Menu
Open tomorrow at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Island View
Barnoon/Carthew, St Ives

£1189 - £3964 per week
Book

Island View has a most enviable position in St Ives with stunning views across to The Island, Porthmeor beach and Godrevy Lighthouse. With parking directly in front of the property for up to three cars, this house is ideal for families sharing. You can meander down to the centre of St Ives in just a few minutes to explore the shops and restaurants, or hit the surf at Porthmeor beach, yet still have the freedom to jump in the car and explore the beautiful far west coastline.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Double

Bedroom 2

Twin

Bedroom 3

King

Bedroom 4

Single

Bedroom 5

Twin

Bedroom 6

Twin

Entrance

from the parking area via rear gate and door into:

Kitchen/dining room

gas oven and hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, TV/DVD, two dining tables and six chairs.

Utility room

separate entrance from garden. Large shower, WC, washer/dryer, sink, excellent storage for surfboards, wetsuits and bikes.

Sitting room

sofas, armchairs, TV, woodburner, sea views over roof tops. Stairs from hallway up to:

Bedroom 1

double bed, TV, sea views, en suite with shower, WC and basin.

Bedroom 2

twin beds, TV, sea views.

Bedroom 3

king size bed, TV, sea views.

Games room/bedroom 6

games console, TV, single chair bed, sea views.

Family bathroom

shower, bath, WC, bidet and basin. Stairs from landing up to:

Bedroom 4

twin beds, TV, sea views.

Bedroom 5

twin beds, TV, sea views.

Shower room

shower, WC, basin.

Additional information

Garden with two picnic benches, parking for up to three cars. WiFi, up to two dogs welcome, short breaks available.

 
 

Great property. Sleeps 10 comfortably. Separate out house for laundry and keeping surf and beach bits. Parking for three cars and an enclosed garden is an added bonus in St Ives. The grand children were safe in the garden.This is the second time we rented the house and would love to return.

May 2024

We lioved the big family kitchen, car parking spaces and the utility room with a washer dryer. We also enjoyed the gorgeous sea views, hot water bottles and chess game. Alfred was very accommodating and left us a lovely hamper. The White company products in the bathrooms were very well received. Thank you

March 2024

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Barnoon & Carthew

Moments from the bustling lanes of St Ives town and harbour, overlooking Porthmeor beach with beautiful coastal walks to Clodgy Point and beyond... Barnoon and Carthew is tucked away in a quieter spot, whilst being perfectly located for those wanting to exploring the best of St Ives! With golden sands, rugged coastal paths and a plethora of independent shops, cafes, bars and restaurants all just a short stroll away.


Enjoy spending days by the seaside, building sandcastles and paddling along the shoreline. Tuck into delicious fish and chips whilst watching the boats bobbing up and down in the harbour or head off along the coastal path, taking in the spectacular scenery and breath-taking sea views and experience a quintessential Cornish stay in this beautiful corner of Cornwall. Read more about the seaside paradise of St Ives here.

Top tip

Take a walk to nearby Clodgy Point for spectacular views.

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Great property. Sleeps 10 comfortably. Separate out house for laundry and keeping surf and beach bits. Parking for three cars and an enclosed garden is an added bonus in St Ives. The grand children were safe in the garden.This is the second time we rented the house and would love to return.

We lioved the big family kitchen, car parking spaces and the utility room with a washer dryer. We also enjoyed the gorgeous sea views, hot water bottles and chess game. Alfred was very accommodating and left us a lovely hamper. The White company products in the bathrooms were very well received. Thank you

At the present time I cannot leave a positive review

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry that you felt let down with your returning stay at Island View, this is never what we want to hear from guests. We do wish we had heard from you during your stay so we could have helped put any cleanliness and maintenance concerns right, but we do understand you not wanting to be disturbed over Christmas. We have since been in touch responding to the points you raised, and we hope we can welcome you back to Cornwall again soon. Phoebe, Customer Services

This is a decent sized house, reasonably close to the beach and shops. It benefits from its own parking.The standard of cleanliness was very disappointing.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. We were ever so sorry to hear about your concerns regarding the cleanliness of the property, though we are pleased that we were able to bring this to a suitable resolution for you. Since your stay the property owners have opted to employ a new housekeeping team, so that things can be better kept on top of moving forward. Ben, Customer Services.

Great family house. House better than pictures in brochure. Prime location. Parking an added bonus.

Lovely spacious house. Bright and airy. Good location and parking. Useful little garden. Perhaps update the bed linen and sharpen the knives, replace the bath plug but not at all a reason to not to stay. We had a great time.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Island View. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the property and found the garden and parking space useful during your time here. Your comments have automatically been passed along to the owner so that they can take your notes regarding the bed linen, kitchen knives and bath plug into consideration. We hope we can welcome you back to St Ives very soon. Katy, Customer Services.

Love,y house plenty of room enjoyed our daughters 40th birthday here

A good house for a big group of people, in a great location for Porthmeor beach (you do have to get used to the steep hills but this is true of all the bigger houses in St Ives). Fantastic views especially from the top floor. Some of the fittings were a little tired and not quite as premium as some of the other houses we’ve stayed in for a similar price. The big parking space was a massive plus - the listing says up to three cars, which is what we had, but I think four would probably fit. You do have to be fairly confident to squeeze through the access point to the parking space if you have a big car but we got used to it and it’s unusual to have so much parking space. Another big bonus was the garden shower room with space for wetsuits - and the owners thoughtfully provide lots of beach equipment including body boards, which was great. Overall highly recommended.

The property is a traditional Victorian property, with large rooms adequate for 2 - 3 families staying. The facilities are great and a home from home feeling. The central location is great for those wishing to walk into St Ives. Its peaceful of an evening and no disturbance from neighbouring properties. We would come again and stay in this property.

Large house great for families. Great for parking for 3 cars but access is a little tight for large cars. Lovely view over porthmeor and island. Steep hills to walk into St Ives, but we managed with car drop offs and taxi due to 2 elderly party members. Washing machine and dryer, but sadly no iron available. Windbreaks for beach were good. Nice outdoor seating area. Modern and clean but was lacking in a clear welcome pack for guests of instructions on what, how and when etc in the house. Aspects team are lovely and very helpful, made our cancellation of original booking easy and can’t thank Nicole at St Ives office enough for all her help upto the holiday.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry if the access to the parking was not what you had expected. We include a couple of photos on the website to give a good idea, and as a rule, parking spaces are only suitable for medium sized vehicles unless we state otherwise, but the entrance to this parking area should fit most cars including a lot of the 4x4's, albeit a bit snug for larger cars. For anyone arriving with something larger than a medium sized car, it is always best to check on the suitability with the bookings team. We were sorry to hear that the iron had disappeared. There is usually one there, so if we can't locate it, we will ensure that a new one is purchased, and we will have a look at that welcome folder and get it updated. Thanks for letting us know. Tanya, Customer Services

This is a perfect holiday base for a large group. Within walking distance of the town and beaches (so long as you don't mind a muscle-testing uphill stretch to get back) and lovely views out to sea from all the bedrooms. The house is well equipped and well presented, and having three parking spaces is an absolute boon, as anyone familiar with St Ives will testify. Recommended without hesitation.

Excellent accommodation. Convenient location with on site parking which is a must in St Ives ( although a tight entry for an SUV). Seven adults easily accommodated, can take more, plus dogs. Plenty of bathroom facilities. Our third stay and hope to return again next year.

Island view is a lovely house, with great facilities. Very comfortable for a family of 8 with 2 small dogs. WI-FI didn’t work but Aspects did arrange for it to be fixed.

Great house with spectacular views and ample parking, such a bonus for St Ives. Could do with a freshen up in places, carpets especially but nothing to put people off. Broadband not to be relied upon. Otherwise, the house is very comfortable with enough bathrooms and plenty of space for all guests in the cosy lounge. Any one who knows St Ives knows the location involves a hill, but it’s absolutely worth it for the view!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry that there had been problems with the wifi service. It had seemed to be working for a while after your report but after experiencing problems again a few months later, engineers attended, and we are pleased to report that they have resolved the issue. Thank you for letting us know and for your feedback on the carpets. We have passed that feedback on to the owner. Tanya, Customer Services

Great property, highly recommended! Ideal location 5 mins walk away from the town, all main beaches and shops. Plenty of space for everyone (we had 10 of us) with everything you need for a long stay. All the comforts of home. Would definitely stay again!

Wonderful home from home (just be prepared for uphill walk but don’t let that put you off!

Great large family house, superbly positioned for Porthmeor beach in St Ives

OVerall we loved the stay and would recommend it too every one

This is a spacious house with ample parking for at least 4 cars which is a bonus in St Ives. The house is well equipped with all kitchen equipment needed. The lounge sofas are very comfortable. However certain areas such as the top floor bathroom need attention. The WiFi was poor so the signal could do with beefing up! Maybe if 10 people were staying a 3 drawer freezer is a little small. Given all the above I would stay in this property again.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. Parking is so hard to come by in St Ives, so having that amount of space for parking is a huge bonus; we are glad that you made good use of it! We were sorry that you experienced some issues with the Wi-Fi signal; we have passed that on to the owner, to look into with his service provider and also let him know your thoughts about the top floor bathroom. A lot can happen to properties over a short period of time, especially after such a busy season, but we appreciate you bringing these things to our attention, so that we can highlight them to the property owner. We will be doing a full inspection there soon, so we will have a good check on everything too and pass on any of our suggestions to the owner as well. Thanks again, we hope to welcome you back again soon. Ben, Customer Services

Island View is situated in a quiet residential area close to Porthmeor beach, a 10 minute walk away. There is a very steep hill to walk back up but that was fine by us. We were a party of 7 with 4 teenagers. The WIFI was very intermittent which was frustrating at times. Parking is good. The garden is small & basic. The house is spacious but rather tired & in need of some TLC. We paid a premium price but we didn’t think it was a premium property.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic location of Island View. It's perfect if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the town but still be close enough to be able to stroll in for a day at the beach or to one of the many restaurants in the town. We were sorry to hear that you had a few issues with the Wi-Fi and that areas of the property were looking a little tired. A lot can happen in a short period of time, especially during these exceptionally busy periods, so thank you for making us aware so that we have been able to pass this on to the property owner. We will also check everything on our next inspection to see what may still need addressing. Thanks again and we hope to see you back in St Ives again soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Great large property in a very good location

A great house for a group get-together. St.Ives has something to offer everyone, and is a fantastic location whatever time of year you are lucky enough to visit.

The accommodation was perfect for a family get together, we would love to book again and would recommend to friends and family. All very clean and well equipped, including iron and ironing board and some beach toys! If you’re not sure whether to take something, it’s worth checking as the property had more equipment than advertised. The outside utility area was really handy. Also great to have a garden (two lovely new round bench tables, so the photos are out of date) and adequate parking (can probably park more than 3 cars). Overall, really pleased.

Fantastic stay in a lovely house with all the home comforts you could need. Games for the beach, wind breaks & so much more. The house was easily big enough for our family with plenty of room all round. The team at Aspects St Ives are always helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them.

This is our second visit to Island View. It’s a fantastic extended family house comfortably accommodating our 3 families. Amazing views over St Ives and Godrevy and parking for 3 cars which is a rarity in St Ives. We love the huge, well equipped kitchen for big family meals and the 3 bathrooms in the main house mean one for each family. Very tasteful decor, comfortable beds and lots of living space.

Lovely house. Parking for large 4x4 virtually impossible, long stay car park nearby, fine for 3 or 4 small cars. We all found the beds uncomfortable. Well equipped kitchen, nice to have utility room for surf boards, wetsuits etc with shower and loo. Short walk into town.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty with the parking and that you had found the beds to be uncomfortable. It can be very difficult to find mattresses that suit everyone and it is disappointing to hear that these were not to your preference. This is not something that has been raised here before, so we will monitor comments to keep an eye on guest's preferences over the coming months. The parking area is plenty large enough for a 4x4, however, the entrance to the parking, whilst big enough to fit large cars through, is narrow in comparison to the driveway, and it has come to light that if there are vehicles parked directly opposite the entrance, it may require some manoeuvring, though this has rarely been an issue. We will of course keep a close eye on this as well, in case it becomes a more common occurrence and starts to make it trickier to access the parking. Thanks for letting us know and we hope that you still had a fantastic time despite this. Tanya, Customer Services

A lovely family property, we enjoyed a great week and the weather was mostly perfect. Great location within easy walking distance of the centre of St Ives and the beach (it is a uphill walk coming back but can easily drive down to Porthmeor car park although there are limited spaces - so unless you get down early...)

Facilities were good, with nice big kitchen area. Views are best from the third floor, although the double room on the 2nd loor has lovely views of the Island.

Only critism of the property, if you have a large estate car, as I have - entering the car parking area was very very tight due to the angle at which you have to approach it given other parked cars on its approach.

Island View was perfect for our big family. Very clean & well equipped. Car parking excellent & enclosed garden for our two toddlers was a bonus.

We had a fantastic short stay at Island View celebrating 18th, 21st and 50th birthdays. The house is very big and comfortable for large groups, and very well equipped. It is a steep climb back up the hill from the town but the views from the top floor are worth it. It was great to have parking but be aware that access to the parking area is very tight!

Had a lovely time 100% booking again

Lovely house for a large family and with the added bonus of having parking for three cars !

Great family house, great location - perfect

We had a great time, multigenerational grandparents and children, ideally located for the beach and town. The kitchen was well equipped and the enclosed garden safe. The views from the house were breathtaking, we enjoyed several sunsets from the top floor.

Lovely Place, very good furniture , very Lovely rooms and very good views

Whole party was delighted with house! Our party was 10! Not a problem with all that space!!

Have stayed at a number of properties over the years. This was well heated, showers excellent with plenty of hot water. Bedrooms were all a reasonable size. The dining area and kitchen coped well even with 10 of us! Property was clean and tidy. Great parking for a St Ives property although narrow entry for a 4x4! Within walking distance of beaches, pubs, shops and restaurants. There was even Sky Sports! And the WiFi was ok! Would definitely recommend.

Beautiful light and bright cottage. Fabulous views, very cosy in the winter.

We enjoyed a really lovely stay at Island View being 9 adults and 2 children, the layout of the house was perfect for us and we really appreciated the additional touches such as the welcome pack, Christmas trees and decorations and the additional accommodation made for us with an extra guest. The house is furnished with modern fixtures and fittings, the beds were extremely comfy with lovely fresh linen. The open plan kitchen diner was a great entertainment space. The utility/shower room was ideal particularly for drying the dog after long walks on the beach. Thank you for such a lovely twixtmas and New Year in our favourite resort of St Ives.

Cottage was beautifully presented and the facilities were immaculate. We were in Cornwall for our wedding and having a lovely house to stay in for the week made it that extra special.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Congratulations from all of the team here at Aspects Holidays. We are delighted to hear how much you liked Island View. We wish you all the luck and happiness for the future. Tanya, Customer Services

Fabulous house for large family's, there is something for everyone. The position of the house is very good as close to the beaches and town. We had an amazing family holiday in the most relaxing holiday house.

Superb house for a large party of friends or family. Great kitchen and living room to gather to eat and plan the days events. Easy access to the town as long as you don't mind the hills!

Had a fabulous holiday at Island View with family and dogs. Property has ample parking for 3 cars or more. Rooms are large with modern furniture and appliances. Lovely views from every window. 2 minute walk to beach and 5 minute walk through the lanes to Fore Street. Had a very enjoyable holiday.

The house was exceellent value for money but would not recommd this property for young children or the elderly due to uphill climb.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you liked Island View; it is a great space for family/larger parties to enjoy, so we were sorry to read that you found that the uphill walk up to the property potentially makes it unsuitable. It is in a great location to enjoy views over the Island and the town but the uphill walk after a day at one of the stunning beaches of St Ives, is certainly something that should be considered. You can expect it to take a approx 10 minutes for most, but we hope that you found it worth it. The property is a lovely place to return to, and the walk down into town, via Porthmeor Beach enjoys amazing views all the way into town! Tanya, Customer Services.

Island View is delightful. Spacious and warm in the winter. Plenty of room for wellies or swimming gear. Great views and walking distance from Porthmear Beach and the Tate. We had a terrific time.

Fantastic house, lovely location we had a great Christmas break.

Good accommodation for mixed parties. Good facilities

Beautiful views and easy access to the local facilities. Cheap taxi fare for those members of the family who couldn't manage the the short steep walk back after an evening on the town.

Fabulous house, fantastic views, ample living accommodation and parking for large families. We visited as a family of 3 generations! We would all highly recommend this property to friends.