Menu
Open today until 6pm 01736 754242

Reserve your summer holiday for just £40! Find out more >

23 The Digey - St Eia
Downalong, St Ives

£453 - £1193 per week
Book

St Eia is a cosy little sanctuary, full of character and in an impeccable location on The Digey, merely a ten second walk to Porthmeor beach, where you can watch some breathtaking sunsets after taking a dip in the clear blue waters. Within minutes you can also be strolling along the harbour front, where you can find local fishing trips, speed boats, ice cream, pasties and superb restaurants, bars and boutiques; there is plenty to do to keep all ages entertained. This bijou cottage exudes Cornish charm and has recently been updated throughout. It is in the heart of this bustling seaside town and is ideal for couples or small families; you can come and go as you please and is the perfect base all year round.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Double

Bedroom 2

Bunk beds

Entrance

via The Digey, door into:

Sitting/dining/kitchen area

sofa, wooden armchair, TV, electric glow effect fire, table with seating for four, washer/dryer, dishwasher, fridge with freezer compartment. Stairs to first floor landing with doors to:

Bedroom 1

double bed.

Bedroom 2

bunk beds.

Shower room

shower, WC, basin.

Additional information

gas central heating, St Eia is a 17th-century property with steep stairs and uneven flooring. While full of charm, it is not suitable for toddlers or those unsteady on their feet, hooks are provided within the shower to hang wetsuits, WiFi, one well behaved dog welcome, short breaks available.

 
 

St Eia is a lovely compact property in a fantastic location. It might feel very compact for four people but for the two of us it was great. Comfortable bed and furnishings and mostly everything you’d need. No hair drier (but can get one from the Aspects office a short two minute walk away) and would be good if wind breaks were provided as Porthmeor beach can get quite breezy!

June 2022

Our stay at 23 The Digey was absolutely fantastic. The cottage itself was charming, homely, well equipped and decorated to a high standard in keeping with the property style. However it's most outstanding feature is the location, just seconds from the nearest beach and within a couple of minutes of shops, bars, restaurants and museums. We really appreciated the tea, coffee and biscuits on arrival, such a thoughtful gesture. Overall the cottage was amazing and it seems petty to mention the following, however it may help someone decide whether the property is suitable for their needs.

Just a couple of small problems, if you like it dark when you sleep you might want to check whether the blind has been changed before booking as the streetlight opposite is very bright and illuminates the bedroom where the blind doesn't overlap the edges of the window. Secondly, due to the lack of a solid handrail on the stair wall this property may not be suitable if you have mobility issues, I have arthritis in my knees and hips and found I had to be quite creative to get up and down safely.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

April 2022

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Downalong

One of the most popular areas of St Ives, Downalong is an idyllic spot for a seaside retreat. Overlooking the picturesque Harbour beach and just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Porthmeor and Porthgwidden, and the iconic Tate St Ives. Meander along cobbled lanes, dotted with traditional fisherman's cottages, and admire this quintessential corner of Cornwall.

Steeped in history, Downalong is a timeless haven that captures the fishing heritage and thriving art community of this enchanting area of St Ives. With all that St Ives has to offer on your doorstep, spend endless days exploring the sandy shores, stunning coastal paths and bustling harbourside.

Did you know...

Downalong is a historic Cornish term for an area of harbourside fisherman's cottages 'down along the harbour'?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

This property is all about location. But that does mean it's very busy outside the door. Crowds from 8am until midnight!! It was school holidays and lovely weather. The kitchen is lovely, the bathroom could really benefit from a refit. It really is quite small but we managed ok with 2 young children.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the central location of 23 The Digey - St Eia. As you said it's great having everything that St Ives has to offer right on your doorstep, but being so close to all the restaurants, cafes, beaches and so on means that you can sometimes hear associated noise, especially in peak times. This property can comfortably sleep 4, with its double and bunk-bed bedrooms, but may not offer the amount of space that some parties of 4 would want, so we try to give an accurate representation of the size and layout of the property within our photos and descriptions. Your feedback regarding the bathroom has automatically been passed along to the owner for their consideration, so thank you for your thoughts - it's great that you had a lovely stay. Katy, Customer Services.

We have been staying in Aspects properties for close to ten years now, and this was the worst property we have stayed in by far. Appreciate all cottages in Downalong are small/ish. But this is really tiny, not even really suitable for a family of four for living space. The photos make it seem significantly bigger than it is.
The decor is very tired and could do with a refresh. The sofa smelt quite unpleasant, and overall it didn't feel particularly clean or well maintained.

Bit disappointed, we still had a lovely holiday, but found we were actively avoiding spending time in the cottage.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were sorry to hear of your disappointment. Whilst there are enough beds to sleep up to 4, it is a small traditional fisherman's cottage in the heart of St Ives, so the amount of space available may not suit all parties of 4. We try to show the space as best as possible in the photos, so we are sorry to hear that this was not what you had expected. We passed on your feedback to the owners and following a later inspection by the team, we can confirm that the owners have attended to the paintwork throughout the property, upgraded light switches to polished steel, added spot reading lights in the main bedroom and they are replacing the blind in the main bedroom. A lot can happen in a property in a short space of time, so guest feedback is really appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to send this in. Tanya, Customer Services

A cute cottage p, small but great for two people. Really close to beaches and shops. The stairs would be tricky for an older couple we found the rope was not enough for us to balance......a solid stair rail would have been easier for us.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here. We try to show the style of banister as best as possible on the website photos and warn about the stairs on the description, so that guests can decide whether this will suit their party, so we do hope that this was what you had expected. We will certainly pass on the suggestion of a solid banister to the property owners, for their future consideration though. Tanya, Customer Services

St Eia is a lovely compact property in a fantastic location. It might feel very compact for four people but for the two of us it was great. Comfortable bed and furnishings and mostly everything you’d need. No hair drier (but can get one from the Aspects office a short two minute walk away) and would be good if wind breaks were provided as Porthmeor beach can get quite breezy!

Our stay at 23 The Digey was absolutely fantastic. The cottage itself was charming, homely, well equipped and decorated to a high standard in keeping with the property style. However it's most outstanding feature is the location, just seconds from the nearest beach and within a couple of minutes of shops, bars, restaurants and museums. We really appreciated the tea, coffee and biscuits on arrival, such a thoughtful gesture. Overall the cottage was amazing and it seems petty to mention the following, however it may help someone decide whether the property is suitable for their needs.

Just a couple of small problems, if you like it dark when you sleep you might want to check whether the blind has been changed before booking as the streetlight opposite is very bright and illuminates the bedroom where the blind doesn't overlap the edges of the window. Secondly, due to the lack of a solid handrail on the stair wall this property may not be suitable if you have mobility issues, I have arthritis in my knees and hips and found I had to be quite creative to get up and down safely.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Absolutely perfect location Unsuitable for children, elderly and people with disabilities. Cleanliness was not up to standard. Had a wonderful holiday

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Being a traditional St Ives fisherman's cottage, they are often a little smaller and layouts/stairs more quirky and steeper than in more modern buildings, but packed full of character. We always try to be as open and honest as possible and so include information in the website description to help guests make the most informed decision about whether the property will be suitable for all the party, so we hope that this was what you had expected. We were sorry to hear that you found the cleanliness not up to standard and had we known at the time, we would have had the housekeeper return immediately to address any concerns. The feedback on cleaning here has always been very good in the past, but having now received your comments, we will ensure that this is closely monitored, so thank you for highlighting this. Tanya, Customer Services

We had a wonderful stay at 23 the Digey. The location is perfect and the beach couldn’t have been closer. We would love to come back to this cottage. It has everything you need for a lovely family holiday.

Location, location, location! Beautifully renovated, compact but very comfortable cottage in a perfect spot for everything you could want in St Ives. It was lovely to be able to hear the waves crashing onto Porthmeor beach and be just meters away for a quick surf check!