Opening at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Out of the Blue
Downalong, St Ives

£813 - £2258 per week

Located right in the heart of St Ives, Out of the Blue is beautifully furnished and has recently been lovingly refurbished to a high standard. This original fisherman's cottage now offers contemporary accommodation, set over three floors, and offers a comfortable living space for guests to relax in together, whether you're enjoying a movie night or dining together with a home cooked meal. The top floor bedroom offers beautiful dual aspect sea views with a cosy window seat looking over the rooftops to Harbour beach on one side and to Porthmeor beach on the other. The en suite, in addition to the main bathroom, provides privacy for your party to get ready with ease in the mornings, before heading out for a day of exploring. Within minutes you can be strolling through Fore Street, taking in the smell of freshly made Cornish pasties and sweet homemade fudge, while window shopping the local boutiques, or head to one of five nearby beaches, where you can dip your toes in the warm golden sand or go paddling in the clear blue waters.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1


Bedroom 2


Bedroom 3



from Virgin Street leading straight into:

Sitting/dining room

two sofas, Smart TV, occasional chair, extendable dining table with five chairs, stairs to first floor bedrooms, doors to kitchen and rear entrance.


induction hob, electric oven, washing machine, fridge with freezer compartment.

Bedroom 1

double bed, TV, occasional chair, en suite shower room with basin and WC, open hanging storage.

Bedroom 2

single bed, Smart TV, open hanging storage.


bath with shower over, basin, WC. Stairs from landing leading to second floor:

Bedroom 3

double bed, TV, occasional chair, open hanging storage, window seat with sea views.

Additional information

electric modern heating throughout, the sea views are from the top floor bedroom, the rear entrance is through a gate down seven steps. There is no room to sit outside here but there is room to store beach gear, an outside heated shower and quick access to Porthmeor beach. The parking space is located close by within a 7 minute walk from the property, WiFi, short breaks available.


Great location with free parking 10 minutes walk from the property. The property was a two minute walk from the main street and seafront. Very comfortable with good beds and excellent facilities. The owners left tea bags, coffee, biscuits, sugar and basic cleaning items such as fairy liquid, disinfectant and bathroom items such as shower gel and hand wash.

I have used this property three times in as many years when visiting with my wife and adult children and would not hesitate to return again.

Some recommendations for places to eat nearby, Mermaid Bistro on Fish Street and the Talay Thai Kitchen on the sea front near the lifeboat house. Both excellent.

January 2024

Lovely cottage, thoroughly enjoyed out stay in St Ives.

July 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Downalong

One of the most popular areas of St Ives, Downalong is an idyllic spot for a seaside retreat. Overlooking the picturesque Harbour beach and just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Porthmeor and Porthgwidden, and the iconic Tate St Ives. Meander along cobbled lanes, dotted with traditional fisherman's cottages, and admire this quintessential corner of Cornwall.

Steeped in history, Downalong is a timeless haven that captures the fishing heritage and thriving art community of this enchanting area of St Ives. With all that St Ives has to offer on your doorstep, spend endless days exploring the sandy shores, stunning coastal paths and bustling harbourside.

Did you know...

Downalong is a historic Cornish term for an area of harbourside fisherman's cottages 'down along the harbour'?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Great location with free parking 10 minutes walk from the property. The property was a two minute walk from the main street and seafront. Very comfortable with good beds and excellent facilities. The owners left tea bags, coffee, biscuits, sugar and basic cleaning items such as fairy liquid, disinfectant and bathroom items such as shower gel and hand wash.

I have used this property three times in as many years when visiting with my wife and adult children and would not hesitate to return again.

Some recommendations for places to eat nearby, Mermaid Bistro on Fish Street and the Talay Thai Kitchen on the sea front near the lifeboat house. Both excellent.

Positives - The location - close to Porthmeor and Fore Street / the harbour. The decor is to a high standard throughout. The outdoor shower. The parking space. The views from the top bedroom

Negatives - The space is very small - much too small for 5 people. All of the rooms are small, the kitchen is tiny, and doesn’t have a dishwasher. We are a family with young children and they come with a lot of stuff, especially when going to the beach - storing all of this means the open plan lounge / diner was very cluttered.

On arrival we also noticed a strong unpleasant smell, we soon realised it was the rug in the lounge - I called Aspects and someone took it away to be cleaned (on our second morning). I made it clear that we would want the/ a rug back as there was an issue with the floor where the floorboards have bowed up and this had created a high ridge. We have a 1 year old who is on the floor a lot, and I didn’t want him getting hurt. We didn’t hear anything else about the rug until I called (on day 5) to explain the floor had got worse and the boards had dropped causing a sharp edge that had splinters. The rug had still not been cleaned and was due to be on our departure day, citing no capacity to have it cleaned. If this was the case, purchasing a cheap rug early on would have meant the floor was more usable. The unpleasant smell extends to the cupboard under the stairs, where there is a dog cage and some bedding that smells strongly of dog urine. I understand this is a no pet property, so this must be the owners - heads up to anyone with a pet allergy.

Overall the size and situation with the rug/ floor made our holiday much more difficult than it should have been. We’ve stayed in a number of Aspects properties in St Ives, this is by far the smallest, we definitely wouldn’t return I’m afraid, despite the high quality furniture/ decoration.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were sorry to hear of your disappointment with this property and sorry that we were not previously aware of the smell from the rug. It seems that something had been spilt on it or had been walked over with wet feet, causing the smell. Unfortunately, at this very busy time of the year, trades are very stretched. We try to book them in as quickly as we can, but we are at the mercy of when they have availability, and delivery times on a new rug didn't work out much different.

Regarding the flooring, it seems that the high temperatures and humidity leading up to your holiday, has caused the wood flooring to swell, with 2 rows then pushing against each other and lifting. We couldn't find any sharp edges to this after checking it following your departure, but we are sorry if there were any splinters and sorry for any inconvenience, especially with a little one. The cleaned rug is now back in place and the owners are looking into a longer-term solution to the flooring, as it isn't something that can be addressed in the short changeover period.

Whilst a property may be advertised to sleep a certain number and as not accepting pets, there are things to bear in mind with this. While a property is provided with enough beds to sleep the number advertised, the space and facilities available may not suit all parties at maximum occupancy, so we try to show the size and state equipment available within the website photos and description so that each guest can make an informed choice on whether this will suit their parties needs, so we are sorry to hear this is not what you expected. It is also important to bear in mind that whilst some owners choose to not accept pets on bookings, that does not mean that the property will never have pets in it. Owners can bring their own pets, and there are also times when by law, we must allow assistance dogs in properties that would not usually accept pets. We try to highlight this as best as possible within our literature, and we would always advise any guest with an allergy, to contact us before booking anywhere, so that we can speak to owners, and check through records.

We are pleased to confirm though, that after checking in the cupboard that you mentioned, there was no smell in there, and nothing that smelled of dog urine. We wonder if it was just linked to that rug, but whatever it was, it was certainly fine when we went in there a week after your departure. We do hope that you still enjoyed your time in St Ives despite this. Tanya, Customer Services

Lovely cottage, thoroughly enjoyed out stay in St Ives.

Excellent location for town and beaches, with all the facilities you would expect and the added bonus of a parking space in St Ives. We've already booked for next year again!

Our 5 night stay at our of the blue was outstanding. Beautiful home with comfortable beds and seating area. Access and location was superb which is something we struggled with in the past with having a baby and pram with us. Can highly recommend and have already organised our next stay.

Fabulous holiday best holiday home we have stayed in in St Ives by far Looking to book it again

Ideal location for easy access to the main street in St Ives. Property was well furnished and the equipment was top notch. Bedrooms and the living room were warm and comfortable. This was my second visit to this property in two years.

Lovely home, perfectly decorated and just enough space for us. Great location both for the town and the beach. Beds comfortable and the house had everything we needed for another fantastic holiday in St Ives. Loved the views from the top bedroom, duel aspect.

A great week at Out of the Blue. It is a lovely fisherman’s cottage in a great atmospheric location; convenient both for the centre of St Ives, the harbour and Porthmeor beach. The parking space is fine but a 10 minute walk away uphill. In the context of the whole holiday this was a minor irritation, parking can be inconvenient almost anywhere in St Ives. We would very happily return to Out of the Blue.

Wonderful cottage which is in a brilliant location for both the town and the beach. It has a front and back door, and the back door exit takes you to the beach which is surprisingly quick and closer than you’d think! There was a windbreaker which was useful but bring a mallet. I also took chairs and a beach umbrella. We had some delicious picnics during the day and in the evening. Source Kitchen is literally around the corner and there are so many other gourmet eating and drinking places to visit. I loved taking the train to Carbis bay which is another beach but there’s so many in St Ives. I highly recommend Barnoon arts - located in the art gallery arcade on the seafront- if you want to do some plein air drawing - it costs £10 and easy to book online. I did it via Eventbrite. He provides paper and pens etc The Tate is also very close. I just love St Ives as a holiday destination as it has it all and this cottage was perfect for our needs.

A beautiful house in a good location. Our first impression was one of cleanliness and decor, this is beautifully done and immaculate. The bedrooms are lovely and the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are modern with electric showers. It’s a cosy house with everything you need.

We were absolutely blown away with our little cottage "Out of the Blue". Myself, my husband and our 4 year old son Oliver visited St Ives for 6 days and we enjoyed ourselves so much. It was our first time in Cornwall and we totally fell in love with St Ives. The people are so friendly, the location of the cottage was ideal we were a 2 minute walk to all of the shops and restaurants and the beaches were super close too. We felt really sad to leave, Oliver fell in love with it too and we already can't wait to return next Summer. Thank you for a fantastic trip. Aspects Holidays were a fabulous company to deal with, when booking the accommodation they were so helpful and accommodating. The cottage was fully equipped with everything we could need for our little trip. Cornwall has stolen a piece of our hearts and we have made memories to last a lifetime x

Out of the blue is a lovely cottage in the heart of St Ives. On arrival we were very impressed with not only the cleanliness of the cottage, but also the high spec finish inside. The owners have really thought about everything, with no expense spared. There’s even a hot shower outside the back door for when you arrive back from the beach.

The parking looks a tad daunting at first, but it’s actually really specious & a life saver in St Ives.

We would 100% stay here again. As a young family, we found it convenient being so central with ease of access to everything.

This is a great cottage and we were a family of 5 adults and had a great time. Great to have an outside shower for when we have had a swim. Superb location being in the heart of town and in easy reach of beaches, shops and restaurants. Ideal to for any time of year. So well decorated and fitted out by the owners. A lovely homely atmosphere and we would definitely come back to stay next time we visit; hopefully soon.

Outstanding cottage… A rare unanimous verdict from our family that it was the nicest cottage we’ve stayed in over the last ten years of coming to St Ives.

I could write lots so will try to keep it brief…..

Location is excellent. Right in heart of the Downalong so easy access to the beaches and amenities whilst still being peaceful due to the street being pedestrian only.

Parking space provided is an added bonus as parking in the town is limited and in summer is horrendous. The dread of the Island car park is not a fun start to any holiday so the benefit of the provided space cannot be overstated.

The cottage is simply first class. Immaculately presented and equipped with everything you could need. It truly is a fantastic cottage and we’ll certainly be booking again.

Our only feedback and something that in my opinion should be rethought is the heating control. The electric radiators are very effective however they are currently controlled via an app that only the owner can access. We were left cold on several occasions which really doesn’t accord with the overall standard of the accommodation. For winter stays in particular it’s absurd that the customer has no say on on their comfort.

Service from Aspects was excellent. I called two days before we were due to arrive to ask if the cottage might be available a day early. Storm Eunice was due to hit on on original arrival day and I wanted to avoid a long drive in the storm if possible. The phone was answered immediately by Louise and the extra night was booked after first checking with the owners and that it could be prepped in time. Top notch service, thank you.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Out of The Blue, as are the owners. They are very grateful for your feedback and will now be supplying a tablet with instructions that will allow their guests to change the heating settings to suit. We were sorry to hear that you had felt cold on a couple of occasions, but should you return to this lovely property, you can rest assured that you will be able to fully utilise the heating to make your stay even more comfortable and enjoyable. We hope to see you back again. Tanya, Customer Services

Lovely stay at Out of the Blue. Nice spot in St Ives, right off the Digey. The house was spotlessly clean, well furnished with comfortable beds and furnishings. Well equipped kitchen with an arrival pack supplied by Aspects Holidays. The one issue I had with the property was that the heating system was totally uncontrollable. Came on randomly and automatically. Something the owners should really address.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are glad that you enjoyed the welcome goodies provided by the owners of Out of the Blue and that you enjoyed your time there. We are sorry that you did not have access to control the temperature though. We have spoken to the owners about this and because it requires an app, they are going to provide a tablet with the app on and instructions, so guests will have full use of heating going forward. Thank you for letting us know. Tanya, Customer Services

A very cosy cottage in and excellent position close to everything St Ives has to offer.

Great location, fully equipped cottage and tastefully decorated makes the place feel like home from home.

Staying at Out of the Blue made for a perfect holiday. The location was excellent, the property had everything we wanted and was equipped to a very high standard. The owners have thought of everything to make a really enjoyable stay! Highly recommended.