Menu
01736 754242 Open today until 5pm COVID-19 Info

Rough Seas Apartment
Porthmeor, St Ives

£400 - £1010 per week
Book

Rough Seas Apartment is a light and airy ground floor property, situated in an elevated position above Porthmeor beach - which is a five minute walk away from your front door, maybe ten walking back up! You'll also have the benefit of your own private parking space, right outside the front door, for a stress-free arrival and the ability to spend time exploring Cornwall and coming straight back into your spot. But if you don't fancy that, then St Ives offers some of the best restaurants, pubs, beaches and coast paths you can find. There are also some great sea views from the sitting room where you'll be able to watch some unforgettable sunsets.

This apartment has two bedrooms, but is great for couples as well as families.

Entrance

access from the parking space to the rear of the building, 4 steps up into the property leading into:

Sitting room

sofa, two armchairs, TV/DVD, table with seating for four, sea views.

Kitchen

electric oven and hob, washing machine, fridge/freezer.

Bathroom

bath with shower over, WC, basin.

Bedroom 1

double bed, doors to small patio area.

Bedroom 2

twin beds, sea views.

Outside area

small patio area with table and two chairs.

Additional information

storage heaters. WiFi, short breaks available.

 
 

Rough seas is in the perfect location being just 5 minutes walk to the harbour with the added bonus of a private parking space. Loved sitting at the table for breakfast looking out at the sea view too.

October 2020

Rough Seas is a very well situated flat with lovely sea views & it's own parking space directly outside. Perfect for holidays in beautiful St Ives

September 2020

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday
1 Jan - 6 Feb400
13 February408
20 Feb - 20 Mar400
27 March439
3 Apr - 10 Apr562
17 April400
24 April439
1 May530
8 May - 22 May557
29 May819
5 June637
12 June662
19 June712
26 June793
3 July834
10 July850
17 July939
24 Jul - 21 Aug1010
28 August712
4 September655
11 September611
18 September482
25 Sep - 9 Oct477
16 October486
23 October533
30 Oct - 11 Dec400
18 December618
25 Dec - 31 Dec786
 

Holidays in Porthmeor

Take a sneak preview, watch our Porthmeor webcam here>

The Tate is a must; something everyone should visit at least once, or simply relax and enjoy the view from one of our many self-catering beach-front apartments. Most of the town and all it has to offer is a level walk from Porthmeor, making it many of our guests' first choice of location. Many Porthmeor properties offer parking and most have superb beach views and balconies.

View all of our Porthmeor Cottages >

 

Local events

St Ives Feast Day

Held on the anniversary of the consecration of the Parish Church of St Eia in 1434 AD, Feast Day offers visitors to witness - and even join in with - some centuries-old traditions. A morning precesison led by the Mayor to bless the Well of St Eia. Following this, the Mayor will 'Hurls the Silver Ball' into a crowd of children who assemble on the beach below. The one who returns the ball to the Guildhall steps by midday receives a silver coin. In the afternoon the Mayor then throw pennies from the balcony of the Guildhall for children to collect.

TBC 2021

Find out more >

St Ives Food & Drink Festival

Growing in size and popularity, the St Ives Food Festival features top chefs, quality Cornish goods, sandcastle competitions for children and food demonstrations.

TBC

Find out more >

St Ives Bay Helicopter Tours

For two weeks only, Adventure 001, supporters of Cornwall Air Ambulance, will be bringing their helicopter experiences to St Ives! Choose from a 6 minute flight from £35 to a 30 minute flight from £96 and take in the incredible views across St Ives bay and beyond!

Dates TBC August 2021

Find out more > 

St Ives Lifeboat Day

A fun packed day hosted by the RNLI lifeboat Station. See the lifeboats on display and in action on the water with demonstrations featuring one of the HM Coastguard helicpoters!

TBC

Find out more>

St Ives September Festival

Now becoming a sellout event, this festival keeps attracting more and more visitors who come to enjoy a wide range of acts, including music, theatre, poetry and visual arts.

TBC

Find out more >

New Year's Eve in St Ives

Spend New Year's Eve in St Ives for an unforgettable evening at the largest fancy dress party in the county. Ring in the New Year with an unbeatable fireworks display by the sea. 

31st December 2021

Find out more about New Year's Eve in St Ives here>

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Rough seas is in the perfect location being just 5 minutes walk to the harbour with the added bonus of a private parking space. Loved sitting at the table for breakfast looking out at the sea view too.

A very tired property in need of updating

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you felt the property was tired and in need of an update; a lot can happen in a short space of time in properties, especially when it has been such a busy season, so thank you for your feedback, we will be sure to pass it onto the property owners and check on everything when the property is next inspected. We hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in St Ives and hope to see you again in the future. Ben, Customer Services

Although the location and the parking space were definite plus points, the flat feels quite tired and in need of some TLC ( eg the shower wasn’t much more than a dribble) . Struggled with working out the water heater and the night storage heaters.

Impressed with the quick response from Aspects staff to points I raised

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you felt the property was tired and in need of some TLC. A lot can happen in a short space of time in properties, especially with the busy season we had this year, so thank you for your feedback, we have passed it all onto the property owner and we shall look into your comments during the upcoming property inspection. We were pleased that you called during your stay to ask us about the water heater and night storage heaters, as we always love to be able to help wherever possible. We were so pleased to see how much you liked the amazing location of the apartment; it is in such a good spot for exploring town and for getting to Porthmeor nice and easily, and the parking is definitely a bonus, as this at a real premium in St Ives. We do hope to see you again soon. Ben, Customer Services

Rough Seas is a very well situated flat with lovely sea views & it's own parking space directly outside. Perfect for holidays in beautiful St Ives

Ideal car park spot in front of the apartment. Few minutes walk to the beach. Walking distance to the harbour. No frills but clean and comfortable. Great base for exploring St Ives. Would definitely book again.

Great location and having a parking space is a must in St Ives. The front room and bathroom are tired and could do with updating particularly the front room furniture. Overall had a great stay.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed Rough Seas Apartment and its fantastic location! We aim to offer a wide range of properties that we hope will meet the different budgets, differing requirements and individual tastes. Whilst this property is not marketed as one of our higher end/modern properties, it is always maintained well by the owners and we hope that it was what you had expected from the photos and description online. Your comments are automatically sent on to the property owners, so that they can consider any suggestions for future improvements though, so thank you for the helpful comments and we hope to see you back soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Situated in an excellent position close to the town centre, albeit down (or up) a fairly steep hill. The flat has everything you need and is reasonably comfortable, although the beds as very comfortable. Having a parking place right outside is a major plus. The facilities in the flat are rather basic, but they are adequate for a week on holiday. A very good place to stay if you want to be close to the centre of St Ives and don't mind the hills.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed Rough Seas Apartment! Whilst this property is not marketed as one of our higher end/modern properties, it is priced accordingly and always maintained by the owners, and we are pleased to report that the owners have recently carried out some updates to the property, which are now reflected within the website photos. Thank you for the helpful comments and we hope to see you back soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Very nice stay and location Lovely views Just needs updating then would be amazing but overall a nice Apartment and the parking outside is certainly a plus point Aspects holidays very helpful and welcoming Thankyou for your kindness Cathy

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your lovely comments on the service and thank you for the very helpful feedback on the property. We have booked in an inspection so that we can review all comments thoroughly and discuss with the property owner. We are glad that you liked it here and enjoyed the fantastic views and convenient location of this property and we hope to see you back again soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Very tired apartment, needs updating especially Kitchen & bathroom.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are very sorry to hear that you had felt this property is now very tired. While such a popular property will see some wear and tear over the season, we are obviously very concerned and disappointed to read this. Please rest assured that your comments will be passed on to the owner and we will check everything thoroughly on our next inspection. Tanya, Customer Services

Location and parking is great but property could do with better maintenance.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are very sorry to hear your comment on the need for better maintenance. Unfortunately things sometimes go wrong in properties, but we would always want to do what we can to help, and so we are very sorry that we had missed the opportunity to help with rectifying these while you were here. Thank you for letting us know; your comments have now been passed on to the property owner. Tanya, Customer Services

Fantastic holiday in this comfortable, clean and airy apartment above Porthmeor Beach with added bonus of good sized allocated parking space right in front of property :)

Lovely apartment in a good position with great parking.

Perfectly situated small flat with a parking space, Clean and comfortable

Excellent refurbishment which gives feeling of being light, airy and spacious . The location is great being within easy reach of all parts of St Ives. The parking is a bonus being right outside the property and large enough to accommodate a large family saloon with room to spare. I suspect it would take a large estate.

Great to be able to park in front of the apartment. Brilliant location especially for visiting the Tate and Barbara Hepworth. Sparkling clean, newly decorated apartment.

Excellent holiday again staying at Rough Seas. Cannot beat the location of this property being close to the Tate and therefore within a few minutes walk of Porhmear Beach . Fore Street is also a short walk as is the Barbra Hepworth museum. Added bonus is the parking space right outside the house. You can comfortably fit a large family car in the space , which for St Ives is a big plus. Just one thing left to say and that is we cannot wait for May to come when we will stay at Rough Seas again.

Location is good, parking is a bonus but the facilities are so basic. There's no dishwasher or tumble drier and you can't leave the main bedroom window open at night because it's a patio door and there is open access from the front of the property. Needs modernising throughout.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. The size of the kitchen and property overall, does not allow for the provision of all white goods, so the owners have prioritised providing what they felt would be of most use to guests. We only state the availability of an electric oven and hob, washing machine, and fridge/freezer. If you are looking to return to Cornwall, and having a dishwasher and tumble drier are essential to you, please feel free to contact us to double check on what facilities are available in the properties that you are interested in. White goods will be stated on the description if they are there, but smaller items will not, as we can't fit everything into the descriptions, but we are always happy to chat with customers to ensure that you get somewhere that is right for you. We offer a wide range of properties and some will be more modern than others, but we always show this as best as we can within photos, so we hope that this was all as you expected it, however we have passed on your comments and suggestions to the property owners, for their consideration. Thanks again. Tanya, Customer Services

We have stayed at Rough Seas many times and although the property is basic, it is clean and adequate. There are two reasons which bring us back 1) location - situated just behind the Tate, it is a short walk to both the beach and the town 2) parking - designated parking right outside the property and large enough to accommodate our Mercedes E class comfortably.

This appartment though basic, is perfectly adequate, clean, and well maintained!.. Although one has a climb up from the town and beaches, it is only a relatively short one, and no trouble to most people. Although we are pensioners and the weather was very hot,we found the slight exercise did us good!.. We would recommend it to anyone wanting reasonably priced accommodation for a week or two!!....

Excellent cottage, everything you need. Very clean and comfortable with a good parking spot right outside. Excellent location.

A small apartment, but perfect for our needs. Superb location for all but the Porthminster beach side of town and the outside parking area was simply the best ever - absolutely the most accessible and useful parking we've ever experienced in St Ives. Be prepared for some steep walks back to the apartment from town, but they're not too bad. I definitely recommend this place and would love to stay there again.

Lovely apartment, perfectly located for us and convenient parking space. Was very kind and thoughtful of the owner to leave milk, tea and coffee out for us when we arrived

Welcome parcel on arrival of tea, coffee, washing up liquid etc was much appreciated. Beds nice and comfy and lovely clean linen. Distance to town centre good although tricky with the pushchair as so high up.