Menu
01736 754242 Open Monday at 9am COVID-19 Info

The Cooperage Downalong, St Ives

£478 - £1400 per week
Book
 

Strolling into the heart of St Ives with its cobbled streets brimming with shops or padding back with sandy toes from a day on Porthmeor beach couldn't be easier when staying at The Cooperage. Centrally located on Back Road in the heart of the Downalong, the property is ideal for couples or families wishing to holiday in St Ives at any time of the year.

To make life a whole lot easier, secure parking is included in your rental.

Entrance

via one step down from Back Road East. Two steps down to:

Family bathroom

bath with shower over, basin, WC - restricted headroom.

Kitchen

oven and hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, open plan to sitting area (please note there is no washing machine at the property).

Sitting/dining room

two double sofas, TV/DVD, Bose iPod docking station, dining table with six chairs, doors to bedroom 1.

Bedroom 1

double bed, TV (room used for lower price of parties of 4 or less), doors to sitting room.

Shower room

separate shower room. Spiral stairs from ground floor to first floor:

Bedroom 2

double bed, single bed for child's use only, TV (room used for lower price of parties of four or less).

Bedroom 3

double bed (4') to sleep one, hooks to hang clothes, TV.

Cloakroom

WC, basin.

Additional information

gas central heating, secure parking at St Ives car park (www.stivescarpark.com) included, free drop-off and collection to/from property, plus shuttle bus for a small fee available during the week, please note the property is located on Back Road which is the main route out of St Ives, so may be noisy, WiFi.

 
 

We were lucky to unload near the property and found it very clean and a nice touch of tea , coffee and a bottle of wine waiting for us , The Cooperage is a great period property in a fab location with all the mod cons, literally minutes from the surfing beach and the Town is a short pretty stroll away down the Digey , Noise from the main road and neighbouring property can be an issue unless your a heavy sleeper but the beds are comfy , Parking with the property is a bonus and the spaces are a decent size which was a 25 min walk away, St Ives is a beautiful seaside town and the staff at Aspects have always been great to deal with when we holiday to our special place , Allan Family

August 2020

A fantastic cottage in a great location just minutes from harbour and beaches. The cottage is steeped in Cornish charm and is of a very high standard inside. Yes - it is on a busy road but only really noticeable at night when you are too tired from the sea air and a day out and you fall asleep in the sumptuous beds quickly anyway ! Would thoroughly recommend

August 2020

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

2020

1 Jan - 8 Feb478
15 February500
22 Feb - 21 Mar478
28 March532
4 Apr - 11 Apr732
18 Apr - 25 Apr532
2 May665
9 May - 16 May731
23 May1052
30 May871
6 June906
13 Jun - 20 Jun983
27 June1096
4 July1152
11 July1174
18 July1302
25 Jul - 22 Aug1400
29 August955
5 September877
12 September793
19 September580
26 Sep - 10 Oct575
17 October586
24 October659
31 Oct - 12 Dec478
19 December852
26 Dec - 31 Dec1083

2021

1 Jan - 6 Feb487
13 February510
20 Feb - 20 Mar487
27 March542
3 Apr - 10 Apr747
17 April487
24 April542
1 May678
8 May - 22 May745
29 May1074
5 June889
12 June924
19 June1002
26 June1118
3 July1175
10 July1197
17 July1328
24 Jul - 21 Aug1428
28 August974
4 September895
11 September809
18 September592
25 Sep - 9 Oct586
16 October598
23 October672
30 Oct - 11 Dec487
18 December869
25 Dec - 31 Dec1104
 

Downalong

Situated between Porthmeor Beach and the harbour, where fishermen still land a daily catch, holiday cottages in this area are ideally situated for those guests who want to stay right in the heart of the town within seconds of all St Ives has to offer. The cottages, most of which still retain much of their original character and features, have been updated to accommodate modern day living and offer a home from home whilst giving a true feeling of the real St Ives. Read about Holidays in St Ives.

View all of our Downalong Cottages >

 

Local events

St Ives Feast Day

Held on the anniversary of the consecration of the Parish Church of St Eia in 1434 AD, Feast Day offers visitors to witness - and even join in with - some centuries-old traditions. A morning precesison led by the Mayor to bless the Well of St Eia. Following this, the Mayor will 'Hurls the Silver Ball' into a crowd of children who assemble on the beach below. The one who returns the ball to the Guildhall steps by midday receives a silver coin. In the afternoon the Mayor then throw pennies from the balcony of the Guildhall for children to collect.

TBC

Find out more >

St Ives Food & Drink Festival

Growing in size and popularity, the St Ives Food Festival features top chefs, quality Cornish goods, sandcastle competitions for children and food demonstrations.

TBC

Find out more >

St Ives Bay Helicopter Tours

For two weeks only, Adventure 001, supporters of Cornwall Air Ambulance, will be bringing their helicopter experiences to St Ives! Choose from a 6 minute flight from £35 to a 30 minute flight from £96 and take in the incredible views across St Ives bay and beyond!

Dates TBC August 2021

Find out more > 

St Ives Lifeboat Day

A fun packed day hosted by the RNLI lifeboat Station. See the lifeboats on display and in action on the water with demonstrations featuring one of the HM Coastguard helicpoters!

TBC

Find out more>

St Ives September Festival

Now becoming a sellout event, this festival keeps attracting more and more visitors who come to enjoy a wide range of acts, including music, theatre, poetry and visual arts.

TBC

Find out more >

New Year's Eve in St Ives

Spend New Year's Eve in St Ives for an unforgettable evening at the largest fancy dress party in the county. Ring in the New Year with an unbeatable fireworks display by the sea. 

31st December 2021

Find out more about New Year's Eve in St Ives here>

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Decent sized cottage in a great location within the town. Neighbouring property next to downstairs bedroom was very noisy in the evenings which was annoying but not a fault of the property. Two minute walk to the harbour and the added car parking space was a bonus. Courtyard area at he front was lovely. Beds are really comfortable and the bedding, pillows, towels were of excellent quality and in good condition. Lounge area was spacious plenty of room for six adults. Kitchen area was ok, no space for food storage, huge toaster and kettle could have been smaller would have helped! Spiral staircase - got used to it but wouldn’t recommend to people with toddlers or the elderly. Shower room ok, tiny. Upstairs cloakroom also small and not even a towel rail ( hook on door would do) or toilet roll holder. Downstairs bedroom had strange smell for the entire week, had to keep door open to try to disperse it but then it drifted into lounge area. Loved the welcome pack, nice touch. Cleaning needs to be improved - never stayed with Aspect holidays before and the cleanliness of this property could put me off booking again. We had a fabulous week overall but would not return to this property despite its excellent location.

Sep 2020

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback following your recent stay at The Cooperage. We are really sorry to read that this property had not met your expectations and please rest assured that your comments will be followed up. We are so sorry that we had not been aware of any of these concerns at the time so that we could rectify any areas of cleaning that you had felt were not to the high standards that you would expect from one of the properties that we market. This is certainly not the norm and the housekeepers for this property have always received very good feedback in the past, so we know that they would have done everything possible to ensure that your concerns were rectified. We are glad to hear that you still had a great week and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cornwall again in the future. Tanya, Customer Services

We were lucky to unload near the property and found it very clean and a nice touch of tea , coffee and a bottle of wine waiting for us , The Cooperage is a great period property in a fab location with all the mod cons, literally minutes from the surfing beach and the Town is a short pretty stroll away down the Digey , Noise from the main road and neighbouring property can be an issue unless your a heavy sleeper but the beds are comfy , Parking with the property is a bonus and the spaces are a decent size which was a 25 min walk away, St Ives is a beautiful seaside town and the staff at Aspects have always been great to deal with when we holiday to our special place , Allan Family

Sep 2020

The cottage is in a perfect location for the surf beach and town, just a few minutes to both. St Ives is quite busy in the summer months so its quite noisy with people walking by but this is what you pay for the location. We found the beds rather uncomfortable and the cottage hard to keep clean and dry as the tiled floor and downstairs bathrooms got rather wet and slippery and there was limited space to put away food and store beach or surfing items.

Aug 2020

Reply from Aspects Holidays

It really is in a fantastic location isn't it? Just steps from the beaches, shops, cafes and restaurants! Thank you for your feedback on the beds; they can be quite a subjective item, so we will continue to log feedback on them and pass this on to the property owners. We will also check them on the next inspection, so thank you for letting us know your thoughts. As with many of the traditional fisherman's cottages of St Ives; they can be smaller and quirkier than more modern houses, so storage space can be limited but the owners have tried to ensure that all of the essentials are provided here and made as much of the space as possible. If extra storage space is something that is important to you, if you are looking to return to St Ives, please do not hesitate to get in touch with our very knowledgeable team, who will be able to help with recommendations. Tanya, Customer Services

A fantastic cottage in a great location just minutes from harbour and beaches. The cottage is steeped in Cornish charm and is of a very high standard inside. Yes - it is on a busy road but only really noticeable at night when you are too tired from the sea air and a day out and you fall asleep in the sumptuous beds quickly anyway ! Would thoroughly recommend

Aug 2020

Great location. Tiny kitchen space. On main road and very noisy. Bathroom needs updating. Good shower. Comfy beds and sofas.

Aug 2020

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your helpful comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the great location and found it to be very comfortable. We will pass on your suggestions about the bathroom, to the property owner, for their consideration, and monitor further feedback. When you are staying in a property, spending a lot of time there, you get to view them in a very different way than we do when we visit properties, so guests feedback on things like this is really helpful. Thanks again and we hope to see you back here again soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Lovely property in a fantastic location. A little noisy with passing traffic.

Aug 2020

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Being in such an enviable location in the heart of St Ives, so close to all of the beaches, restaurant and shops, The Cooperage is always in high demand, but being in the heart of the town and on the main route out from the Harbour, you will have passing traffic and pedestrians. It is not a 'fast' road with heavy traffic, but at times there can be a constant stream of slow-moving vehicles and passers-by. It may not be to everyone's preference, but we hope that you agreed that being just a stroll from the beaches, harbour, shops and restaurants, without those dreaded Cornish hills, far outweighs the noise of the passing traffic. Tanya, Customer Services

Location good , but noisy. Not enough seating in living room 2 2 seat settee when advertised for 6. Car park way too far. Cottage wasn’t cleaned properly on arrival.

Sep 2019

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry if this property had not been what you expected. We would always want customers to be happy with their choice of property and try to be as open and honest as possible with all of the descriptions and photos, to help ensure this as much as possible, so we are really disappointed that this had not been what you had expected. As advertised, this property is on the main route out of St Ives, so there may be some noise, and the parking is with St Ives Secure Parking who are at the top of town, so unfortunately your car will be a distance from the property. Currently, the owners have included within the rental, free drop-off and collection to/from the property at the beginning and end of your holiday to help with this, and there is a shuttle bus that goes to and from the parking for a small fee for those that wish to use their car during the week. Although the property can sleep up to 6 people, it does only have the two double sofas pictured in the living area, so it may not suit everyone, and is definitely something to consider. We are sorry if there had also been any areas missed by the housekeeper, but glad that they quickly returned to rectify that for you. I am aware that one of the team has contacted you since, so we hope that you can see how seriously we take any feedback received, and hope that we will have the opportunity to find somewhere that will better meet all of your requirements in the future. Tanya, Customer Services

Lovely location, excellent for the surfing beach and town. Too much road noise for our comfort. Be aware that the neighbouring properties are also above as well as beside you.

Jul 2019

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry to hear that you found the road noise a little too much for you. We try to make this as clear as possible within the description but appreciate that some may notice the traffic more than others, and certain times of the year will be busier than others. The neighbouring property extends over part of The Cooperage, but generally isn't something that has caused any disturbance for guests. Next door is also a holiday let, that will have different families in each week, so hopefully it was a bit of a one-off. We hope that you still liked it there though, and had a great time exploring St Ives and enjoying the beautiful beaches. Tanya, Customer Services

Had a week stay in the Cooperage during April 2019. We were two families consisting of 4 adults, 1 3-year-old and 2 babies under 1. We found it to be in an ideal location to town and the beaches of St Ives. It was easy for us to pop back at lunch time to feed the babies then go back out again in the afternoon. Downstairs was ideal as there was plenty of space for them to crawl around. The tiled floors were a little concerning at first but didn’t have any accidents!! We had plenty of space for all of us and we didn’t feel we were on top of each other at anytime. The only thing that perhaps could have made it better was the lack of storage space in the kitchen. There wasn’t much room in the cupboards to put food so it had to be on the work surfaces which then made it very cluttered and difficult to prepare food but that was only a minor thing and if we didn’t have children with us it wouldn’t have mattered at all as we wouldn’t have been preparing food as much- we would have just eaten out! I would recommend the Cooperage and would stay there again without a doubt. Perfect location and perfect space for us.

May 2019

Perfect location, good all round property

Nov 2018

Great location to harbour and beaches and of course the infamous Sloop.

Sep 2018

The Cooperage is a great property for families to explore St Ives, fantastic location and very lovely accommodation we will be back.

Oct 2017

We loved our holiday and will return to st ives again

Aug 2017

The Cooperage was a great base for us, plenty of room, warm, clean and nicely decorated, comfy beds too. The spiral stairs were fine for the younger, fitter people in our family. The shower over the bath wouldn't suit anyone over 5ft 3in, due to low ceiling, but there is a walk in shower room too as an alternative.

It's a perfect location being within a few minutes walk of 3 beaches and 2 fabulous beach cafes /restaurants, and near all the little galleries and potteries. We loved walking round the corner to see the beautiful sunset over the sea at night then being able to walk 3 minutes in the other direction in a morning to buy fresh bread and pastries for breakfast from a choice of the local bakeries. The Norway local convienience store was also so handy and really well stocked too with everything we needed. St Ives is a lovely relaxing holiday destination and the Cooperage was a great base for the week we were there.

May 2017

A lovely cottage with a luxurious feel, in the heart of St Ives with the added benefit of parking! A Perfect place to stay.

Apr 2017

The televisions in each room were fantastic - just couldn't get the kids to come to the beach sometimes! Our children loved the spiral staircase. The living room was just as per the picture on website - no wide angle lens required! The living space was much larger than other Downalong cottages we've rented - and paid similar price for. Two large sofas were great - often someone is perching on a dining chair in these small cottages as not enough comfy seating. Two toilets and two showers is great feature - again much better than other cottages. One of the bedrooms was downstairs - we weren't aware of this from the description but it was fine - just not really suitable for a child, so we had to give up the kingsize bed upstairs to our son. He was happy but we weren't so much. Maybe you could make this clearer on the description. The downstairs living area and bathrooms were tiled floors which are great for cleaning but they were very cold to walk on - you couldn't have barefeet. Maybe in the summer this is great and cooling but in April it made the downstairs quite chilly, despite the heating being on. For this reason I would not rent this cottage in the colder months. Also there was a fireplace opening that was tiled floor and no fire - it would have been perfect for even an electric fire as a focal point for the room and some extra warmth in the evenings. Just warm up the main living room/floor a bit and this cottage is perfect!

Apr 2017

Fabulous!

Mar 2017

nice cottage in a great location ideal for beaches and town

Aug 2016

Had an absolutely fantastic stay at The Cooperage. Location, cleanliness, size, and comfort were spectacular. Couldn't recommend this place enough.

May 2016

This is a very well positioned cottage for exploring St Ives and the rest of Cornwall. It is very attractive and comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing holiday.

Apr 2016

We have stayed in several cottages over the past few years, at different times of the year and have found the cooperage to be a complete home from home we really enjoyed our stay.we will definitely stay here again many thanks

Feb 2016

Please publish everything( I don't think you will).

Oct 2015

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review, we aim to be completely honest and transparent with our property descriptions and the reviews that we publish, so all reviews received, including criticisms, are shown on our site, with very few exceptions. Your concerns related to the bed sizes that were felt to be too small and the location of The Cooperage. There are no beds larger than a double at The Cooperage, as detailed within the online and brochure decsriptions; if you are used to a larger size bed at home, these may understandably seem quite small, so we are very sorry if this was not what you had expected. At Aspects we are very passionate about our beautiful county and always aim to find the best property to suit our guest’s needs so we are genuinely dissapointed to hear that your impression of St Ives was not favorable. As discussed since receiving this review, our sales team are always very happy to help advise on best/most suitable locations, for anyone that is unsure of what they may expect; please do not hesitate to get in touch for advise. Tanya, Customer Services.

Good quality decor , in an excellent location handy for everything.

May 2015

We would fully recommend The Cooperage as an ideal family cottage that is accessible for all the attractions of St Ives - we shall most certainly be returning!

Apr 2015