Menu
Opening at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your summer holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Rough Seas Apartment
Porthmeor, St Ives

£436 - £1147 per week
Book

Rough Seas Apartment is a light and airy ground floor property, situated in an elevated position above Porthmeor beach - which is a five minute walk away from your front door, maybe ten walking back up! You'll also have the benefit of your own private parking space, right outside the front door, for a stress-free arrival and the ability to spend time exploring Cornwall and coming straight back into your spot. But if you don't fancy that, then St Ives offers some of the best restaurants, pubs, beaches and coast paths you can find. There are also some great sea views from the sitting room where you'll be able to watch some unforgettable sunsets.

This apartment has two bedrooms, but is great for couples as well as families.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Double

Bedroom 2

Twin

Entrance

access from the parking space to the rear of the building, 4 steps up into the property leading into:

Sitting room

sofa, two armchairs, TV/DVD, table with seating for four, sea views.

Kitchen

electric oven and hob, washing machine, fridge/freezer.

Bathroom

bath with shower over, WC, basin.

Bedroom 1

double bed, doors to small patio area.

Bedroom 2

twin beds, sea views.

Outside area

small patio area with table and two chairs.

Additional information

storage heaters. WiFi, short breaks available.

 
 

We have stayed in Rough Seas twice preferring a late Autumn visit to St Ives to avoid the crowds. It is in a great position for driving in avoiding Downalong and has a parking space. There is a view of the sea and coastline as well as the carpark opposite. You can walk everywhere in St Ives within minutes from this position but you need to be able to cope with steps or steep hills. Could run down to the surf beach in your wet suit from here. The flat is cosy once you get it warmed up and great for a small group. Quite a basic flat but more than sufficient for a lovely week in St Ives and good value out of the main season.

November 2023

A comfortable flat with lovely views and its' own parking space. Great location for St Ives town and beaches.

September 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Porthmeor

Home to the world renowned Tate St Ives gallery, Porthmeor is a tranquil bay embraced by stunning coastal scenery and boasts a beautiful Blue Flag beach. A firm favourite with surfers and families alike, perfect for sandcastle building, sunbathing, surfing, paddling in the shallows, or simply soaking up the atmosphere.

 

With a beachside cafe boasting panoramic sea views and a popular surf school catering to all abilities, the sheltered cove of Porthmeor has all you need for fun-filled beach days, plus the bustling heart of St Ives and the iconic harbour is just a short walk away. Relax and enjoy the view from one of our many self-catering beach-front apartments in this delightful corner of St Ives. You can plan your beach days by checking our Porthmeor beach webcam.

Did you know...

Porthmeor means 'large cove' in Cornish?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

We have stayed in Rough Seas twice preferring a late Autumn visit to St Ives to avoid the crowds. It is in a great position for driving in avoiding Downalong and has a parking space. There is a view of the sea and coastline as well as the carpark opposite. You can walk everywhere in St Ives within minutes from this position but you need to be able to cope with steps or steep hills. Could run down to the surf beach in your wet suit from here. The flat is cosy once you get it warmed up and great for a small group. Quite a basic flat but more than sufficient for a lovely week in St Ives and good value out of the main season.

The location of the property is lovely but this is probably the first one we have stayed at in st.ives that we would actively avoid for a future visit . We have been regular visitors to st. Ives for over twenty years and love the location. Rough seas is a bit too rough around the edges.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your comments, it's a shame to hear you would not like to stay here again. We appreciate you sending us your feedback, which has been automatically passed across to the owners and their housekeeper to take into consideration for any future improvements. We hope we can welcome you back to one of the many other properties we market in St Ives. Katy, Customer Services.

A comfortable flat with lovely views and its' own parking space. Great location for St Ives town and beaches.

Best location, few minutes walk to town or beach, yes its steep, but its so short, so totally doable. Parking space is generous and is easy to get to, you dont have to drive through any of the nightmare streets of St Ives to get to it. The double mattress was a bit soft for our liking and to be honest the bathroom could probably do with replacing, but overall a comfortable stay. Plenty of clean towels etc. The location wins with this property. (It does also overlook Barnoon cemetery but you dont even notice it, because youre looking at the sea)

This was our second stay at this property. We decided to return due to the excellent location and availability of a large parking space right outside. As before, we loved the ability to walk to Porthmeor beach and into town within a few minutes, and having the rest of St Ives so close by. It made our holiday so relaxing as we didn’t have to worry about using the car.

Affordable accomodation near to town and beaches With a view out to sea

Very clean and comfortable property, excellent location for exploring the whole of St. Ives.

We enjoyed our weeks stay. Comfortable and a great location.

A lovely comfortable flat. A bit basic but more than sufficient for a family or group of friends who spend most of the time out and about in St Ives. Quiet location with a good sea view and ease of parking outside a great benefit.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rough Seas Apartment and made the most out of having that lovely sea view. Having a dedicated parking space right outside the property is definitely an added bonus, as parking is at a premium in St Ives. We aim to offer a wide range of properties that we hope will meet the different budgets, differing requirements and individual tastes. Whilst this property is not marketed as one of our higher end/modern properties, it is always maintained well by the owners and we hope that it was what you had expected from the photos and description online. Katy, Customer Services.

What a lovely flat. Perfect location above Porthmeor beach and with its own parking space and small courtyard.

A basic yet authentic apartment with everything you need.

Lovely cosy flat in a great location with a parking space directly outside

A light and airy apartment with a relaxing feel. The location is great for all St Ives has to offer and the views are fabulous.

Comfortable accommodation in a perfect location for body boarding and accessing the town.

We really enjoyed our stay at Rough Seas. The location is excellent, being only a few minutes walk to town and Porthmeor beach. We loved walking down the hill in the morning for breakfast pastries and coffee. As per other reviews, some of the fixtures are a little dated, but this definitely didn’t affect our enjoyment of the property. The huge parking space definitely took away any hassle of finding somewhere to park after a day out, however we were mostly happy to stay within St Ives, having everything on our doorstep!

Perfect as normal

Property accurately described and the location was fantastic. However, we were unprepared for the lack of privacy. Being on the ground floor where everyone accessing the other two accommodations walked directly passed the side living room window, and the patio area was also passed by/visible to other residents.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry if that part of it was disappointing in any way. St Ives properties and the streets often have very quirky arrangements and sit in quite close proximity to one another, with many having parts of one property coming across over the top of others, or cottages split into a few apartments, front doors up on first floors, despite having a ground floor and so on. It is something that gives the town and properties a lot of that quirky character that everyone loves. With it being so busy here and so much footfall past properties in busy areas, privacy may be something that some find an issue in ground floor properties/areas in particular. With the 2 other parking spaces out the front of Rough Seas Apartment and access to the loft apartment down the side of the property, you will have other people walking down the side and in front of the building, though the owner has added a privacy film to the lower part of the windows in the living room to the front to help with this. We have tried to show in the website photos that there is a row of properties to the back, where the courtyard is located, so that customers will hopefully be aware that this area is not completely private. We hope that you agree that it does not in any way detract from those lovely views to the front and the amazing location of the property. We hope that you enjoyed this property and the lovely town of St Ives. Tanya, Customer Services

Our family enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay in Rough Seas Apartment. It is a great base for St Ives and benefits from free parking. It is a good value for money but is a little tired around the edges.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed Rough Seas Apartment; it really is in a fantastic location and with the huge benefit of parking right outside. We aim to offer a wide range of properties that we hope will meet the different budgets, differing requirements and individual tastes. Whilst this property is not marketed as one of our higher end/modern properties, it should always be well maintained, so we will certainly check on that on the next inspection. After such a long, busy season it may just be due a re-fresh to some areas, so please rest assured that your feedback, and comments from our inspection will all be passed on to the property owners. Thank you for the helpful comments and we hope to see you back soon. Tanya, Customer Services

We enjoyed everything about Rough Seas Apartment, especially the location! We loved it so much that we’ve already booked again for next year!

Rough Seas Apartment was good value for money. A clean and comfortable apartment with sea views from the front. A good base to explore the surrounding areas.

Rough seas is in the perfect location being just 5 minutes walk to the harbour with the added bonus of a private parking space. Loved sitting at the table for breakfast looking out at the sea view too.

A very tired property in need of updating

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you felt the property was tired and in need of an update; a lot can happen in a short space of time in properties, especially when it has been such a busy season, so thank you for your feedback, we will be sure to pass it onto the property owners and check on everything when the property is next inspected. We hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in St Ives and hope to see you again in the future. Ben, Customer Services

Although the location and the parking space were definite plus points, the flat feels quite tired and in need of some TLC ( eg the shower wasn’t much more than a dribble) . Struggled with working out the water heater and the night storage heaters.

Impressed with the quick response from Aspects staff to points I raised

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you felt the property was tired and in need of some TLC. A lot can happen in a short space of time in properties, especially with the busy season we had this year, so thank you for your feedback, we have passed it all onto the property owner and we shall look into your comments during the upcoming property inspection. We were pleased that you called during your stay to ask us about the water heater and night storage heaters, as we always love to be able to help wherever possible. We were so pleased to see how much you liked the amazing location of the apartment; it is in such a good spot for exploring town and for getting to Porthmeor nice and easily, and the parking is definitely a bonus, as this at a real premium in St Ives. We do hope to see you again soon. Ben, Customer Services

Rough Seas is a very well situated flat with lovely sea views & it's own parking space directly outside. Perfect for holidays in beautiful St Ives

Ideal car park spot in front of the apartment. Few minutes walk to the beach. Walking distance to the harbour. No frills but clean and comfortable. Great base for exploring St Ives. Would definitely book again.

Great location and having a parking space is a must in St Ives. The front room and bathroom are tired and could do with updating particularly the front room furniture. Overall had a great stay.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed Rough Seas Apartment and its fantastic location! We aim to offer a wide range of properties that we hope will meet the different budgets, differing requirements and individual tastes. Whilst this property is not marketed as one of our higher end/modern properties, it is always maintained well by the owners and we hope that it was what you had expected from the photos and description online. Your comments are automatically sent on to the property owners, so that they can consider any suggestions for future improvements though, so thank you for the helpful comments and we hope to see you back soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Situated in an excellent position close to the town centre, albeit down (or up) a fairly steep hill. The flat has everything you need and is reasonably comfortable, although the beds as very comfortable. Having a parking place right outside is a major plus. The facilities in the flat are rather basic, but they are adequate for a week on holiday. A very good place to stay if you want to be close to the centre of St Ives and don't mind the hills.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed Rough Seas Apartment! Whilst this property is not marketed as one of our higher end/modern properties, it is priced accordingly and always maintained by the owners, and we are pleased to report that the owners have recently carried out some updates to the property, which are now reflected within the website photos. Thank you for the helpful comments and we hope to see you back soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Very nice stay and location Lovely views Just needs updating then would be amazing but overall a nice Apartment and the parking outside is certainly a plus point Aspects holidays very helpful and welcoming Thankyou for your kindness Cathy

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your lovely comments on the service and thank you for the very helpful feedback on the property. We have booked in an inspection so that we can review all comments thoroughly and discuss with the property owner. We are glad that you liked it here and enjoyed the fantastic views and convenient location of this property and we hope to see you back again soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Very tired apartment, needs updating especially Kitchen & bathroom.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are very sorry to hear that you had felt this property is now very tired. While such a popular property will see some wear and tear over the season, we are obviously very concerned and disappointed to read this. Please rest assured that your comments will be passed on to the owner and we will check everything thoroughly on our next inspection. Tanya, Customer Services

Location and parking is great but property could do with better maintenance.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are very sorry to hear your comment on the need for better maintenance. Unfortunately things sometimes go wrong in properties, but we would always want to do what we can to help, and so we are very sorry that we had missed the opportunity to help with rectifying these while you were here. Thank you for letting us know; your comments have now been passed on to the property owner. Tanya, Customer Services

Fantastic holiday in this comfortable, clean and airy apartment above Porthmeor Beach with added bonus of good sized allocated parking space right in front of property :)

Lovely apartment in a good position with great parking.

Perfectly situated small flat with a parking space, Clean and comfortable

Excellent refurbishment which gives feeling of being light, airy and spacious . The location is great being within easy reach of all parts of St Ives. The parking is a bonus being right outside the property and large enough to accommodate a large family saloon with room to spare. I suspect it would take a large estate.

Great to be able to park in front of the apartment. Brilliant location especially for visiting the Tate and Barbara Hepworth. Sparkling clean, newly decorated apartment.

Excellent holiday again staying at Rough Seas. Cannot beat the location of this property being close to the Tate and therefore within a few minutes walk of Porhmear Beach . Fore Street is also a short walk as is the Barbra Hepworth museum. Added bonus is the parking space right outside the house. You can comfortably fit a large family car in the space , which for St Ives is a big plus. Just one thing left to say and that is we cannot wait for May to come when we will stay at Rough Seas again.

Location is good, parking is a bonus but the facilities are so basic. There's no dishwasher or tumble drier and you can't leave the main bedroom window open at night because it's a patio door and there is open access from the front of the property. Needs modernising throughout.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. The size of the kitchen and property overall, does not allow for the provision of all white goods, so the owners have prioritised providing what they felt would be of most use to guests. We only state the availability of an electric oven and hob, washing machine, and fridge/freezer. If you are looking to return to Cornwall, and having a dishwasher and tumble drier are essential to you, please feel free to contact us to double check on what facilities are available in the properties that you are interested in. White goods will be stated on the description if they are there, but smaller items will not, as we can't fit everything into the descriptions, but we are always happy to chat with customers to ensure that you get somewhere that is right for you. We offer a wide range of properties and some will be more modern than others, but we always show this as best as we can within photos, so we hope that this was all as you expected it, however we have passed on your comments and suggestions to the property owners, for their consideration. Thanks again. Tanya, Customer Services

We have stayed at Rough Seas many times and although the property is basic, it is clean and adequate. There are two reasons which bring us back 1) location - situated just behind the Tate, it is a short walk to both the beach and the town 2) parking - designated parking right outside the property and large enough to accommodate our Mercedes E class comfortably.

This appartment though basic, is perfectly adequate, clean, and well maintained!.. Although one has a climb up from the town and beaches, it is only a relatively short one, and no trouble to most people. Although we are pensioners and the weather was very hot,we found the slight exercise did us good!.. We would recommend it to anyone wanting reasonably priced accommodation for a week or two!!....

Excellent cottage, everything you need. Very clean and comfortable with a good parking spot right outside. Excellent location.

A small apartment, but perfect for our needs. Superb location for all but the Porthminster beach side of town and the outside parking area was simply the best ever - absolutely the most accessible and useful parking we've ever experienced in St Ives. Be prepared for some steep walks back to the apartment from town, but they're not too bad. I definitely recommend this place and would love to stay there again.

Lovely apartment, perfectly located for us and convenient parking space. Was very kind and thoughtful of the owner to leave milk, tea and coffee out for us when we arrived

Welcome parcel on arrival of tea, coffee, washing up liquid etc was much appreciated. Beds nice and comfy and lovely clean linen. Distance to town centre good although tricky with the pushchair as so high up.