Menu
Opening at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your summer holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Gwydn Cottage
Downalong, St Ives

£783 - £2174 per week
Book

Gwydn Cottage is a spacious, three bedroom property full of both character and contemporary features. This charming cottage is set over three floors and is centrally located on Island Road in the heart of St Ives, making it an ideal base for the whole family and of course your furry friend too. The five, local, golden, sandy beaches are all within easy walking distance, for those days where the sun is shining, or enjoying an evening moonlit stroll, or for letting Fido run off steam.

For those guests who prefer to come away and enjoy beautiful St Ives in the quieter, cooler, months, you can get cosy and comfy together by the woodburner, while planning your next day of exploring. Within minutes you can be on the harbour front with all it has to offer, from shops, bars and restaurants to art galleries and boat trips to see the seals.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Double

Bedroom 2

Double

Bedroom 3

Bunk beds

Entrance

entrance door from Island road leading into:

Sitting room

entrance door from Island road, two sofas, woodburner, TV/DVD, sofa bed, door leading to communal outside area, stairs to first floor.

Kitchen/dining area

electric hob and double oven, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, TV.

Bedroom 1

double bed, open clothes hanging space.

Bathroom

bath with shower over, basin, WC. Hallway with stairs leading to the second floor with doors to:

Bedroom 2

double bed, hanging space in the adjacent room, en suite shower room with basin, WC.

Bedroom 3

bunk beds, open clothes hanging space.

Outside area

entrance door from Island road leading into small outside area with beach gear storage which has shared access for neighbouring properties, table and two chairs.

Additional information

gas central heating, WiFi, up to two well behaved dogs welcome, short breaks available.

 
 

Gwydyn Cottage is comfortable and well equipped, beautifully decorated and in a perfect location. We particularly appreciated the box of beach kit outside the back door, and the little midday sun trap where we could sit out on a sunny day - even in February! The design of the living room with the steps down to the back door meant that sandy footwear and damp clothes stayed out of the way, and this kept the rest of the cottage pleasantly sand free. It was great to have the Mermaid seafood restaurant and Norway Stores just round the corner too - really convenient for quick meals and groceries. Firewood and kindling sold at Norway Stores, too. All in all a great stay for a family of five (kids aged 13, 11 and 9). Thanks!

February 2024

Lovely cottage with perfect location. Kitchen well equipped.

September 2023

Special Offers

15% off - 30 Mar 24 to 6 Apr 24

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Low Occupancy

Discounts for smaller groups are available outside of peak weeks.

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Downalong

One of the most popular areas of St Ives, Downalong is an idyllic spot for a seaside retreat. Overlooking the picturesque Harbour beach and just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Porthmeor and Porthgwidden, and the iconic Tate St Ives. Meander along cobbled lanes, dotted with traditional fisherman's cottages, and admire this quintessential corner of Cornwall.

Steeped in history, Downalong is a timeless haven that captures the fishing heritage and thriving art community of this enchanting area of St Ives. With all that St Ives has to offer on your doorstep, spend endless days exploring the sandy shores, stunning coastal paths and bustling harbourside.

Did you know...

Downalong is a historic Cornish term for an area of harbourside fisherman's cottages 'down along the harbour'?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Gwydyn Cottage is comfortable and well equipped, beautifully decorated and in a perfect location. We particularly appreciated the box of beach kit outside the back door, and the little midday sun trap where we could sit out on a sunny day - even in February! The design of the living room with the steps down to the back door meant that sandy footwear and damp clothes stayed out of the way, and this kept the rest of the cottage pleasantly sand free. It was great to have the Mermaid seafood restaurant and Norway Stores just round the corner too - really convenient for quick meals and groceries. Firewood and kindling sold at Norway Stores, too. All in all a great stay for a family of five (kids aged 13, 11 and 9). Thanks!

Lovely cottage with perfect location. Kitchen well equipped.

The cottage was really dirty. On arrival appeared to ok then bit by bit I could see the cottage had not been cleaned properly at all. The kitchen worktops were dirty - sugar still remained from previous guests. Carpets hadn’t be vacuumed properly - just vacuumed where you walked. Under the tables beside cupboards were filthy. Marks all over internal doors.The settees downstairs were full of sand. Needless to say I had to clean/vacuum on the first day as couldn’t live like that for the next week. Also the back of the cottage were really untidy. It had not been seen to in some time by the look of it, lots of debris gathering round the little seating area ie tissues. Could not access the bin to put our rubbish in as it had a lock on so had to leave bin bags of rubbish beside the bin - adding to what’s was left by the precious residents which was an eyesore as so close to back door. Not sure if this is routine but upon arrival a laundry bag on the front door step (contains fresh towels) was left there even before we could walk through the door with our bags, so we had to carry that through and unpack ourselves. I think the above issues really need to be addressed, especially the poor level of cleanliness as I didn’t expect to clean the place myself after I arrived - I certainly don’t live like that. Can understand things can be missed but the cottage was consistently dirty.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We here at Aspects, and the owner of Gwydn Cottage were extremely disappointed to hear your comments. This is not what either of us would expect for guests to arrive to. It is such a shame that you did not let us know when you were here from what I can see on our notes, otherwise we would have had the owners housekeeping team reattend straight away to put things right so that you did not have to. We understand that you would not expect to have to call us and have issues that need putting right when you arrive, but we certainly do not expect that guests should have to clean that up themselves before even starting your holiday. It is also very useful for us to be able to see it at the time, as you are experiencing it, so that we can follow up on this in the most effective way. Please rest assured that we at Aspects and the owner have taken this matter very seriously and are taking actions to ensure that this is not something that guests arrive to again. The area to the rear is a little more difficult, as it is a shared public area and, even though it is often cleaned, sand and debris blowing around is not something that can be completely avoided. Regarding the bin, they are locked to prevent them being filled by random passers-by. The code for the lock is displayed in the welcome folder in the property. We are sorry if you had not come across these notes. Thank you for making us aware of your concerns. Tanya, Customer Services

We have been going to St Ives for a week every year for seventeen years and this is probably our favourite cottage! Absolutely loved its location, how spacious it was and it was really well equipped.

Excellent location

I have mixed feelings about Gwydn Cottage, whilst the cottage is in a good position close to all beaches, restaurants and bars and has some nice features, what tarnished our stay was the cleanliness. I contacted aspects on arrival with photos of stains on bedding plus other instances. Hopefully aspects and the owners will ensure this doesn't happen again.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are very sorry if the standard of cleanliness was not to the high level that you would have expected, we can only apologise if any areas had been missed. Thank you for getting in touch at the time of your stay and letting us know. We followed this up with the housekeeper at the time, so we do appreciate you getting in touch and making us aware. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Katy, Customer Services.

We had the perfect stay at Gwydn Cottage, it was deceptively spacious, in the perfect location, fully equipped and beautifully presented

‘The ‘ location in St ives. Lounge very nice with the fire. Kitchen adequate but bedrooms very small. Overall nice for small family. Tougher with 6ft teenagers.

Great accommodation and suitable for children and pets, in fabulous location.

Gwydn cottage was in a great location close to island car park. Lots of seating and handy having a back door. Laid out over 3 floors so there isn’t a toilet on the ground floor. Equipment provided was great - even had a bed rail for my toddler. The stairs to the upper floor are quite steep so I’d be wary of these with young children but we managed with a toddler. Overall we would stay again at Gwydn!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are glad that you liked it there. The owners have done a great job and tried to provide everything that their guests should need. Many of the traditional fisherman's cottages around here have quirkier layouts and steeper, narrower stairs than what many of us are used to in more modern homes, so this would not be unusual, however, we will check on our next inspection and if it were something that would benefit being highlighted within the description, we will get that added on. Tanya, Customer Services

Gwydn cottage is a fantastic holiday home. It's clean, comfortable, well equipped and plenty big enough for a family and dogs. It's in the perfect location, very close to everything that St Ives has to offer. We will definitely stay here again.

We had the most wonderful Christmas at Gwydn cottage. Beautifully presented cottage, really well equipped and great location. Added bonus of a lovely Christmas tree and logs for the wood burner. Everything was perfect. Highly recommended

Lovely family space, location great. Loved the cottage as had all comfy items in a home. Nice to find board games/books/DVDs and loved the outdoor box with surf boards/beach stuff for kids. Access was good from back door as we had dogs. Will return. Family of 5 and 2 dogs.

A well equipped and comfortable cottage where dogs are allowed. Good location near Porthgwidden and Porthmeor beaches and the Island. Also close to town and harbour. Stairs are quite steep and narrow especially to second floor. Spacious lounge and kitchen/dining room but bedrooms are compact like a lot of Downalong cottages. Nice to have small outside area at the rear.

Large, comfortable cottage well located for all areas. Large ground floor lounge and good kitchen and dining on first floor, along with bedroom, although bed is too big for this room. Top floor, a double, with en suite and room with bunk beds. Very nice cottage indeed.

A lovely spacious well equipped cottage, in the heart of everything, we enjoyed our stay thank you.

Perfect location, beautifully appointed , comfortable cottage cleaned to a high standard. The beds were super comfy with lovely quality bedding. What more can you ask ??

Sweet little cottage in a central location. Good amenities available.

Beautiful cottage, could not fault anything in there. Very comfy nights sleep. Perfect location is St Ives. Would recommend to anyone else. Very well looked after cottage

Cottage in great location to explore St Ives. Outdoor space a little disappointing. Kitchen well equipped and lots of space in living areas but bedrooms lack storage and space. House well decorated.

Great location, close to all amenities yet peaceful. The proximity to the Island is fantastic for dog owners. The bedrooms are compact but the spacious living areas more than compensate for that as there will always be compromises in cottages. We would happily holiday at Gwydn Cottage again.

We had a lovely relaxing holiday , fantastic location 2 minutes from the town . Cottage was very spacious, it had everything you needed home from home . We will definitely be back .

Lovely cottage, perfect location. My family all fitted in beautifully. The house was lovely and warm and there was lots of everything in the kitchen. I loved this house and would deffo go back!

Lovely cottage - very central and well equipped. Just a stones throw from the beaches, restaurants and shops yet in a nice quiet area of town.
The cottage itself is nice and spacious with modern furnishings and has a small outside sitting area which was a real sun trap. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Gwydn Cottage!

Great cottage very clean and well presented with great facilities. Great location .thanks Rob and Karen ??

We had a lovely week in St Ives and Gwydn is in a great location. Our young grandchildren love playing on Porthgwidden beach and being so close to the house means such ease in coming and going with paraphenalia. We love the cafes at Porthgwidden, Porthmeor and Porthminster but have learned to book months in advance!

Gwydn Cottage was very well equipped & in a convenient location for the town & Island Car Park. Stayed as a couple but plenty of room for a family, would recommend the property & stay there again.