Open today until 8pm 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

The Sun Deck
St Ives Town

£401 - £819 per week

The Sun Deck has been creatively thought out and designed to provide beautiful studio style living, for a couple looking for a romantic stay, whatever the weather. The Sun Deck is small, but perfectly formed and as well as lovely, cosy accommodation at a great price, this ground floor property offers an outside terrace area, or 'sun deck' up the external steps, that you wouldn't expect to see when you walk outside. There is also a spot right outside the back door with a bistro table and chairs. The location is convenient, being just a few minutes' walk to the town centre, but away from the hustle and bustle.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1



two steps from road level lead into communal entrance, apartment door leading straight into:

Kitchen/sitting/dining room

small electric hob, combi oven, sofa, TV/DVD, table with seating for two. Door to lower decking area and stairs leading to elevated decking area.


double bed, doors to en suite with shower, WC, basin.

Outside area

elevated decking area with table and bench and lower decking area with bistro table and chairs, washing machine and tumble dryer located in outside storage cupboard.

Additional information

electric heaters, if bringing a cot, this would need to be placed in the sitting area, external steps to main terrace area. Please note from the property the walk down into town is via steep steps, or a slightly longer walk will involve no steps, WiFi, one dog welcome, short breaks available.


Lovely little place, perfect for couples! Everything you need and comfortable furnishings. Best part was the actual private sun deck up the steps outside, perfect for chilling and a proper sun trap! Would stay again.

August 2023

Aspects were fantastic and couldn’t of been any better! 11/10 would recommend and have recommended to many people

August 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in St Ives Town

St Ives Town is the perfect place for those looking to soak up the atmosphere of a bustling coastal town. Nestled in the heart of St Ives, most of our holiday cottages in St Ives Town are within a short walk of the harbour where you will find an array of fun-filled things to see and do, from building sandcastles to paddling along the shoreline or hopping on a boat trip for an exhilarating sea safari. 

Narrow lanes are dotted with boutique shops, artisan bakeries, cafes, bars, and restaurants. Discover picturesque gardens, stunning coastal paths, and art galleries galore, all on your doorstep.



Did you know...

St Ives Town is home to Trewyn Subtropical Gardens, tucked away behind Fore Street?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Location was good. Right next to car park & only 5 minute walk to the wharf. We would not stay here again due to lack of cleanliness of the property. We were very confused that we had to make our own bed on arrival after a long car journey. Property book states that tea, coffee and milk is provided. Coffee was 6 months out of date and no milk was provided for us. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and due to this we did not get much sleep. We would happily book with aspects again as the booking process was easy and straightforward. But we would not stay at this property.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so sorry to hear that you arrived to cleanliness issues, out of date/lacking welcome items, and the beds not made for you. This is not at all what we expect, and we would have done everything possible to put that right for you had we been aware at the time. It is likely that the linen provider dropped the linen to the property after the housekeeper had attended but nevertheless, she should have returned. We were also sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable. It can be very difficult to find a mattress that will suit everyone, but it is disappointing to hear that it was not to your preference. Your feedback has been passed onto the owner and their housekeeper and we will closely monitor this going forward. We hope you still had an enjoyable time in St Ives despite these issues, and that you were able to make the most of the property's great location. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Cornwall again in the future. Lucy, Customer Services

Lovely little place, perfect for couples! Everything you need and comfortable furnishings. Best part was the actual private sun deck up the steps outside, perfect for chilling and a proper sun trap! Would stay again.

Aspects were fantastic and couldn’t of been any better! 11/10 would recommend and have recommended to many people

This was perfect for our weekend stay. We parked at the leisure center and walked down. It was a cosy little flat and the garden was a bonus. There is no view but that didn’t bother us as we were wandering about most of our stay! We would defo book again thank you

The cleanliness of the apartment left a lot to be desired. Dirty laundry inside the doorway as we entered. Dirty cutlery. A used tissue down the side of the sofa. Cobwebs on the light fittings. The television kept turning off and changing channels without warning. The salt and pepper shakers were caked in dust. It was a bad experience, unfortunately. Which is a shame as we've always had good holidays with aspects.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were so sorry to hear this. That is not what we would expect for your arrival and certainly not the norm. It is such a shame that you did not contact us so that we could come over and have a look and get any concerns rectified for you. Now being aware though, we have passed on the feedback to the owner's housekeeper, and we will closely monitor further feedback. Thanks for letting us know. Tanya, Customer Services

A lovely place to stay. Little place with everything you need. Location is very good but get your legs ready for the steps up to the flat. Enjoy the sun deck, me, my son and husband had breakfast up there every single day :). We will definitely come back.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your lovely review of The Sun Deck. As you have mentioned, the property - although a ground floor apartment - is in a higher part of St Ives which means there is an uphill walk to get back home after a day exploring the beaches, shops, cafes, restaurants, and galleries in the area. We do hope that you agree it is worth the walk as you are away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre, but just a few minutes away from the action. Katy, Customer Services

The Sundeck is comfortable and very welcoming It is small but has everything two people need Nicely decorated and we loved the crockery. You can walk to all beaches and town centre easily but it’s a bit of a chore at end of busy day If you explore you will find easier routes, but at the end of day St Ives is hilly .

I spent 5 days at the Sun Deck, just me and my boyfriend and it is the perfect place just for a couples get away for the week

The flat is small but gave us everything we needed as we were only using it as a place to sleep, and eat occasionally. Has all the kitchen utensils that you’d need for your stay.

Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was just enough, there was also a small hairdryer in the drawer that can be used. Always felt safe staying there and sleeping the night.

The walk up to the Sun Deck is a bit steep and hilly but its nothing too crazy, you also get a beautiful view of the harbour as you walk out of the front door

Would recommend ! Thank you Aspects for the stay :)

The Sun Deck is located on Park Avenue, an elevated terrace which must have looked very grand in its heyday. The property itself is situated in a house which has been divided into 4 flats. The house did look a bit unkempt from the exterior but we were really happy once we entered the Sun Deck. The property is bigger than you would expect with a double bedroom and ensuite and a small but usable lounge/diner/kitchen area. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower very good. We stayed a week and did not feel cramped. We took a hairdryer and a travel iron with us but there wasn't any need as they were already provided. There is a washing machine and tumble dryer in a shed in the back garden but beware the cobwebs as you enter! The website shows a pretty bistro table and chairs in the garden but these weren't there when we stayed. There was a table situated up a steep set of stairs but we didn't sit there because you are overlooked not only by the next door neighbours but also your neighbours in the house. We thought the Sun Deck was excellent value for money and set in a good location, close to the town centre and amenities.

Would never stop at Sundeck again

  • Cleanliness was terrible.
  • There was hair all over the floor from previous holiday makers
  • Kitchen counters were filthy
  • Microwave was greasy.
  • Mugs and glasses were dirty with food remains on them.
  • There were dirty socks under the bed.
  • Pencils under the sofa.
  • Dirty/used ear buds in bedroom vase.
  • patio flower pots had cigarette nubs in them
  • no patio furniture to sit on
  • unable to get to the upstairs patio due to overgrown weeds/shrubs on the stairs
  • utility room/shed door only opened half way due to being cluttered
  • rusty unusable ironing board and clothes airer
  • upon arrival two of our towels were dirty and left near washing machine
  • black mould on shower room ceiling and in shower
  • overall damp feeling

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so sorry to read your feedback. That is extremely unusual to hear this, as this owner's housekeeper has always had really good feedback in the past. It is certainly not the norm and not what we would expect for guests to arrive to. We wish that we would have known about this at the time of your stay, as we would have had any concerns put right straight away so that you could enjoy this property to its fullest. Your feedback has been passed straight on to the property owner and their housekeeper and we will monitor this closely. Thanks for letting us know. Tanya, Customer Services

Cute little apartment for a short break in st ives. The space is cleverly designed and has everything you need. The little decking area is a nice addition.

The appartment was small and a little secluded, however it was centrally located with easy access to town and beaches. A few steps to climb going back to the property although there were other options where a steady incline had to be navigated

The Sun Deck is well positioned for St Ives harbour (it above the harbour area, so some steep steps to climb). Parking was a moments walk away (it's £8 for 24 hours). The functional looking entrance hall doesn't quite do it justice, as inside it is cosy and presentable and the space has been well thought out for such a small place. It was very clean inside and the bed was comfy with plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space for two. The bathroom has a sliding door for entry - it's a very small ensuite, but was just about big enough for a couple on a short break. The lounge area was very homely with comfy sofa, tv, round table for two and the kitchen is well equipped. (Note microwave combi oven - so for ease we ended up frying breakfasts rather than grapple with working the combi!) We loved the contemporary kitchen crockery! The lighting was a little dark in places (entrance hall particularly) so we had the lights on all the time. The front has a bench with lovely sea views and the back has two little private decks (one just outside the back door and another up a short flight of steps). There is no grassed area nearby though for dogs. Both gardens are charming but could maybe do with a little tidy up, but this is a minor comment. This isn't a luxury place, but is a decent and good value place to base in St Ives.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted see how much you liked about the property and really appreciate level of detail in your comments, as it really helps other potential guests get a feel for the property. We appreciate you mentioning that the gardens could do with a tidy up and we shall be sure to pass this onto the property owner. Whilst the property isn't necessarily a 'high end' apartment, it has been priced accordingly, and we are glad that you liked it and agreed that it is a great base for exploring all St Ives has to offer and then somewhere ideal for relaxing in the evening, once you have worn yourself out wandering about the town and beaches. Thanks again for your comments, we hope that you will be back again soon. Ben, Customer Services

Apartment was in a great location, with St Ives town centre within 5 minutes walk! Apartment had everything we needed for a short stay. Only recommendation would be to book restaurants in advance as even off-peak, it was very busy!

My sister and I have just come back from a lovely week in the Sun Deck. It is a small but well-equipped apartment five minutes from the centre of town, with lovely views from the front door down to the harbour. No parking included, but a long stay car park 2 minutes walk away which we used every day (we were lucky enough to never have to wait more than 5 minutes for a space!). We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Super leuk, klein huisje, maar helemaal compleet. Perfecte locatie.

Lovely clean accomodation. Everything you need for a good holiday. Would use again.

After entering the main entrance we felt apprehensive, however as soon as we entered the apartment we very impressed. The space is small, but cosy and everything you could need for a short stay is there. The furnishings and accessories were of a very high standard and the place is decorated lovely, we wouldn't hesitate to stay again soon as the location was excellent also!

Absolutely ideal for any couple just wanting everything they need in one space, comfy, cosy and just lovely.

The Sun Deck in itself is a small flat (emphasis on small) located with in a communal block that from the outside does not appear to be flats.

Just 20 metres down the road is a long stay car park which can be payed for via a mobile app although at no point did I see any vehicles with parking tickets or parking wardens checking that specific area.

The entrance to the communal flats is dark in the evenings without turning on the lights.

On entering the flat BE WARNED the floor mat is incredibly slippy! Both me and my partner nearly went arse over t*t when entering for the first time. A small hallway opens up into kitchen / living room with all the amenities you could need.

The bedroom leading off this is small at cosy with a bathroom almost ‘hidden’ as part of the wardrobe. The bathroom door itself was very loud and the bathroom was very very small. Definitely could not swing a cat in there!

Leading out of the kitchen / living room is a small decked area which is overlooked by all neighbouring properties, leading off this is a set of stairs that takes you up to another decked area with a bench. The view of the stars here is some what spoiled by an electrical pillar however on a clear night due to the darkness you can get lost star gazing for hours.

The flat in itself although VERY SMALL catered for what we needed in a weekend at St Ives. It was merely used as a place to return to for sleep before heading out for the day.

The location is quite high up but from the property itself you get no view of anything bar neighbouring properties in the decked ‘courtyard’. It is near enough everything to be in walking distance.

The flat functioned as needed as somewhere to touch at base with before heading out for the day. Stayed over the course of a 3 day weekend. I would imagine the flat would be too small to stay any longer than this due to the confined space.

Decent value for money but would not return.

The apartment is quite small - my wife and i aren't very tall/wide so it was not a problem, but i think bigger people might find it a bit of a squeeze.

Beautiful cottage, it's exactly like the photos. Has everything you need and very good location. We would definitely recommend.

A lovely apartment in a lovely place. Aspect were great to deal with and the clean and comfortable little apartment was perfect.