was very clean and there is parking for 2 cars, however one space can be difficult to access if other cars are parked near to it We were not affected as we only had the one car .Tesco is a convenient 5 minute walk away, and we would recommend the Cornish Arms pub for good food at a reasonable price. We had a Sunday Roast there which was excellent, and again it is only a 5 minute walk. We would stay again.

Views are beautiful. Do take some clean dish clothes, oven gloves with you if you wish to cook. Also take some towels with you. Be prepared to park your car elsewhere as often the car space provided is taken by someone else. Settie covers are stained but if you can ignore the stains then it's OK.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review, though we are really sorry to hear about the dish clothes, oven glove and towels. That is not the norm. These should always be provided and they should of course always be clean. There are 2 separate parking spaces provided, which should be for guests use only, so if one of those was taken by someone outside of your party, we are very sorry to hear that. Us and the owners would have made alternative arrangements for you had we been aware of this. We appreciate that this does not help with this stay, but if ever you book through us again, if you have any problem at all, please do let us know. We have teams based locally so we can always be on hand to resolve anything very quickly. Thanks for also letting us know about the sofa. The owners only replaced the sofa covers 2 months ago, so that is quite disappointing to hear, but we will get this checked and book in upholstery cleaners asap. We do hope that you still had a fantastic time here and enjoyed those spectacular views that you have from there. Tanya, Customer Services

We had an amazing week at Tremorna Artists Studio. The flat has everything one needs for a comfortable stay and the view over Carbis Bay beach is breathtaking. Aspects holidays quickly responded to an issue with the shower and sent the handyman who resolved the issue promptly. We can’t wait to be back again!

The views are unbelievable and the studio has been completed to take full advantage of the scenery. No matter what the weather, the light coming into the studio was so uplifting.

The walk down to Carbis bay is 10 minutes and St Ives a pleasant 20 minute walk but coming back is obviously uphill so maybe slower coming back, particularly after a lovely meal! The sea is glorious and hearing the waves at night is quite soothing. The Studio has everything you need to cook meals and the beds are comfy. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Tremorna Artists Studio and will come back one day. Parking not a problem and Tesco is just a five minute walk away.

First time booking through Aspects, excellent service throughout. Tremorna artists studio is an absolutely fantastic place to stay, with fabulous views over Carbis Bay and beyond. Easy walking distance down to the beach and into St Ives. Accommodation is clean, bright and spacious and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Throughout the course of our stay we visited Newquay, Tintagel castle, Port Isaac, St Austell, Lands end, Mousehole and other places, all within easy driving distance. We would thoroughly recommend staying here if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Cornwall. Missing the view from the window already!

We chose this accommodation for the view and it didn’t disappoint-absolutely stunning, also you have a designated parking space which is very useful in this part of the world. The living area is spacious and the amenities in the kitchen are generous. There is a Tesco a 5 minute walk away. The walk to Carbis Bay is about 20 minutes and to St Ives about 30 minutes. The walk to the beach is quite strenuous and could be quite challenging for those not so fit - however the view is worth the walk. Nice peaceful location where you can hear the sea which is very relaxing.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay at Tremorna Artists Studio, and that you enjoyed that gorgeous view! As you said, having a designated parking space is incredibly useful and well worth taking advantage of. There are many lovely walks in the area, whether you are wanting to go to the beach, or into Carbis Bay or St Ives. While the time these walks may take can vary between person to person, in the owner's experience walking on the coastal footpath from the property's garden into Carbis Bay takes on average around 10 minutes, while St Ives is around 20minutes away on foot. Thanks for taking the time to send in your comments. Katy, Customer Services

Excellent location for dolphin watching in the bay and for walking into St Ives and the coastal path.

This is great location for a holiday, so long as you are fit and healthy. The walk into St Ives is lovely and the view from the lounge is worth every penny

Reply from Aspects Holidays

The views from the living room are pretty spectacular, aren't they?! There are quite a few steps leading to the property, and the area in general is quite hilly, but for anyone interested in booking this property, if this is a concern, please do not hesitate to contact the sales team for further information. Katy, Customer Services.

We had another wonderful week at Tremorna Artist's Studio. The standard of cleanliness is exceptional. The apartment is light,bright and had everything we needed. The view is amazing...saw some beautiful sun rises. Be prepared for lots of steps and steep hill walking during your holiday!

Take comfy chairs for balcony as it’s so beautiful but you can’t sit for long as furniture is so poor . Make sure you take fans as the living room is unbearable in the Sun

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you didn't find the balcony furniture to be very comfortable during your stay, it is difficult to find chairs that would suit all guest preferences, but your feedback has been passed along to the property owner. Whilst the sunny weather in September has been very welcome, we have had an unseasonably warm few weeks. As owners do not provide fans as standard, we always try to help with the limited stock of fans we have, but this is not always possible. While there is a risk of the property being rather warm during this hot weather, during most of the year it shouldn't be a problem. Katy, Customer Services.

Fantastic view from window of surroundings loved it even at night the stars were amazing the studio was nice and bright and clean my only grumble was the parking our allocated spaces were used by others so we had to park else were and there was no hairdryer but do not let this put you off we really enjoyed our stay

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry to hear that about the parking. We are aware of this happening once before, but it is certainly not a regular occurrence. If ever you return, if it happens again, please do get in contact with us so that we can see if there is anything that we can do to help. many owners will provide a hairdryer, but not all do, and it is not something that we ever advertise at any properties that we market, as we can never guarantee its availability. We are sorry if this was something that you had expected to be there, but we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time here, and hopefully we will see you back again. Aspects Holidays Customer Services

Fantastic views from the apartment. All the appliances, equipment & games required for a relaxing break.

We have been in this flat before as a family and find it's location perfect for walking into St Ives and down to Carbis Bay via the coastal path. The flat is very nicely presented and bright with all the facilities you might need for a stay (washing machine, dishwasher etc...). The only downsides are that it gets very hot in the summer (bring a fan) and the back or 2nd bedroom especially gets hot. The main gripe is the mattress in the main bedroom is that it's very soft and it's led to back problems for not only us this year but other family members during their stay last year also. All in all a great little flat with a big wow factor overlooking Carbis Bay.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your helpful comments and we are glad that you enjoyed another stay in Carbis Bay. Whilst this sunny weather that we have had is fantastic, our country isn't so well equipped for it, so we have had a record number of requests for fans from guests these past few weeks. We will always try to help with what limited stock we have of these in the office, but they have been running out very quickly this year. Owners do not provide these as standard, so there is the risk of any property being very hot for a few weeks in the year, but most of the time, this isn't a problem at this property or any others. Thank you for letting us know about the mattress. It can be a very subjective matter, so whilst there has been one other comment on the mattress this year, most have not mentioned it, so for now, we will closely monitor this and should there be further feedback, we will go and have a look and discuss it with the owner. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon. Tanya, Customer Services

This is our third time staying at Tremona Artists Studio, it’s a short walk down to the beach and great views out to sea (even across to Godvrey lighthouse). It’s only a half hour walk to St Ives and easy access to countryside walks, everything you could want!

The view from the large windows are amazing. In a good location between St Ives and Carbis Bay, however you need to be aware of the steps and hills. A great workout as you don't want to be in the car all the time. Quirky place, beware of low beams in the bedroom and banging your legs on the glass coffee table. We had a fabulous holiday and would stay again in this property.

This is a lovely apartment in a great location, spacious with a beautiful view over Carbis Bay. The beds and bedrooms and the lounge area are very comfortable.

The walk to St Ives along the coastal path is about 20-25 minutes and not suitable for someone of limited mobility, but being in our early 60's and fit and well we loved our stay, enjoyed the walking.

Parking is tight and although there are supposed to be 2 parking spaces, one of them was effectively blocked by a badly parked car whilst we were there. However, having only one car with us this was not a problem.

We hardly used the car and took the train to Penzance one day which was inexpensive and enjoyable.

There is a large convenient Tesco in Carbis Bay if you need to stock up on supplies.

Overall would highly recommend.

We've stayed many times at the Artists Studio - good quiet location with excellent views and easy access to the coast path into St Ives and Carbis Bay.

Perhaps the best ever view I’ve been lucky enough to experience which makes up for the slightly tired decor and fittings. Overall a winner and good value for money.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

The views are just amazing, aren't they? We are glad that you liked it. Whilst this property is not marketed as one of the more high-end properties, for style and decor, the owner has always kept it very well maintained, so we have passed on your comments to the owner, and we will check everything thoroughly during our next inspection. Thanks for taking the time to send in your comments. Tanya, Customer Services

Loved this property and the location. The view was amazing - made waking up very easy! Very easy access to both St Ives and Carbis Bay by the coastal footpath, we hardly used our car once we had parked up. Note that there are quite a few steps so if you do struggle with walking/steps this probably isn't the property for you. Will be looking to book it again in the future.

Has a lovely mini honey moon to Tremorna Artists studio, stunning views, very spacious !!! Lovely team at aspects holidays who helped with any queries :) Location perfect for St Ives and Carbis Bay,

Brilliant stay would highly recommend and book again

We enjoyed a lovely five night winter break at Tremorna Artists Studio and couldn’t fault anything about our stay, it was perfect, the apartment is well furnished, homely and has everything you need and best of all it has the most incredible views, they are that good it makes it hard to leave the apartment in the morning.

It’s in a great location, close to the local shops and pubs and the train station and bus stop are close by, you can walk the coastal path into St Ives which is stunning and the apartment comes with parking which is great!

We would recommend trying the Cornish Arms just up the road for food, it’s a very friendly pub, the roast dinner was delicious!

We enjoyed our stay that much that we are booking for next year, if you want a room with a view this is a must and honestly you will not be disappointed, we weren’t!

Super property with breathtaking views perfect all year round looking forward to coming back next year

We loved our stay over New Year, Tremorna Artists Studio is in a great location... the coast path is 20 minutes to St.Ives... beware uphill on way home but ok! The view from the lounge is simply stunning, 2 great bedrooms both with en-suite and also a downstairs cloakroom... parking can be tricky if you have a large vehicle! But overall, fabulous??

Just spent a lovely pre Xmas week at Tremorna Artists Studio. View from the apartment is spectacular. The accomodation is very cosy and comfortable. Coast path is only a minute away and St Ives is a fairly easy walk. Would definitely recommend.

Wow, wow, wow, what a view. Just amazing! Well appointed. Comfy and warm accommodation. The studio is in the attic of the building so expect some sloping roof spaces - didn’t bother me as I’m only 5’3”, but hubby banged his head a couple of times until he got used to the space. He’s 6’. Fabulous firework displays on the beach below a couple of nights. We usually stay in Hayle, so it was lovely to see the bay from the other side. We took the coastal path into St Ives which was lovely. Tesco is a short walk away for provisions. Just loved the fairy lights which light up the path down the steps. The approach to the parking is narrow, so be careful. I would definitely recommend the studio and Aspect Holidays. Fantastic communications.

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Tremorna Artists Studio! The view from the apartment was beyond gorgeous and it was so easy to get to the coastal path. Just a quick and easy 20 minute walk into St Ives as well. The apartment had everything you needed and the bed was very comfortable.

The view is spectacular but getting in and out of the parking spot can be tricky

Reply from Aspects Holidays

The views really are, aren't they? The spaces are a good size, so shouldn't be too tricky, unless others are parking where they shouldn't be, so we will keep a close eye on any further feedback on this. Thank you for letting us know. Tanya, Customer Services

Artist studio is a beautiful apartment with breathtaking views over Carbis Bay and beyond. The vista is truly stunning and the sun cascades into the apartment in the morning with the most amazing sunrises. We loved our week and the quiet location was perfect for a total relaxation holiday. Lovely location and worth the hill climb, exceeded our expectations thank you Aspects. Julie & John xx

Wonderful views from this stylish apartment.

We had a wonderful holiday at the Artists Studio. Everything was spotlessly clean. The views from the balcony are incredible. Great location for Carbis and Porthminster beach access (via the coastal path). Would highly recommend to anyone.

Beautiful apartment with the most amazing view, we can’t wait to return!

As always, the apartment was extremely clean and tidy, the view is still spectacular and after all these years still has the “”WOW” Factor

A superb, well appointed apartment with stunning views over Carbis Bay. St Ives within walking distance and handy supermarket nearby. Lots of lovely walks and beaches close by. We enjoyed a fabulous week and can thoroughly recommend Tremorna Artist's Studio.

Five of us stayed and it was amazing, the view as most people have said is awesome! We had no issues whatsoever, so much so we’ve already rebooked for next year. St. Ives, Caribs Bay beach, Tesco and a few restaurants all within walking distance. There are steps in/out the property and access to the beach is via a steep path, not suitable for those not so light on their feet. Overall, a great holiday had by us all.

Lovely apartment with fantastic views very well equipped. Cornish Arms served up a lovely meal and was just up the road so only a short walk away.

Tremorna Artist Studio - 12.09.2020 to 26.09.2020. We arrived at Tremorna and had a few difficulties with parking... firstly, the car park space that is given on the instructions was taken by another vehicle, thus we called Aspects who were very helpful and the problem was quickly resolved. We were given the directions to the 2nd parking area (Maybe the location could be added to the arrival instructions), however, neither parking slots were clearly visible. There are initially 4/5 steps down to the garden area and a further 4 up to the Main entrance to the Artist Studio, these steps are unevenand may cause issues with people who have mobility issues. Once inside the property, there are stairs up to the main living areas, including bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen and Lounge... When we entered the lounge we had the biggest surprise... the view from the window was spectacular. This can be a hindrance (in a good way) when trying to get out in the mornings, we never tired of the view and could have sat on the balcony (or indoors) all day long. If you wish to cook, there is plenty of cooking equipment etc. The cleanliness of the property was very good. The SW Coastal path is on the doorstep with beautiful scenic walks in both directions to either St Ives or Carbis Bay. The route into St. Ives is mainly on the flat with 2 steep descents into St Ives, the route to Carbis Bay accessed by steps. Carbis Bay Train Station is up a steep Hill once in Carbis Bay. All in All our stay at The Artist Studio was superb, one of the best holiday accommodation / view we have stayed at and hope to return. Its the perfect location to explore Cornwall. If arriving by train, I suggest getting a taxi from the Station. A must do is the 10 minute train ride from St. Erth to St. Ives!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you very much for your review. We were absolutely delighted to see how much you liked the property and the breath-taking views; it is one of those sights that you can get so easily lost in. We are again, so sorry for the issue you experienced at the start of your stay with the parking, as we can totally appreciate how frustrating this would be after a long drive, but we were happy to be able to help you source an alternative. Whilst there is a chance that the steps leading to the property may be difficult if you have limited mobility, we hope that you'll agree, once you get up the steps, into the property and experience that view, then it is definitely worth it. It was really great to see that you had such a good stay and a fun time exploring all that the bay has to offer, we hope to see you again soon. Ben, Customer Services

Amazing breathtaking views! Spent hours just sitting on the balcony taking it all in. A lovely location, perfect for walks into St Ives and Carbis Bay down the coastal path. Would consider staying here again.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the views were amazing but having stayed in several holiday cottages in Devon and Cornwall, we felt there were a few additions which would have made it even more special. The welcome tray was as you would expect from a hotel and.I suppose we have been spoilt with other properties providing locally produced items including bread, cakes and apple juice.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Tremorna Artists Studio. We completely understand your comment on providing additional welcome items; it can make a really nice difference and welcome surprise on arriving to a property. You will always have some tea, coffee, sugar and milk to get you started off, but anything else is down to the discretion of each property owner. We will certainly pass on the suggestion of additional items though. Tanya, Customer Services

Lovely apartment with an amazing view. Highly recommended but be aware that as mentioned in the property information there are quite a lot of steps going in and out of the property.

Staying in what we called the Crows Nest was brilliant. Unbeatable view of Carbis Bay- we could see Seals in the water in the mornings - apparently they are likely to be released rescue seals as they are released on the Godrevy coast. You can see the light house from the balcony on clear days and the gorgeous sands of Hayle. Would recommend La Calista for tapas and the Cornish Arms for a game of Pool and a pint- both a short walk away. Coastal walk to St Ives definitely gets the heart going on the way back - but worth the views! The Sunset Surf cafe on Hayle made a lovely cooked breakfast.

The view from the sitting room area is stunning! Parking a large estate car was challenging when the lane was full, as turning’s difficult. Fantastic location for St Ives and Carbis Bay. We did encounter problems with the WiFi and shower running cold. However the team at Aspects were faultless!

Our second time of staying at the Artists Studio and the views are just as spectacular as before. The flat is right on the coastal path and we enjoyed many walks down to Lelant and up to St. Ives. There are also many public right of way paths from Carbis Bay for exploring the countryside as well. There’s a supermarket close by for buying food and anything you’ve forgotten to pack. Something to note is that the flat’s parking bays are both accessed from a uneven sloped road with loose gravel so if you’re arriving by motorbike like we did then just be aware. We still managed to park ok it was just a bit tricky and we had to load/unload before this last few metres of road. I wouldn’t however let this put off recommending this flat as we’ve had a wonderful time staying there.

Wonderful stay at Tremorna Artist Studio. Views over Carbis Bay and beyond that are out of this world. We wanted for nothing. Just to finish with a word about Aspects Holidays at Hayle - without doubt the most curteous, friendly, professional and welcoming staff of any holiday company we have ever dealt with. A big thank you to you all. Kindest regards, Pam, Graham and Joe Jarman, and Ruth Gough.

You will have a wonderful time here, I came with my family, and my parents who are over 70, everything was perfect, parking spaces a bonus, the views are breathtaking from the front room and balcony, I am trying to find fault but there is nothing in my opinion.

If you come to this studio you are guaranteed a perfect stay ??????????

Thanks very much for a relaxing and very comfortable stay at Tremorna Artists studio. The view is phenomenal and Aspects were an absolute pleasure!

Wonderful secluded location and fabulous views. Spacious, very comfortable and very well-appointed apartment, with very tasteful decor. The perfect base for a holiday walking the coastpath, enjoying the local galleries and cafes, and relaxing on the balcony at the end of the day!

Tremorna Artists studio is in a truly great location for ease of walking access to Carbis Bay Beach and St Ives. The views from the lounge and associated balcony will not be bettered in any café you may find yourself in on holiday.

We really enjoyed the accommodation and the views were stunning. Because we are enthusiastic walkers, the distance from St Ives and climbing the stairs to the property presented no difficulty for us. For anyone who needs to use a car to move around, the available close parking is a real help, but there are still steps outside and stairs inside the property that need to be negotiated. If you're ok with this, then you'll have a really great stay.

This is a stunning property, close to St Ives and Carbis Bay, with a fabulous view. Definitely recommend.

great view, it's a" WOW" moment still, constant improvements by the owners, 11 consecutive visits says it all.

The studio has beautiful panoramic views through large windows which also means the apartment is always full of natural light- amazing!

the view is amazing

Worth a 250 mile trip just for the views

This is the perfect property, in a perfect location . With an absolutely stunning view.

Spectacular views