Menu
Open tomorrow at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

The Beach House, St Ives
Downalong, St Ives

£1393 - £3398 per week
Book

The Beach House is a fantastic, modernised fisherman's cottage in the heart of Downalong, just a minute's walk from the harbour beach. Sit at one of the windows and happily while away the hours with a glass of wine, watching the hustle and bustle of the harbour front.

A blend of contemporary furnishings with delightful period character makes The Beach House a bright and comfortable home away from home. It boasts a large living area, kitchen and dining room. Five beautiful bedrooms, family bathroom and three en-suite wet rooms. The cottage is perfectly located for the shops, restaurants and award-winning beaches that St Ives has to offer.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Double

Bedroom 2

Twin

Bedroom 3

Double

Bedroom 4

Twin

Bedroom 5

Super king
Single sofa bed

Entrance

small fore garden with one step leading into;

Sitting room

corner sofa, sofa, TV/DVD with Sky, feature fire place, window seats, staircase to basement kitchen. Archway to second sitting room harbour views, corner sofa, love seat, TV, staircase to first floor.

Bedroom 1

ground floor bedroom off the sitting room with double bed, window seat, harbour views, en suite with shower, WC.

Family bathroom

first floor bathroom with freestanding double ended bath with basin, WC, large walk-in shower.

Bedroom 2

twin beds.

Bedroom 3

double bed, window seat, harbour views, armchair, en suite with shower, WC, basin.

Bedroom 4

twin beds, harbour views.

Basement kitchen

Britannia range cooker with gas hob, electric oven, fridge/freezer, wine fridge, dishwasher, TV/DVD combo. Access to rear yard and access to Back Road East.

Bedroom 5

double bed, harbour views, daybed (suitable for a child), en suite with shower, WC, basin.

Utility room

WC, sink, washing machine, tumble dryer.

Additional information

gas central heating, some restricted head height in the kitchen (approx. 6ft 2ins) WiFi.

 
 

Lovely spacious property with great views. Wouldn't hesitate to book again. Well equipped kitchen and close to all the amenities of St Ives.

March 2024

Another great family holiday at Beach House

March 2024

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Downalong

One of the most popular areas of St Ives, Downalong is an idyllic spot for a seaside retreat. Overlooking the picturesque Harbour beach and just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Porthmeor and Porthgwidden, and the iconic Tate St Ives. Meander along cobbled lanes, dotted with traditional fisherman's cottages, and admire this quintessential corner of Cornwall.

Steeped in history, Downalong is a timeless haven that captures the fishing heritage and thriving art community of this enchanting area of St Ives. With all that St Ives has to offer on your doorstep, spend endless days exploring the sandy shores, stunning coastal paths and bustling harbourside.

Did you know...

Downalong is a historic Cornish term for an area of harbourside fisherman's cottages 'down along the harbour'?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Lovely spacious property with great views. Wouldn't hesitate to book again. Well equipped kitchen and close to all the amenities of St Ives.

Another great family holiday at Beach House

A brilliant house for a large group. We'll be back.

The location of The Beach House is perfect with views of the harbour from many rooms. A lovely bonus. Brilliant house for a large family holiday with children. The kitchen is spacious and very well equipped for family meals.

Fantastic base all amenities close to the house. Full of character and would recommend to family and friends. But be prepared for low beams and bumped heads as most of my family are above 6'. Didn't spoil the holiday,enjoyed by all the gang.

Simply the Best . Roll on 2024

A lovely stay in The Beach House in St Ives , a very well equipped house with lots of space to enjoy some solitude or congregate as families wish. Would love to visit again one day

Lovely accommodation.

Just perfect!

Lovely large house in great location, fabulous view of harbour .

Had a wonderful time at the Beach House and would recommend it to families as there is plenty of space and facilities.

We had a wonderful week in St Ives and The Beach House was the perfect accommodation for us as a family of 7 adults and 3 children. Having so much space was great. The welcome pack was so thoughtful and very much appreciated. The cottage has everything you need and more. Thoroughly recommend this cottage.

Beautiful house, great location and plenty of space for everyone to relax and have fun. Would highly recommend and would definitely return.

Beautiful large house in an excellent position. Fantastic views. Unfortunately when we visited it wasn’t clean. Needs a good clean/tidy and more crockery.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were very sorry to hear that you had been disappointed with the level of cleanliness as we would always expect for everything to be perfect for a guest's arrival to a property. Ordinarily upon receiving feedback such as this, we would always go straight to the property owner's housekeeper with all the feedback, but the housekeeper has since resigned, and we have assisted in sourcing a new housekeeper for the owner. We will still forward all your feedback over to the new housekeeper, so that they can make sure these areas are put right and kept on top of for future guests to the property. It is a shame that we weren't made aware of these things during your stay as we would have absolutely loved to have been able to send the cleaners back to put things right for you; whilst we would never expect for anyone to come away on holiday and have issues with cleanliness, if you do book through us again in the future and have any concerns then please do get in touch with us straight away and we will always do our very best to rectify any issues. Ben, Customer Services

Beautiful views beautiful house just perfect! The house is well equipped with everything you’ll need for your holiday! Was very apprehensive due to taking our 9 week old baby but the house was perfect clean and 2 minutes from the harbour! Love it!!!

Lovely stay at The Beach house accommodating our family of 10. Our second stay in this cottage.. Lovely accommodation; perfectly situated & great harbour views. Very nice welcome pack on arrival a nice touch.

Great Holiday at the Beach house. Have booked again for 2022,this being our 5th Holiday at this house.

The Beach House has a great location. House was perfect for a large family and small baby.

We had a great time at this property.

Excellent property and sky sports was an added bonus ! Great location for all beaches and restaurants - would definitely recommend.

Fantastic location, very clean, well equipped and gorgeous sea views. Loved the welcome food hamper including the fresh local bread and Cornish cream tea, much appreciated after a long journey.

Great stay perfect for large groups will definitely book again for next year

A lovely spacious house; the best location with great views.

We enjoyed our stay at the Beach House very much. It was sadly shorter than it should have been due to Covid lockdown but we had glorious weather & St Ives always delivers its special magic.

We loved the central location, the harbour views from most rooms, the huge, well-equipped kitchen/dining room and the comfy sitting rooms. As our visit took place during the Covid pandemic, having such a large, spacious house to stay in was reassuring. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

What an amazing time my family and I had at the Beach House w/c 11th Sept 2020. The sun shone almost every day. Three generations enjoyed the brilliant facilities of the house. Everyone enjoyed having enough space to relax and enjoy each other's company. Couldn't ask for a better location, literally a minute walk to the beach. Amazing views of the sea from nearly every room. Would definitely return.

Overall holiday was good as expected.

Absolutely beautiful property, in a fab location. Amazing views over the harbour and beyond. Cosy and comfortable living for families, and deceptively big with a lot of room for a big family. Close to everything St Ives has to offer. We loved this house, it really was a home from home, and we instantly felt relaxed as soon as we arrived and settled.

Spacious comfortable property in superb location for both town and beaches. Nicely furnished and well equipped. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. But Beware low beams if you are over 6 feet tall, there are several of them waiting to get you.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in this spacious property located in a superb location. The owners have put a lot of thought into the property and have ensured that it has everything guests need for their stay, so we are glad you found it well equipped. Many of the traditional fisherman's cottages have been modernised but still include a lot of the quirky features and character, such as lower ceilings, beams, steeper and narrower stairs, but their character is also one of the many reasons that people love to stay here so much, so we hope that you liked it once you got used to it and hope that we will see you back here again soon. Lucy, Customer Services

Fantastic position in St Ives Ideal for large group or big family Would definitely stay in St Ives again!

Ideal for painters....near best views, seating, toilets, cafes, gallery's. Just along the road from St Ives School of Painting which runs excellent workshops which can be booked on the day. Life drawing 2 hour sessions with great models. All materials supplied and visitors made very welcome. Nice large kitchen with huge table if wet outside..... Lovely light....amazing sea colours.....

Aspects is a great accommodation booking company,i wouldn't hesitate to book with them, staff are lovely and helpful, and what made our stay even better was the very welcome, welcome pack it was great after travelling 360 miles to be able to have a cup of tea and a piece of toast, also to have a towel and bed linen change half way through our 2 week stay was very welcome, thank you so much

Have just returned for the third time holidaying at The Beach House. Would have no hesitation on recommending this for a large family. Location only minutes from both Harbour and Port Gwythyn Beaches.

We arrived in St Ives before 1pm, and called into the office to be greeted by the friendly Aspects Team. The house wasnt ready, so as it was lunch time, we found a pub (The Sloop) to have lunch in. Within 15 mins, I received a call to say the house was now ready, and we were able to collect the keys which meant we could get in the house before the normal 3pm. On collection of the keys, we were also presented with a bottle of Prosecco and a card for my wifes 'special' birthday. A nice touch, thank you.

The Beach House is all about Location Location Location, it is literally 150 yards (my best guess) back from the harbour. The house has 5 excellent bedrooms, 2 lounges (1 with harbour views) and a fantastic Kitchen / dining area. When we got to the kitchen we found a complimentary hamper, with tea, coffee, biscuits, butter, bread, clotted cream and milk in. We didnt expect this, but it was very welcome, and a nice touch. There is Sky Tv in the house, which whilst we didnt use much, I'm sure had the full package, so if you are unfortunate to have some bad weather, there should be something available that everyone can watch. There is also a selection of board games (we didnt have time to use).

Overall, for us, a group of 8 Adults, we had a fantastic time at The Beach House, and could not fault either the accomodation or the service offerred by Aspects Holidays. Would definately stay at The Beach House again.

Christmas/New year 2018/19. We all had a wonderful time at The Beach house, 8 adults and 3 small children and there was plenty of room for us all. Location was spot on, close to everything. All the bedrooms were clean and spacious, some with amazing views of the Wharf. The living rooms and kitchen were perfect. Aspects were very professional and courteous when we had a minor problem with one of the toilets and even sent round a hamper of goodies for the inconvenience. So all in all, we were more than pleased with the house and wouldn't hesitate to book again. A slightly later check out time would make this a perfect 10 out of 10.

Great location and convivial accommodation. Very small ensuites and quite steep stairs for those with mobility difficulties. As a large group of eight it suited our needs and we will probably book this accommodation again.

A brilliant property in all respects for large families or groups. The kitchen table is a fabulous place for everyone to socialise after meals. Location is excellent as are the views from several rooms. Definitely a place to return to!

This is the second time we have stayed at The Beach House & cannot fault this property - we love the location & the space for our ever growing family.

The cottage is in a excellent position for families as it so near to the beaches and our grandchildren had a wonderful time. Convenient for all amenties.

This location is perfect

A lovely house in a beautiful location, very spacious & despite our large family, we did not feel that we were overcrowded. Would definitely love to revisit The Beach House.

Excellent facilities and location ??

Lovely house for mixed parties, we've now had two very happy holidays there. It's within walking distance of the Harbour, Porthmeor, The Island, pubs, restaurants, Tate - everything. Wish it was mine

We would recommed the Beach House St Ives to a family. It was central and close to the harbour beach where the older children could play. Also a variety of restuarants and take-aways which meant very little cooking for the adults.Brilliant!!!

Lovely house with perfect location in the centre of beautiful St Ives. Quite well equipped especially the kitchen, and plenty of bathrooms. Enough for seven people. And the house was quite easy to access by a 80-year old lady with a walker.

Absolutely fantastic cottage sleeping 10 ...3 doubles and 2 twin bedrooms there were only 6 in our group so we all benefitted from fabulous harbour views, leaving the twin without a sea view as a walk in wardrobe as there isn't a wardrobe in the double on the first floor so this was ideal.... The basement kitchen was beautifully equipped with everything you could wish for ...we will definately stay here again

Superb location and amazing views over the beautiful harbour.

Thank you to the owners of The Beach House for allowing 4 generations of family, plus dogs to stay in your home. We had a lovely, relaxed holiday. A perfect location, with beautiful views.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

NOTE: unfortunately this property no longer accepts pets

Really pleased we booked this Cottage!

Lovely rooms. Fabulous views from the windows and ideally located for the beaches and the town. We all particularly liked the kitchen/diner set-up in the basement which allowed the adults to have enjoyable evenings together and be sufficiently far away from the three sleeping young children two floors above us. All the rooms were comfortably furnished and to have so many en-suite showers was a particular bonus .

Even with 10 people sharing the house there still felt like there was plenty of space for everyone.

The location is perfect for those who like to park the car up for the holiday and enjoy the beach, shopping and restaurants. Great for families sharing.

Very spacious and pictures of lounge area maybe don't give true indication of size. With 10 staying, you never felt on top of each other.

Great location, clean, modern with great facilities - especially like the massive fridge and ice machine.

Wonderful for large groups was able to celebrate 60th birthday with family all together children and partners