Opening at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Polly's Cottage
Porthmeor, St Ives

£569 - £1388 per week

Polly's Cottage is a traditional pet-friendly fisherman's cottage set over three floors, with sea views from the second bedroom. Situated on Porthmeor Road just yards from the magnificent Porthmeor beach, this cosy cottage is ideal for exploring all that St Ives has to offer. The third, ground floor bedroom allows five people to sleep comfortably, or six if two share the second bedroom, although it should be noted that the seating and dining space is better suited to four people. An enclosed courtyard garden, complete with garden bench, enjoys a south facing, sunny aspect.

Please note: There are building works taking place at a project nearby which can at times be heard from the property, if you would like further information before booking your stay, please speak to our Customer Services Team

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1


Bedroom 2


Bedroom 3



access through small courtyard to the front of the property leading to:

Sitting room

two three seater sofas, Smart TV, coal effect fire.

Kitchen/dining area

electric oven and ceramic hob, fridge with freezer compartment, washer/dryer, dishwasher. Stairs down to bedroom 3 and up to bedrooms 1 and 2:

Shower room

shower, basin, WC.

Bedroom 1

double bed, basin, sash window to front of property.

Bedroom 2

4ft double bed, basin, sea glimpses.

Bedroom 3

twin beds, TV/DVD.

Additional information

electric heating, WiFi, 2 small dogs only.


Lovely cottage in a super location just 2 mins from the beach and 5 mins from town. Lots of nice eateries close by.

July 2023

Lovely cottage and great location.

July 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Porthmeor

Home to the world renowned Tate St Ives gallery, Porthmeor is a tranquil bay embraced by stunning coastal scenery and boasts a beautiful Blue Flag beach. A firm favourite with surfers and families alike, perfect for sandcastle building, sunbathing, surfing, paddling in the shallows, or simply soaking up the atmosphere.


With a beachside cafe boasting panoramic sea views and a popular surf school catering to all abilities, the sheltered cove of Porthmeor has all you need for fun-filled beach days, plus the bustling heart of St Ives and the iconic harbour is just a short walk away. Relax and enjoy the view from one of our many self-catering beach-front apartments in this delightful corner of St Ives. You can plan your beach days by checking our Porthmeor beach webcam.

Did you know...

Porthmeor means 'large cove' in Cornish?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

I echo very much the comments made by Mr Jones in his February 2024 review. We have been coming to St Ives and indeed Cornwall for a number of years now and have always been pleased with Aspects. This property was a disappointment. It is best suited for a couple plus one other. We did not bother with the ground floor bedroom as it was cramped and cold and uninviting. The main bedroom has a wardrobe that is difficult to access. The shower is of poor quality. The other electrical appliances are fine. The kitchen/ dining area is really only spacious enough for 3 persons. However, we had to keep the blind closed on the window as there is an adjoining property which had a lot of activity whilst we were there. As to cleanliness, overall this was no problem but there was sand in the outside seating area that ought to have been removed as had been done by the adjoining properties. The building work at the adjacent property is rightly flagged up, but did not cause any real inconvenience. The location is great. We purchased a weekly rover ticket from the Council and were always able to park on the Island car park. The beaches, bars, restaurants, cafes are all easily accessible. The Norway store nearby is open from 7am to 8pm and the staff are very friendly and the shop is well stocked. We love St Ives and will return via Aspects, but this property would not be top of our list!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review; As you say, the location is perfect to easily access the beautiful beaches and town so you can really make the most of everything St Ives has to offer. We are sorry to hear this property's arrangement did not work so well for you. A large number of properties within the heart of St Ives are traditional fisherman's cottages. They are packed full of character inside and out, but often a little smaller and layouts more quirky than in more modern buildings. We always try to be as open and honest as possible, so whilst it can accommodate 5, with 2 double bedrooms and a twin bedroom, we try to give an accurate representation of the size and layout of all properties within our photos and descriptions, when mentioning that, this property may be more comfortable for a smaller party of 4.

We are glad to hear the building works did not affect your stay in anyway, but we will continue to monitor this closely going forward until the works are completed.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back for another stay in the future. Phoebe, Customer Services

We have just returned from a weeks stay in Polly's cottage

Firstly I would like to say that all members of the AspectHoliday team I have dealt with in recent days have been professional,understanding and engaged in my comments.

As a group of 5 (3adults /2 young children 5and 9) we found the configuration of the cottage unsuitable and misrepresented in its description.

For reasons beyond our control Polly's was an altered booking. Our original choice, had been selected, and most of the cost paid for it to be cancelled at late notice leaving little choice available as a replacement. Pollys cottage read well, in the area we wanted to be and the pictures on the website led us to believe it would suit our requirements and work.

What is not clear from the website is the position of the 3rd bedroom. “Ground floor” we assumed was the same level as the kitchen/ living space, so we believed the children would be fine just below the upstairs bedrooms. That bedroom is actually the basement of the cottage. Accessed by 2 sets of narrow stairs from the lounge area. Isolating young children from the main body of the house.It also has doors that lead out to an alleyway and windows that have no blinds or coverings. The beds are small 2’6” width. We found it unsuitable for the children on safety grounds so 2 of the adults used that area and one of the children shared with their parent. It was uncomfortable and somewhat damp.

There is no suitable dining space in the cottage for more than 2 adults at a time. The sofas in reality are 2 seater and we did not like the reliance on extension leads and adapter sockets to make the electric appliances functional.

It is a reasonably priced cottage. Close to all st Ives has to offer. It would be ideal for 2-3 people to stay in reasonable comfort if it benefited from some updating and maintenance

My advice after this experience would be to ring the Aspect team to get a frank opinion of any property you may wish to book for your group as pictures and descriptions do not always live up to expectations.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review of Polly's Cottage, it's great to hear that you have found the team helpful and understanding. We are sorry that your original booking at an alternative property was cancelled due to unique circumstances, and as we said at the time, we are incredibly apologetic for the inconvenience this caused.

It is a shame that you found Polly's Cottage to be unsuitable for your family, as this is never something we want to hear. We try to make it as clear as possible on the property description that the cottage is set over three floors, with bedroom three being downstairs. Each set of guests staying at the property will have various party member set-ups, so we hope that the three bedrooms at Polly's help offer flexible sleeping arrangements. Although located on the bottom floor, the third bedroom is still connected to the main body of the house, with a flight of stairs between the living areas and bottom bedroom. We can appreciate that this may not be suitable for all situations, but we try to advertise this clearly.

We also describe the seating arrangements as being more suitable for four people, despite sleeping six, as we know this is an important factor to take into consideration. However, following our conversations with you we have updated the property description to make it clearer that it is spread over three floors. Properties in such a prime coastal location are susceptible to damp and condensation, due to the warm and humid conditions. This can unfortunately cause condensation to form very quickly in properties, so we ask for help minimising this by airing the property regularly.

Once again, we appreciate your time and patience while we looked into the points you raised following your stay, and we always encourage guests to get in touch with us before booking should you have any questions about particular properties. Our bookings team are always more than happy to help advise on what may be suitable for your group. Katy, Customer Services.

Lovely cottage in a super location just 2 mins from the beach and 5 mins from town. Lots of nice eateries close by.

Lovely cottage and great location.

Polly’s Cottage is a compact and cute fisherman’s cottage that provided an ideal base for our holiday. We loved being so close to wonderful Porthmeor beach and just a couple of minutes from all the towns amenities.

Location was perfect to get to the harbour and beaches but still being secluded enough to have quiet evenings. The cottage had everything we needed for the weeks stay. Despite some minor changes (mattresses) I would definitely go back to Pollys cottage

My family returned for another stay at this lovely cottage. It’s cosy and warm, brilliantly located for Porthmeor and Porthgwidden beaches and a gentle stroll into town. There were five of us in our party and Polly’s easily accommodated us. The beds are comfortable and you can hear the sea as you drift to sleep. We will definitely be back!

Beautiful cottage a stones throw from the beach

Poor rating.

Lovely little cottage in a great location handy for the town with nearby super restaurants and access to the beaches. There is even a small front garden - handy for morning coffee!

We really enjoyed our stay in Polly Cottage especially the location,I could hear the waves at night and have my morning coffee on the beach. Cozy and comfortable. Can't wait to come back. Can't fault the service from Aspects from start to finish. Thankyou.

Thank you aspects great service. Polly's cottage lovely location but very small . Sofa need upgrading

Reply from Aspects Holidays

With its 3 bedrooms, the owners have tried to offer flexible sleeping arrangements to sleep up to 5 people. The amount of space may not work for all parties at maximum occupancy. For many though, this property is a really popular choice and a favourite to return to, with its amazing location, just steps from one of the best beaches here. We have tried to show the space and seating/sleeping arrangements as clearly as we can within the website photos and description, so we do hope that this was all as you had expected. Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments and we hope that you enjoyed your time here. Tanya, Customer Services.

Perfect week at Polly's cottage. Excellent location, steps away from the beach. Public car park just up the road, we were lucky to have no problem getting a space. Cottage was comfortable with everything we needed, we will be rebooking for another stay.

We had yet another wonderful stay at Polly's cottage. Clean, comfortable and cosy. The location is perfect for accessing the beach. The dogs loved it. Can't wait to return again.

We returned to Polly’s Cottage again for another wonderful stay. It’s so warm and welcoming, with super-comfy beds, cosy living room and small but perfectly equipped kitchen. Being so close to Porthmeor Beach, Porthgwidden Beach and The Island is lovely and the stroll into town was easy. We love staying here and will definitely be back.

Brilliant location for access to the beach and St Ives shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay again. Not for light sleepers due to close proximity to the beach and foot traffic particularly at night. Outside tap and absolute bonus for rinsing wetsuits etc.

We loved our recent stay in Polly's cottage, Porthmeor road. It was easy to access, in an ideal position, and very comfortable and clean. It was lovely and cosy too. The added bonus for us - is that it's also doggy friendly. So, good times all round.!!!

Cottage was in a perfect location for the beach and a very short walk to the harbour, shops and restaurants. Cost effective break for a small family

Great location, front courtyard very handy for outdoor equipment. Lovely sea view in one bedroom where I could hear the waves as I slept.

Great location 2 minutes to the beach 5 minutes to the shops and pubs Great value for money

We loved Polly’s cottage. So close to the beach you could hear the see. Lovely and cosy, romantic even! Comfy beds. Bathroom was clean and well appointed. Nice having sinks in the bedrooms too.

I’d love to return again!

Great location, however extremely poor accommodation that was dirty and in need of a total overhaul. Unfortunately I could not recommend this property.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to read that you would not recommend Polly's Cottage and that you feel the property needs a total overhaul. The property has recently had its inspection and the owner is in the process of updating many aspects of the property following on from guest's feedback. We hope that we will see you again. Lucy, Customer Services

Fantastic cottage right next to the beach . Lovely courtyard to sit in and watch the world go by .

There was no hot running water and a technician had to come out twice. Dodgy toilet seat. Bathroom fan didn’t work. When we arrived after 5 pm the cleaners were still in there and although we didn’t rush them out the place was very dirty. Not what you need after a 6hr journey. There was old Elastoplast,old sweets and tissues etc on the floor in the bedrooms. Sofas were very dirty needed updating and replacing Like most of the furniture. Everything felt sticky and dirty. Bin outside was overflowing with rubbish before we put it out for collection. Hairdryer was extremely old and overheated after 30 seconds of using. The photos made the cottage look a lot bigger than it was.most of lamps were broken. The place smelt bad and fusty especially the downstairs bedroom. There was no tiles on the kitchen floor just some kind of underlay that was filthy. The tiles where however under one of the beds! I don’t believe it was finished to high enough standard to be let out and charged over £1100 a week for. I have stayed with Aspects previously and would have highly recommend them before, but on this occasion I’m very disappointed

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so sorry for what you experienced on this occasion. We have spoken over the phone since receiving your review and having booked with us before, we hope that you will know that this kind of thing is not the norm. We have spoken to the owner of the property and are pleased to report that all your points have been addressed or are in the process of being addressed. If any areas were not as clean as you would expect, we can only apologise but the 'sticky' feeling that you mentioned is likely due to the fogger that the housekeeping team use to sanitise all room surfaces on changeovers. We are sorry if that gave you extra cause for concern on top of the other issues. Thank you for letting us know so that we have been able to follow up on the areas highlighted and we hope that with what we have discussed since, you feel a little more reassured about things. Tanya, Customer Services

Wonderful holidays in well located Polly's cottage. We love St Ives!

A delightful little cottage in an excellent location, so close to the beautiful Porthmeor Beach, Harbour, and restaurants.

Polly's Cottage is a lovely old cottage of some age. It is very nicely situated for the island and just around the corner from Porthmeor Beach. Porthgwidden and the Harbour beaches are just a short stroll away. It has a sweet front garden and and the stable front door allows the lounge to extend into the garden. The cottage has all the amenities needed to enjoy a stay in St Ives and is situated with good access to town with some excellent local restaurants on the doorstep.

we had a wonderful holiday , a fantastic location but the cottage is to small for 6 people so should be priced accordingly

Reply from Aspects Holidays

With its 3 bedrooms, including a double, small double and a twin room, this property can sleep up to 6. The owners have tried to offer flexible sleeping arrangements for guests, and whilst it can sleep 6, the amount of seating and space may not work for all parties of 6 and we feel is more suited to parties of 4, so we try to make this as clear as possible within the description and photos, and this is taken into account within the pricing. We are sorry if this was not what you had expected as we would always want guests' expectations to be met, if not exceeded. We are delighted to read that you had great holiday still and if you are ever looking to return to Cornwall, please do not hesitate to get in touch with the team so that we can help you in finding something that will give you the space that you require next time. Tanya, Customer Services

Nice Cosy Cornish Cottage..Great Location With In St Ives, Excellent Sea Views From The Back Bedroom,Great Access To Porthmeor Beach.. Location Ideal Just A Short Walk To All Amenities What Are Needed For Your Stay. Thanks

We had a great time at Polly's Cottage. Would have liked a free parking spot, but the Island Car Park was just 100 yards away and we managed to get a spot, even after a day out in the car. Not sure how this would have worked out in the height of summer, though. Brilliantly placed for Porthmeor Beach, The Harbour, Porthgwidden and the town centre. Would definitely come back.

Lovely cottage clean and tidy everything you need. close to beach and town Carpark short walk away would highly recommend we loved it

Polly’s cottage is in a Lovely location, I can imagine in the summer with the beach on your doorstep it would be perfect. Very clean and very comfy beds. We had a lovely holiday, and Aspect staff were very friendly and supportive. Many thanks ??

A lovely, warm, welcoming cottage in a fantastic location, backing onto gorgeous Porthmeor Beach. It’s compact but cosy and the bedrooms are all good sizes with super-comfy beds. You can hear the sea from every room and the seating area at the front of the cottage is a lovely addition. The five of us (including our four-year-old daughter) had a wonderful, comfortable stay and we will definitely return to Polly’s Cottage again.

This property is a real let down. It’s location is the best thing about it. The whole place needs a total facelift, starting in the garden. Very disappointed

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were so sorry to hear this, and have since inspected the property and spoken with the owner. A member of the team has been in touch with you already but we are pleased to report that the owner has had trades in to decorate and undertake some other maintenance work. We are pleased to also report that the bathroom will be undergoing a full refurbishment later in the year. Thank you for getting in touch to let us know; we do inspect the properties, but there can be a lot that changes in a short time and we will always work closely with property owners to ensure that the properties continue to meet expectations and are priced accordingly for the facilities on offer. Tanya, Customer Services

Only one point to make the blind in one of the bedrooms the one facing the roadside had a broken slat on it and it was thick with dust, the rest of the cottage was spotless. The location was perfect, the cottage was very quaint and cosy and the beds were really comfortable

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are really sorry if any areas had not been up to the usual high standards. We have since had trades attend to the blind to repair this, and are very sorry if it had not been cleaned properly for your arrival. Thank you for letting us know. Tanya, Customer Services

Love the location - perfect for capturing Porthmeor sunsets and the little front garden for a coffee and chatting to passers by. Going to sleep with the sound of crashing waves. A very sweet cottage close to the town but in a relatively quiet position.

Easy weeks holiday, relaxing little cottage. Very clean. Been twice now & cant wait till the next time.

Great location but in need of plumbing update and bathroom is in need of updating

Reply from Aspects Holidays

When you are staying in a property, you get to experience things in a different way to how we do, when we inspect them, so your feedback is really helpful, thank you. We have passed on your comments about the bathroom and plumbing update to the owner, for his consideration, and will also add that to our inspection notes, to look into. Thank you again. Tanya, Customer Services.

Great little cottage in a fabulous location and dog friendly. Thank you Aspects very good service ??????

A lovely cosy cottage, very convenient for the town and beaches. Overall well decorated and equipped with everything you could need for a happy holiday.

Excellent location

Nice clean property , excellent location for dog owners , for the money hard to fault ,would stay again.

Wonderful location, Doggy guests welcome and the ease of everything set up and easy to use. Made to feel very welcome and the cottage was cosy making our stay very comfortable. Thank you for the welcoming Wine, Biscuits teas and coffee this was a lovely touch! The kids gave it a big thumbs up often nipping around the corner to play on the beach!

This comfortable little cottage, in its excellent location near the beach is perfect for a dog owning family. We will be staying again!

Lovely fisherman's cottage ideally located for Porthmeor and Porthgwidden beaches. It has a small front garden which offers additional privacy and utility. Lovely to hear the sea from the cottage and also to see if from one of the bedrooms.

First time we have been disappointed about booking through Aspect Holidays. Sorry if you feel the comments are unfavourable but it is an honest repsonse.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for sending in your review. We genuinely apologize for the fact that you found the condition of the property to fall below your expectation and your previous experiences with Aspects. We visited the cottage during your stay and placed the new TV and rugs in the property, reporting our findings to the owner at the time. He has since carried out a bit of a refurbishment including new laminate flooring and soft furnishings. I am aware that we have since spoken with you about your feedback but thank you again for bringing your comments to our attention. Tanya, Customer Services.

Not likely, I don't want anyone else finding this dog-friendly cottage in the best location in St Ives!