Menu
Open tomorrow at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

The Cobbles
Downalong, St Ives

£1237 - £3256 per week
Book

The Cobbles is a boutique cottage in the heart of Downalong, with two parking spaces directly outside and just a short stroll to Porthmeor beach and the harbour. Formerly a pilchard press, the property has been lovingly converted into a spacious home for a family of six looking for a centrally located base.

For parties of 4 or less, a under occupancy discount is offered during certain periods of the year, please enquire with our bookings team for more info.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

King

Bedroom 2

Double

Bedroom 3

King

Entrance

four steps from parking area to ground floor entrance hall and sitting area:

Sitting room

two armchairs, two seater sofa, iPod dock and digital radio.

Sitting/dining/kitchen area

spiral staircase leads from entrance down one level to kitchen/dining and additional sitting room, electric hob and oven, washing machine, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, dining table with four chairs and three seater bench, two sofas, armchair, iPod dock, Smart TV.

Bedroom 1

accessed from ground floor; king size bed, TV, en suite with shower, WC, basin.

Bedroom 2

double bed, en suite with shower, WC, basin. Room used as part of low occupancy rate.

Bedroom 3

king size bed, TV, en suite with shower, WC, basin. Room used as part of low occupancy rate.

Additional information

complimentary toiletries, gas central heating, 2 parking spaces, spiral staircase may not be suitable for those with limited mobility, small outside passageway from the front basement door into a planted area with storage for beach items with steps leading back up to the car parking frontage, WiFi, one dog welcome.

 
 

The Cobbles is a great place to stay right at the heart of St.ives this is a great home and I would definitely recommend, every is right on your door step ??

June 2024

The Cobbles is a lovely and historic cottage in the centre of town close to the harbour and Porthmeor Beach.

April 2024

Special Offers

£634 off - 13 Jul 24 to 20 Jul 24

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Downalong

One of the most popular areas of St Ives, Downalong is an idyllic spot for a seaside retreat. Overlooking the picturesque Harbour beach and just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Porthmeor and Porthgwidden, and the iconic Tate St Ives. Meander along cobbled lanes, dotted with traditional fisherman's cottages, and admire this quintessential corner of Cornwall.

Steeped in history, Downalong is a timeless haven that captures the fishing heritage and thriving art community of this enchanting area of St Ives. With all that St Ives has to offer on your doorstep, spend endless days exploring the sandy shores, stunning coastal paths and bustling harbourside.

Did you know...

Downalong is a historic Cornish term for an area of harbourside fisherman's cottages 'down along the harbour'?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

The Cobbles is a great place to stay right at the heart of St.ives this is a great home and I would definitely recommend, every is right on your door step ??

The Cobbles is a lovely and historic cottage in the centre of town close to the harbour and Porthmeor Beach.

Large accommodation in a great location, two parking spaces are rare in the Downalong area.

A large range of utensils and cooking equipment available, which made catering for a large group much easier.

The spiral staircase would not be suitable for young children.

Overall a warm and welcoming house with some age related issues but don’t we all!

A good location

On the plus side The Cobbles is in a fantastic location and parking for two (smallish) cars is a huge bonus in a place like St Ives. The beds are lovely and comfortable and it is very well equipped. On the other hand, the layout is quirky, the basement gloomy, and although we were expecting the spiral staircase to be tricky… it certainly is, and not just for some. The warning given by Aspects should be heeded. We were discomfited to find several rooms marked as private and locked. We like to feel when renting a cottage that it is all ours for a week and not just a part of it. There is a patio door in the basement leading to an art gallery courtyard to which we did not have access (except by visiting the gallery ourselves!) Gallery visitors can, and did on one occasion, look in at us - a trifle unsettling!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so pleased that you found the two parking spaces to be useful. As you said, parking is at a premium in St Ives, so having two spaces on your doorstep is definitely a sought-after feature! As with a lot of traditional Cornish cottages, layouts can be on the quirky side, which we believe adds to the charm of the property, but we hope the spiral staircase was what you were expecting from the property description and photos provided. While some rooms are locked for the owner's private use, all rooms advertised on the website are available for guest use during your stay. The courtyard is part of the art gallery and is not an advertised feature of the property itself, so access is not granted from The Cobbles. However, it is a great opportunity to go see some of the current exhibitions at Penwith Gallery! Katy, Customer Services.

We have rented the Cobbles for the past 3 summers with our family and we have already booked for next year. It is a home from home in one of the most magical places in Cornwall. The Cobbles location means everything is within 3-5 mins walk including 3 amazing beaches. It has everything you need and feels like a family home. It also has car park space (tight) for 2 cars right in the center of St Ives, which is a huge advantage if you have to drive. Whilst not the cheapest, in our opinion we think it gives us the best value for money for a family week away to relax and enjoy. You don't have to worry about anything. Matt & Babs and Family

Lovely cottage in a great location! Fits 4 people comfortably but bit tight for 5 or more. A must try is the Mermaid seafood restaurant just up the road, had a fab meal there and great atmosphere And as always pre book Porthminster Kitchen - they do the best Sunday Roasts!!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay at The Cobbles and enjoyed one of Porthminster Kitchen's amazing Sunday roasts! With regards to the size of the property; there are enough beds to comfortably accommodate 6, with 2 king bedrooms, as well as a double. We haven't received previous feedback about the property being cramped; but understand that guests all have different requirements for space - what some may call spacious, other may think is snug! Because of this, we try to ensure that our photos and description accurately reflect the space available, so thank you for sending your comments. Katy, Customer Services.

This is a great property, with parking and all bedrooms are en suite. There is plenty of room for six people , and it within easy reach of the harbour and shops. It is located opposite the Norway store.

It is unsuitable if you have any mobility problems , due to the steep spiral staircase.

Excellent location with the added advantage of off street parking querky layout but you soon get used to it.

Great spot, lovely comfortable house with great facilities.

The Cobbles was a wonderful cottage for a family holiday in St Ives. It was convenient for all amenities and the furnishings and decor were excellent. We all had an amazing week

The Cobbles is in a brilliant location and a 2 minute walk from Porthmeor beach with the added bonus of 2 parking spaces. The property is very well equipped and has plenty of space. It has a cottage style feel to it with uneven floors and low ceilings so if you are tall which two of our party were the ceiling heights might be an issue. The spiral staircase needs to be used with some caution. For us the lounge, kitchen, dining area was too dark as natural light is limited. The beds were very comfy.

Wonderful cottage, beautifully decorated and furnished. Very well equipped, wanted for nothing. Extremely comfy beds, best nights sleep in ages! Excellent location for exploring all of St Ives. Would definitely book again.

If you want to visit St Ives and not stress about parking, getting to the beach easily, staying in the heart of the old town so you can walk to everything, then the Cobbles is the Spot. It also allows one pet and is a very comfortable house to stay in. We have re-booked the Cobbles for next year already.

Great location and accommodation short walk to beaches, shops, cafes etc. would highly recommend for a pleasant stress free holiday.

Fantastic location. Convenient parking which is so rare in St.Ives. The spiral stairs are very narrow- you need to be fit and nimble. An extra heating source would be welcome downstairs for cooler weather. Spotlessly clean; comfortable beds and great linens. Without a tumble dryer you will need to bring extra towels to get through a week as you just can’t dry anything. Not great if you have young children.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback. Your suggestion regarding the heating will be passed on to the owner for their consideration. We are sorry for the disappointment of the owner removing the tumble drier before your stay. Whilst we had amended the website description and contacted you to highlight the change, we appreciate that this may have been something that will have been considered when deciding which property to book, but we do hope that the spiral stairs were what you had been expecting from the website description and photos. They will not suit everyone but for those who don't mind and can cope with them, they are a nice feature to the property and help to make the most out of the available space in there. We hope that you still enjoyed it here. Tanya, Customer Services

Nice cottage. Pity the occupancy numbers were reduced from the time we booked to the time we went on holiday meaning the room for my granddaughter was no longer available and we were not informed until I rang with another query. The only way for the 7 people who were originally booked for this holiday were able to still go was for my granddaughter to sleep on an air bed and in a sleeping bag we had to purchase. Very disappointing and not ideal for a 7 year old.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry that there had been some confusion over this and can see exactly why this has happened. Unfortunately, at the time of your original booking in 2021, which had been cancelled due to Covid, the property slept 7. When you placed a new booking for 2022, we were clearly advertising the property as sleep 6, with the 1 bedroom less, but understandably, when you had looked at the details the previous year, you wouldn't necessarily look at the details online again, and with you only having 6 people in the party, it didn't flag up to us either. We have now put in place an email shot that will go to any guests who have previously stayed at a property, if there are now any significant changes to a property, in the hope that this will avoid a situation like this in the future. We hope that you still had a lovely time here in St Ives, despite this. Tanya, Customer Services

Lovely comfy cottage. Would stop here again .

We always enjoy our holidays in St Ives

Wonderful family holiday at spectacular St Ives ,enjoyed over the last fifty years.

This property is simply wonderful! So near to beaches, shops and local amenities and the owners have put care and thought into the finishing touches to ensure that it is a special place to stay!

Very nice cottage, perfect location to porthmeor, Porthgwidden and the harbour.

The cobbles was a beautiful cottage now stayed twice over new year, it is in a excellent location with added bonus of two car spaces in front of property, the cottage has everything you need is clean furnished beautifully we will be coming back we have already stayed twice I think that says it all.

St Ives is a beautiful town and the cobbles is situated in an ideal location, convenient for beaches, shops, restaurants and pubs and the parking directly in front of the property takes the stress out of finding a place to park your vehicle if you go out for the day.

A lovely stay at The Cobbles. Beautifully decorated, comfortable & well equipped cottage. Great central location with easy access to beaches, shops, restaurants & pubs. Lots of space for seven of us, ranging in age from seven years to grandparents. Nice to have the little snug which my granddaughter and I used as a quiet & cosy reading area. Parking for two cars is a blessing during school holidays when the car parks are all busy. Would recommend the cottage, although be aware that the spiral staircase needs very careful negotiation!

We a family of 7 loved the Cobbles beautiful spacious property, it was so accessible to everything we needed, with added bonus of 2 spaces parking right outside the property. We will definitely be back to stay.

We had a excellent stay at the Cobbles over new year, the cottage is beautiful and quirky with added car parking for 2 cars which is a added bonus, we would defiantly come back.

We had a great week in the Cobbles, which is in a fantastic location for getting to all of St Ives, whether you want galleries (Penwith is next door!), the town or beach. A lovely, comfortable and quirky cottage that we didn’t want to leave!

We had a lovely holiday but struggled with the spiral staircase. We think more information should be given to potential guests about the tricky spiral staircase. This is a particularly difficult spiral staircase & dangerous for both the children & elderly.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your comments. We always try to ensure that our descriptions are as honest and transparent as possible, but we will always look at how we can improve them; so whilst we already pictured the spiral staircase and mentioned it in the description, we can understand that sometimes details like this can be missed, or the difficulty of them, not always obvious. We have now added additional wording to our website description to state please note this property has a spiral staircase that leads down to the basement kitchen which you may feel is not suitable for toddlers or elderly relatives in your party. For anyone that may be concerned about their suitability, please do not hesitate to contact one of our team to check on this first. We hope that everything else was just as you expected, and that you had a fantastic time. Tanya, Customer Services

A real home from home. It is obviously a much loved cottage.