Menu
Open tomorrow at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your summer holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Crow's Nest Cottage
Downalong, St Ives

£456 - £1201 per week
Book

This traditional granite fisherman's cottage is situated in the heart of St Ives, affording some sea and town views. Well equipped and retaining many original cottage features, this property is just two minutes' walk to Porthgwidden beach, Porthmeor beach and The Island, as well as being close to the many shops, restaurants and galleries. There is also a lovely front patio with a table and two chairs.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Double

Bedroom 2

Twin

Entrance

a few steps up to the front door and one flight of stairs from entrance hall up to:

Sitting/dining room

sofa, footstool, armchair, TV/DVD, feature fireplace, dining table, bench, two chairs, sea views out towards Godrevy Lighthouse.

Kitchen

electric oven and hob, fridge.

Bedroom 1

double bed.

Bathroom

bath with shower over, WC, basin. Stairs outside the bathroom lead to the attic bedroom.

Bedroom 2

twin beds, dual aspect views to the sea, Tate Gallery and Clodgy Point on one side and The Island and Godrevy Lighthouse on the other. Writing desk and TV.

Additional information

convector heaters, there is no washing machine in this property. Although this is a cottage, please note that due to the quirky layout of St Ives properties, there is another cottage underneath. There is one flight of internal stairs which take you into the property, which is then over two levels. WiFi.

 
 

We had a a very enjoyable holiday and loved this little cottage in an excellent location.

July 2023

We have been coming to St Ives for many years and can honestly say this property was one of the best we have stayed in. It met our needs wonderfully. We would definitely come back.

July 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Downalong

One of the most popular areas of St Ives, Downalong is an idyllic spot for a seaside retreat. Overlooking the picturesque Harbour beach and just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Porthmeor and Porthgwidden, and the iconic Tate St Ives. Meander along cobbled lanes, dotted with traditional fisherman's cottages, and admire this quintessential corner of Cornwall.

Steeped in history, Downalong is a timeless haven that captures the fishing heritage and thriving art community of this enchanting area of St Ives. With all that St Ives has to offer on your doorstep, spend endless days exploring the sandy shores, stunning coastal paths and bustling harbourside.

Did you know...

Downalong is a historic Cornish term for an area of harbourside fisherman's cottages 'down along the harbour'?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

This is a true fishermans cottage in a good state of condition in an area suitable for all the amenities. Unfortunately I cannot recommend it for anyone with walking disabilities, as there are steps up to the front door, then steps up to the main living area, plus not very wide steps up to the 2nd bedroom. But other than that is a very nice cottage.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

As you have mentioned, this traditional Cornish cottage is full of character and quirks, which does mean that there are several stairs both leading up to and within the property. For this reason, it is not advertised as accessible, but we do recommend to get in touch with us before booking if you have any accessibility concerns and we will be more than happy to assist. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Katy, Customer Services.

We had a a very enjoyable holiday and loved this little cottage in an excellent location.

We have been coming to St Ives for many years and can honestly say this property was one of the best we have stayed in. It met our needs wonderfully. We would definitely come back.

Lovely cottage in a brilliant position. Thank you

Super location - quiet but still convenient for beaches and shops. Lovely cottage with distant sea view. Hope to visit again and would certainly recommend to others.

Our favourite stay in St Ives so far! The most amazing location and gorgeously presented cottage. We managed to park at the Island car park which couldn’t have been more convenient. Easy stroll to everywhere in the town. We will most definitely be back!

Lovely cottage with tasteful decor and fully equipped with all you need. Location is perfect for beaches with beautiful views from bedrooms. Would stay here again.

This property is in a great location, close to the beach and island. Its a lovely cosy stay but lacks some basics like salt and pepper or bottle opener. Would recommend staying here after some tlc is given to it.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the great location of Crow's Nest Cottage, though it is such a shame we didn't know about the lack of a bottle opener as we would have been able to provide you with one during your stay. We have recently inspected the property and requested that some more kitchen utensils are supplied, so thank you for your suggestions. Katy, Customer Services.

Lovely, cosy cottage in a great location.

Crow’s Nest cottage is in a great location and is a comfortable place to stay. It’s suitable for 2 people but would be too small with 4 guests. Unfortunately, we found that care had not been taken to ensure broken or missing equipment was replaced and the furniture and furnishings were tired and in need of attention. The doors to the bathroom and bedroom were glass, affording no privacy! If these issues were addressed, we’d certainly want to stay again.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback. This was sent straight to the property owner, and just to update you; since our winter inspection, the owners have let us know that they will be changing the carpets, they have ordered a new sofa and chair, replaced a couple of blinds, replaced the shower head, and attended to the other maintenance that you highlighted. A decorator is also being booked in for around spring 2023 to decorate throughout. The doors to the bathroom and bedroom are not being replaced though, as they were newly installed in 2021, fitted with toughened safety privacy glass, so allow for some privacy, whilst ensuring that those rooms get as much natural light as possible; a huge bonus in these traditional fisherman's cottages. We hope that despite the doors remaining as they are, that with all the other changes made, this is still somewhere that you would consider returning to. Aspects Holidays, Customer Services

This is the best cottage we have stayed in and visit St Ives every year. The cottage has everything you need. It is decorated beautifully and is in the perfect location for beaches and walking into town. The children loved the loft room and the views from there are stunning.

Fab location & a quaint, well equipped cottage. Perfect for a couple or a family of 4. Fab dual aspect views from the attic bedroom

We enjoyed our holiday in st Ives with all its lovely beaches and activities. Crows nest cottage was ideal for all of them and was clean and comfortable. Would stay there again

Perfect location would stay again.

Lovely cosy cottage

Lovely cosy cottage in a perfect location. It is small as other reviewers have said, but we found it perfectly fine for our family of four. My daughters loved the crow's nest bedroom in the attic and loved sitting at the desk in the window to write and draw. Perfect location for surfers and body boarders as it is very close to the beach. The bucket in the porch proved useful for drip drying wetsuits. The kitchen could have done with a few more utensils (imagine our horror when we discovered the corkscrew was broken!!) to make cooking and eating easier, but otherwise we thought it was great and would return.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your really helpful comments. It is such a shame that we did not know that this had been broken; we always have items like this in our harbour office for such emergencies! We will make sure that your feedback is passed on to the owner and check what additional utensils are required on our next inspection of the property. We are glad to hear how much you loved your time here and hopefully we will see you back again soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Apart from minor issues, possibly because we stayed at the end of the 2021 season, the Crow's Nest is, for us, a perfect location. It is yards away from a lovely small beach overlooked by a very good restaurant with super sea-views. Sadly, on our stay, all of our restaurant bookings for the whole week were cancelled due to Covid-induced staffing problems.

Apart from this, the harbour and old town are five minutes walk away. More lovely restaurants and lovely beaches. The beaches and the town are remarkably clean and free of rubbish (good visitors??).

All in all, a place to return to.

Crow's Nest is a fabulous cottage in the perfect location. 60 second walk to Porthgwidden Beach or a couple of minutes to the shops it's great. Always very clean and comfortable as is firmly our go to cottage in St Ives.

Property is in a great location, nice and clean although could do with a lick of paint.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are glad that you liked it here. Thanks for sending on your thoughts about the paintwork. With the earlier part of the year being a lot busier than normal once the lockdown rules were relaxed, properties have already seen a larger number of bookings than usual for this time of year, and with that, more wear than usual. Your feedback is sent straight on to owners, and we will also check on this and highlight it in our next inspection if it still needs addressing at that time. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you back in Cornwall soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Crows nest is a lovely cosy cottage with a sea view ,nice quiet area yet close to beaches ,shops and restaurants, no steep hills in the area around the cottage will definitely stay again.

Crow's Nest cottage is a lovely property in the perfect location, literally 60sec walk to the gorgeous Porthgwidden Beach and a few minutes from the shops. It's very comfortable and very clean, the cleaners do a great job in this cottage and it's always spotless when we arrive. Perfect.

A great little cottage if you’re not tall . Great location and well appointed. Lots of character and personal touches . Quite basic but priced according. Clean and well thought out . Loved the little courtyard and sea view.Would book again.

Lovely cottage in a great location.

Lovely Cornish cottage with a perfect location, having porthgwidden, Porthmeor and the harbour on your doorstep. Nice decor and quality beds and bedding for a great nights sleep. Great views from the windows. A few simple tweaks and it would be a perfect cottage

We had a lovely stay- This upstairs flat is in a perfect position. The living room is a tiny bit bijoux, for four people, but we were not inside that much.It does have lovely sea views! The bedroom right at the top is a dream, it has fabulous views, with double aspect windows. One thing we did notice that the code for the wifi is different at the property than the one stated on the arrival pack. ( I'm sure they've just updated the wifi and forgot to put it on the site) It is all written on the back of the router so its ok and easy to find. (It may have been updated since I pointed this out.) But- Yes I would happily recommend Crows nest! Its in THE PERFECT spot for Porthgwidden beach and Cafe and for Porthmeor surf beach. So really good for small and teenage children alike! PS:Don't forget to pre book at restaurants before you arrive (as covid restrictions mean everywhere is operating at 50% less capacity, and you'll find it hard to get a booking.)

Lovely cottage in a fantastic location with great views from the top floor. Very clean and comfortable, nicely decorated. Highly recommended Crows Nest cottage, in fact we've already booked for next year

When picking up our keys to the cottage we were given a complimentary bucket and spade for our daughter and when leaving were all given fudge. Amazing service. Thanks to all.

Great location.

We loved our stay at the Crows nest. Close to the harbor, shops, restaurants and beaches.

Lovely charming fisherman’s cottage however, very small. 3 of us stayed but still felt cramped. Lovely top floor bedroom with great views

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback. Crow's Nest cottage is a sleeps 4 property, providing enough beds to accommodate 4, though like many traditional St Ives fishermans cottage, they are often a little smaller and layouts/stairs more quirky and steeper than in more modern buildings, but packed full of character. We always try to be as open and honest as possible, and try to give an accurate representation of properties within our photos and hope that we have achieved that in this case. We are delighted to hear that you otherwise liked the property and enjoyed its charm and fantastic location, and thank you again for taking the time to send in your comments. Tanya, Customer Services

A comfortable, clean cottage which is handy for everything.

Crows nest cottage is in a fantastic location right by the island. It is furnished with lovely quality furniture and has all the gadgets you need for your holiday. It is very cosy and has lovely comfy beds with beautiful linen. We would love to come back to crows nest cottage.

Lovely well equipped cottage in a central location for harbour, beaches and shops. Has beautiful views from the twin bedroom.

Crow's Nest is a well-equipped and cosy former fisherman's cottage. The views from the cottage, and its location near Porthgwidden Beach, added to it's charm.

Perfect cottage with fantastic views - I especially enjoyed looking out the window to Godrevy Island with my morning coffee!

Crows nest is in an excellent position, easily accessible and perfectly formed. I liked the exposed walls in the bedroom and it has a nice bathroom.

This property is clean and tidy and perfectly situated within St Ives

Great location to Porthgwidden beach. Property needs a lick of paint and a good clean.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you so much for your comments; we are sorry if some areas of paintwork had been in need of painting at the time of your visit. Having discussed this further with you since, to get more details before we inspected it; we can now also confirm that the owner of Crows Nest Cottage had the whole property re-painted following your feedback, replaced curtains and treated the wooden window frames which had become stained. Tanya, Customer services

A disappointing cottage needing some TLC and an urgent review of the cleaning and maintenance/management process. Location is excellent, the only real saving grace of this property.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are very sorry to hear that this property did not meet your expectations. While such a popular property will see a little wear and tear over the season, we are obviously very concerned and disappointed to read your comments. Please rest assured that your comments will be passed on to the owner and we will check everything thoroughly on our next inspection. Tanya, Customer Services.

We had a fantastic stay and can't wait to book again as well as recommending to friends and family. Great value for money and we didn't realise the views from upstairs were so fantastic. it's the best location for beaches and long stay car park is just next door.