Open tomorrow at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Beach Retreat - 15A St Eia Street
Downalong, St Ives

£947 - £2491 per week

Beach Retreat is a beautiful traditional cottage, set over three floors that has been updated to a very high standard, with a modern twist. It's located in the heart of Downalong, tucked away in St Eia Street, but is only a stone's throw away from St Ives harbour and beaches. This cottage is still in its original layout retaining two separate entrances along with a main lounge and a smaller sitting room within the kitchen/dining area. Beach Retreat offers comfortable and versatile accommodation for up to 6 people at any time of year - great for friends or extended families.

Beach Retreat is dog friendly and is in the perfect position for dog walks on The Island and over to Clodgy and Man's Head. Just yards from the front door you can find Bamaluz Beach, which is dog friendly all year round.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1


Bedroom 2


Bedroom 3



one step leading into;

Kitchen/sitting area

electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, small dishwasher, middle island with seating, dining table and six chairs, Smart TV. Stairs to sitting room and bedroom one:

Sitting room

two sofas, Smart TV, DVD. Stairs to 2nd floor bedrooms.

Bedroom 1

king size bed, TV, en suite with shower, WC and basin.

Bedroom 2

king size bed, TV.


bath with shower over, WC, basin.

Bedroom 3

twin beds, TV.

Additional information

WiFi, one dog welcome, short breaks available.


We think it’s a Lovely Cottage, and we’ve thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Beach Retreat- 15A St Eia Street for our holidays for 2 consecutive years now and hope to stay again next year.

May 2024

This is the third time we have stayed at Beach Retreat, and we are very much hoping to stay there again in the future. We love it. The house is comfortable, and the location could not be better: a couple of minutes away from the harbour and not much further from the shops, but at the same time off the beaten track. The kitchen would be good for anyone interested in extensive self-catering. This year's Easter was very early, so the weather was changeable and rather chilly, but the highly efficient electric heaters made for a cosy house. The sitting room with its comfortable sofas came in handy, too, as did the very reliable internet access. A perfect retreat!

March 2024

Special Offers

10% off - 20 Jul 24 to 27 Jul 24

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Low Occupancy

Discounts for smaller groups are available outside of peak weeks.

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Downalong

One of the most popular areas of St Ives, Downalong is an idyllic spot for a seaside retreat. Overlooking the picturesque Harbour beach and just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Porthmeor and Porthgwidden, and the iconic Tate St Ives. Meander along cobbled lanes, dotted with traditional fisherman's cottages, and admire this quintessential corner of Cornwall.

Steeped in history, Downalong is a timeless haven that captures the fishing heritage and thriving art community of this enchanting area of St Ives. With all that St Ives has to offer on your doorstep, spend endless days exploring the sandy shores, stunning coastal paths and bustling harbourside.

Did you know...

Downalong is a historic Cornish term for an area of harbourside fisherman's cottages 'down along the harbour'?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Beautiful accommodation, lots of homely item. Very high spec kitchen fixtures and fittings. My only gripe that wasn't with the house itself was the lack of parking. I wasn't aware how difficult finding a long stay parking would be, my advice would be to pre pay for parking beforehand. Had to dump my children and luggage and go park at the rugby club 20min walk away from property. Bar that had a very enjoyable stay. Location was perfect, so close to all the beaches making early morning strolls and evening walks into town very comfortable.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

It's great to hear how much you enjoyed Beach Retreat, 15a St Eia Street. Parking is unfortunately at a premium in St Ives; with many properties not having this facility. For those without parking, it is always worth looking into alternative options beforehand on the local council website and looking into availability, particularly for peak weeks. There is also a park and ride facility which some find useful. Please feel free to contact the team for any advice. Thanks for your comments, and we hope to see you back here soon. Katy, Customer Services

We think it’s a Lovely Cottage, and we’ve thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Beach Retreat- 15A St Eia Street for our holidays for 2 consecutive years now and hope to stay again next year.

This is the third time we have stayed at Beach Retreat, and we are very much hoping to stay there again in the future. We love it. The house is comfortable, and the location could not be better: a couple of minutes away from the harbour and not much further from the shops, but at the same time off the beaten track. The kitchen would be good for anyone interested in extensive self-catering. This year's Easter was very early, so the weather was changeable and rather chilly, but the highly efficient electric heaters made for a cosy house. The sitting room with its comfortable sofas came in handy, too, as did the very reliable internet access. A perfect retreat!

We really enjoyed our 2 weeks in beach retreat. Beautiful, modern, well equipped and convenient.

We had a fantastic time in this house, six adults, plenty of space and seating for all. It has lovely furnishings and provides everything for a comfortable stay. We didn’t have hot water one day, Aspects sorted the problem straight away and followed up with a telephone call to make sure we were satisfied. Great location in between four beaches and a short distance to shops and bars, no hills to climb like some areas in St Ives. In a quiet area even though very close to the main harbour - 2 mins away. Highly recommend.

We have stayed at Beach Retreat before and specifically wanted to go back there, which tells you that we liked it very much. The house is comfortable and in an excellent location: close to the beaches and the shops, but very quiet as it gets hardly any pedestrian traffic. The kitchen is well-equipped and spacious enough for some serious cooking if you decided not to make use of the excellent restaurants in town. The electric heaters are wonderfully efficient - an important feature when we stayed in April!

Lovely cottage, decorated and equipped well. Very comfortable and deceptively spacious compared to others of a similar style (although a little pricier than others).

A beautiful cottage. The location of this cottage is perfect for parking on the Island Car park and quick access to the beaches and harbour front. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has everything you need for a lovely holiday

Beach retreat is a perfect holiday cottage very clean and very well equipped. It is situated in a peaceful area and perfect for the beaches and town. I would highly recommend.

A lovely comfortable house, situated in a central location. We would definitely stay here again.

This property is in a great location - it was nice and clean and is a good size. The outdoor shower was a nice touch.

An outstanding holiday cottage. Beautifully furnished, understated modern décor, comfortable beds, reliable Wi-Fi. The kitchen is particularly well equipped. If you wanted to cook proper meals rather than just breakfast, you absolutely could. (Not that we took advantage, given the excellent restaurants of St Ives). Everything was spotless.

We loved the location, too: close to the harbour and the beaches, but out of the way of through traffic, whether pedestrian or otherwise, and therefore very quiet. We thoroughly recommend it.

We wanted a January break in a relaxing environment. That is exactly what we got with our weeks stay at Beach Retreat, a perfectly positioned property within easy walking distance to St Ives town centre. The property is well decorated and fully equipped, very good for 1 large family or 3 couples. A great stay was had by all of us and we will definitely be returning in the near future.

A very big thanks to Olivia Glasgow @ Aspects for her assistance with property availability.

It is a real shame about this lovely property in a perfect location. It needs time & money spending on it, dirty & very uncomfortable.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were so sorry to read your review and it is such a shame that you had not contacted us while you were here as we would have had any concerns addressed straight away. You should always expect the cleaning to be done to a very high standard and please rest assured that the owner of the property and we are taking your comments very seriously and following this up with the housekeepers of this property. All your feedback is automatically passed on to the owner and we will carry out an inspection to check on the rest of your comments. It can be very difficult to find things like mattresses and sofas that will suit everyone, and it is disappointing to hear that the mattress was not to your preference. This is not something that has been raised here before, so we will monitor comments to keep an eye on guest's preferences over the coming months. Thanks again for your feedback. Tanya, Customer Services

Our family have been using Aspects for years. Can book with confidence knowing all will be okay and if you have an issue it will be sorted.

Overall a good property within easy walking distance of the front

15A St Eia is in a fantastic location and a beautiful cottage. Absolutely perfect if you want to be in the bottom of St Ives, very close to Porthwidden and shops and amenities. The Kitchen is one of the best equipped and laid out that I have ever seen or been to in a self catering cottage. Great space over the next two floors and the smart tvs are a great addition, especially on any very rainy days that you just want to stay dry.

There is a local seagull who likes to tap on the kitchen window when making breakfast. Watchout for him/her, can make you jump.

If you have an adventurous toddler baby gates are advised for the stairs.

Stylishly furnished cottage in an Ideal location for all amenities with a little sunny spot outside .

We had a wonderful week, basically 6 adults and one dog in Covid-19 limitations, totally enjoyed our stay in October 2020. Exactly as advertised - walking distance to beaches, shops, restaurants and even the weather was kind! Exceptional!

Beach retreat is the perfect holiday cottage. It’s proximity to the beaches and shops is just great especially when you have little ones in your holiday group. The cottage has a great lay out and so well stocked with equipment for a self catering holiday. It’s is bright and cheerful, nicely decorated and TVs in each bedroom are such a bonus. You are able to drop off your bags before parking in local car park. You will not regret booking a holiday here

Just returned from a lovely week staying at Beach Retreat !! We had a brilliant time as always can’t fault the property & location everything you need & more & our favourite beach on the doorstep PERFECT !!!!!!

We had a fantastic short stay in this lovely, cosy cottage. It's a perfect location with all the beaches being very close by. The cottage was spotless and the welcome hamper was a nice touch. We would definitely recommend and would happily book to stay again. Thank you !!

Fantastic well situated and well furnished cottage. This was out 3rd visit and once again werenot dissapointed. The layout of the ground floor kitchen and dining area has changed for the better and we loved sitting at the front of the cottage enjoying the afternoon sunshine until early evening. We would recommend to anyone.

Amazing holiday Location brilliant Very clean Team very helpful

Lovely property, well furnished and in the perfect location. Ideal if staying with a dog as you are close to the dog beach and the island for walks.

Lovely, cosy cottage in an excellent location which had everything we needed for a most enjoyable stay. So close to dog friendly Bamaluz beach and just a couple of minutes walk to the harbour, shops and restaurants. We used the Island car park which is also very near the property.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday! We’ll be booking for next year. The house was perfect for our family of 4 (children 7yrs and 2.5yrs). Excellent location, spacious and so clean! The outside space was also brilliant for washing off wetsuits and hanging them to dry. We loved everything about The Beach Retreat.

Beautiful cottage, very cosy and comfortable in a brilliant location. Loved our stay

Modern Cottage, good facilities and great location

Fabulous location and wonderful cottage. The mattresses are top quality which meant we all had wonderful nights sleep every night - priceless!

The position of the cottage is excellent, close to all the facilities, it was also handy for parking in the Island car park (get a Rover Ticket £47 for the week) The beds are very comfortable, but they could do with some firmer pillows. We did have an issue with ants on the work tops so it was impossible to leave food out on the surfaces. We also were amazed at the lack of hairdryers, this is our third year staying in St Ives and prior to that in Dorset and Fowey and all previous cottages supplied hairdryers, so we were a little upset when we had to go and buy one (£18.00), the least the owners could do is spend £36 of the £1300 rental fee and supply them. I also mentioned to Aspects when I returned the keys the positioning of the bathroom cabinets it is virtually impossible to clean your teeth or swill your face without either cracking your head on the cabinet or getting water over the floor, also the toilet cistern kept sticking and the bathroom sink tap needed replacing. If you are paying £1300 for 7 nights your expectations are quite high unfortunately for the reasons outlined above they were not met, but we did enjoy our stay apart from the items above.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry to hear that you had a few issues and it is such a shame that we were not aware while you were here so that we could have rectified these issues for you. Unfortunately, sometimes things go wrong, as they do in our own homes, and there is no way to foresee these issues arising, so we have a team on hand to help with getting any such issues dealt with, and an emergency out of hours facility for those things that can't wait until office opening hours. The maintenance issues were all dealt with on the changeover as soon as you informed us and ant traps laid to resolve that issues and we are happy to say that so far, they have not been reported to be wondering back into the property. We have also passed on your comments about the bathroom cabinets, to the owners, for their consideration, and mentioned the missing hairdryer. Unfortunately, hairdryers going missing a lot, so we do not advertise them as being available in properties. We will inform the owner and get another one in there. Thank you for making us aware. We hope that you still had a fab holiday and hopefully we will see you again. Tanya, Customer Services

Location, location, location. A stunning property in an amazing part of St Ives. 1 min to the beaches, harbour, town, restaurants. If only all holidays were made this way.

Perfect location for all the beaches Great family house

We would highly recommend Beach Retreat- so close to all beaches and harbour, light, spacious and with an outdoor space that we used a lot! We had an amazing family holiday and hope to stay at cottage again!

Wonderful cottage in a fabulous area of Downalong. Perfect for dog owners, or anyone who loves to be near beaches, shops and restaurants.

We are in love with Beach Retreat. We honestly couldn't look for anything more from a holiday cottage in St Ives than what this had to offer. Fabulous location, stunning decor and clearly an exceptional housekeeper because everything was immaculate. Every second of our stay was perfect, thank you for a wonderful week, we are so sad to be leaving!

Lovely cottage, very well presented in a great location. Aspects were happy to ask owner for a special request & dealt quickly with one minor problem that we had. We've had a great holiday, thank you very much.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thanks for the lovely feedback; we're delighted to hear that you had a great holiday, and glad that we could help with locating the hot water switch for you. It really is a lovely spot there, so central to everything in the town, so very glad to hear that you liked it. Tanya, Customer Services