Opening at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Sandy Bay - Carrack Gladden Apartments
Carbis Bay

£698 - £2054 per week

Situated just above Carbis Bay beach, this penthouse apartment commands breathtaking views from most of its rooms. The apartment has the benefit of an en suite bath or shower room for each bedroom, making it ideal for families or couples who welcome plenty of living space. Sandy Bay has balconies on the front and rear of the property, allowing guests to take advantage of the sun at any time of the day.

For guests wanting to explore St Ives, Carbis Bay station and the pretty coastal train route is situated just a couple of minutes' walk away.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1


Bedroom 2


Bedroom 3



from communal entrance at ground level, up one flight of steps. Door into apartment hallway, cloakroom with WC and basin, spiral cast stone staircase rising to first floor and bedrooms 1 and 2.

Sitting/dining room

comfortable seating for six people, TV/DVD, music system, sliding door leads out to a small balcony with sea views.


electric oven, gas hob, dishwasher, washer/dryer, fridge/freezer, archway to dining area with sea views, door leading out to rear facing balcony with patio furniture.

Bedroom 1

twin beds, en suite with shower, WC and basin, sliding doors to rear facing balcony.

Bedroom 2

double bed, en suite with bath with shower attachment, WC and basin, door to balcony with sea views.

Bedroom 3

twin beds, en suite shower room, WC and basin, sliding door to balcony.

Additional information

gas central heating, private parking, garage for surfboard and beach gear only, landscaped gardens leading to Carbis Bay beach, sorry no children under 5 WiFi, short breaks available.


I fully recommend Sandy Bay apartment there is lots of room for six people and the views are fab. Aspects holidays who manage many apartments in the area are very helpful and make sure all their properties are a good standard

October 2023

I have been using Aspect Holidays for many years and have always been very pleased with the accommodation I have rented from a very very large selection properties, and I will continue to deal with them for as long as I can.

November 2022

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Low Occupancy

Discounts for smaller groups are available outside of peak weeks.

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Carbis Bay

If you’re looking for a holiday away from the hustle and bustle of St Ives, then consider Carbis Bay, offering a quieter location for guests. Enjoy outstanding views, relaxing on the golden sandy beach and walking the coastal path, which is perhaps the most beautiful stretch in the county.

Choose a holiday in Carbis Bay and you’ll be spoilt by endless views and a sweeping coastline. Spend your days relaxing on the beach, or walk the coastal path into St Ives. Located between Hayle and St Ives, you’ll be spoilt for places to visit, from endless golden beaches, to Cornish cafes and family attractions.

Top tip

Take a ride on the St Ives branch line, one the most picturesque train journeys in Britain!

Carbis Bay beach

A holiday in Carbis Bay means you’ll have one of the most beautiful beaches just a short walk away from your holiday cottage. With crystal-clear turquoise waters, enjoy swimming and other watersports, with kayaks and paddleboards available to hire from the watersports centre at the beach. You’ll also be in close proximity to the golden sandy beaches at Lelant and Hayle and the popular beaches in St Ives; you could try a different beach every day of the week!

Walks in Carbis Bay

Leave the car at home and take the 20 minute walk into St Ives, enjoying the views along the way. This gentle walk is a must at least once during your stay.

For nature lovers, the Steeple Woods Nature Reserve is home to an abundance of wildlife and plants. Relax and explore the forty acre space which overlooks St Ives.

For the more adventurous soul, the St Michael’s Way is a 12.5 mile trek starting at nearby Lelant, and finishing up at the stunning St Michael’s Mount in Marazion. If the walk back doesn’t seem too appealing, you can always ride the open-top bus all the way back!

Previous Next


Tom Bawcock's Eve, Mousehole

Every year, the people of Mousehole celebrate the bravery of Tom Bawcock. Years ago, when the boats couldn't get out in the storms, the villages had no fish to eat. Tom dared to take his boat out and returned with enough fish to make a Star Gazey fish pie for the whole village.

23rd of December, 2024

Find out more >

Montol Festival

Each year, the people of Penzance celebrate the Winter Solstice with a festival of Cornish tradition, torch processions, and dancing through the streets. It's a truly wonderful celebration. 

21st December 2024

Find out more >

Penzance Literary Festival

Popular with visitors and locals alike, this exciting festival celebrates everything literary, including spoken, written, recited and sung word. Take part in the reading and writing discussions and activities and enjoy the many performances.

2nd - 6th July 2024

Find out more >

New Year's Eve in St Ives

Spend New Year's Eve in St Ives for an unforgettable evening at the largest fancy dress party in the county. Ring in the New Year with an unbeatable fireworks display by the sea. 

31st December 2024

Find out more >

St Ives Feast Day

Feast Day offers visitors the chance to witness, and even join in with, a centuries-old tradition. The Mayor 'Hurls the Silver Ball' into the crowd on the beach below. The one who returns the ball to the Guildhall steps by midday receives a silver coin. 

5th February 2024

Find out more >

Golowan Festival - Penzance

Golowan Festival is an annual arts event that celebrates local culture and community. This year the theme will be 'Back to the Future!

21st - 30th June 2024

Find out more > 

Mousehole Christmas Lights

Possibly the most well-known and popular Christmas Lights in the county, Moushole combines stunning displays against the backdrop of their gorgeous Cornish fishing harbour to bring real festive magic to all who visit at this special time of year. Read More >

December 2024

Find out more >

St Ives Food & Drink Festival

Growing in size and popularity, the St Ives Food Festival features top chefs, quality Cornish goods, sandcastle competitions for children and food demonstrations.

TBC 2025

Find out more >

Porthleven Food & Music Festival

The small Cornish fishing village of Porthleven hosts its annual Food & Music Festival every April and encorporates street performers, a range of local produce, Samba dancing, theatre, beer marquees, hip-hop dancers, fireworks, Cornish singing & much, much mmore...the list is endless!

26th - 28th April

Find out more >

St Ives September Festival

Now becoming a sellout event, this festival keeps attracting more and more visitors who come to enjoy a wide range of acts, including music, theatre, poetry and visual arts.

14th - 28th September 2024

Find out more >

Camborne Trevithick Day

Join in the celebrations at this community led festival. The annual event celebrates the engineering and mining history of the Camborne area, and is dedicated to Richard Trevithick, pioneer of high pressure steam power & inventor of Road and Railway Locomotives.

27th April 2024

Find out more >


St Ives

St Ives is a stunning seaside town that is only a 30 minute walk along the coastal path and easily reached through one of the most memorable and scenic train rides in the UK. The town is a thriving mixture of restaurants, galleries, quirky little shops, as well as brands we all recognise, and of course home to four stunning beaches. Spend a day exploring before retiring to Carbis Bay and relaxing in the comfort of your own home from home.

Paradise Park

Paradise Park is the perfect place for a day out with the kids. Home to over 650 birds including owls, flamingos and toucans, as well as an array of other wildlife, Paradise Park is only a few miles from Carbis Bay and hosts a variety of educational and fun events for children and adults alike to get involved with.

St Michael's Mount

Named as ‘the jewel in Cornwall’s crown’, St Michael’s Mount is a must-see on any visit to Cornwall. Take a short drive to the opposite coast and visit this famous landmark. Adventure across the cobbled causeway by foot at low tide, or climb aboard the ‘St Michael’ amphibious vehicle at high tide. Why not take a look at our live webcam of St Michael's Mount?

West Cornwall Golf Club

Considered one of the finest courses in Cornwall, almost every hole at West Cornwall Golf Club provides panoramic views of St Ives Bay. With a variety of weather conditions at different times of the year, your abilities are sure to be tested! You can even indulge in a well-deserved, post-round drink and meal at the clubhouse which overlooks the first tee. 


Visit Scarlet Wines in the nearby village of Lelant for a wide selection of locally sourced gourmet products. Perfect for a picnic at the beach or for stocking up supplies in your holiday cottage. 

With so much within easy reach of Carbis Bay, there will never be a dull moment whilst staying here.

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

I fully recommend Sandy Bay apartment there is lots of room for six people and the views are fab. Aspects holidays who manage many apartments in the area are very helpful and make sure all their properties are a good standard

Had a lovely holiday in an apartment with wonderful views! In our opinion it does need some TLC but it didn't spoil our week, the position of the apartment is great and handy for the little town train into St.Ives.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed Sandy Bay. Those views really are something special, aren't they? You could lose hours sitting there watching the world go by! We are very sorry to hear that you had felt that there were some areas needing a bit of attention. We will certainly look into this and work with the owner on any suggested improvements. Katy, Customer Services.

Location of this property is fantastic and the view is outstanding. We loved having the train just behind us, although we only used it once, preferring to walk to St Ives. With 3 balconies to choose from and 3 en-suite bedrooms there is plenty of space. The apartment is a little dated but the view more than makes up for it. The only downside is we were unable to connect to the wifi which is only a D-link router. You can connect to BT hotspot though which was decent. (We only required wifi due to work) We loved our stay and look forward to staying here again!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are glad that you liked it there. We try to offer a wide range of properties that will suit the very varied tastes, styles and requirements of different groups of people, so this is not as modern as some properties but we hope that it is what you had expected from the photos. And we hope that the wifi was also expected from the description. We only advertise it as a mifi devide, which is not suitable for downloading and streaming. We appreciate that this will not be suitable for every guest, and it is very useful to know that a BT hotspot is available in that area if guests want to book this property, but require something more than the mifi provided with the property. Thank you for highlighting that. We hope that we will see you back here soon and thanks again for the feedback. Tanya, Customer Services

Location is excellent with amazing views and close to train station.

Property was ideal for us we are a family of 6 with 3 different generations holidaying together and we all had our own rooms and bathrooms.

There was an issue with the Wi-Fi where we had to buy from a BT hotspot as the internet was not reliable and not accessible a lot of the time. This was needed due to work commitments.

Some furniture was a little rundown - kitchen cupboards and patio furniture but overall this would not stop me from booking again.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

It's great to hear you had such a lovely stay at Sandy Bay, though we are sorry that the Mi-Fi device was intermittent during your time at the property. We can never guarantee a Wi-Fi connection, as it is subject to availability and network conditions, however if issues happen during your stay, we will always do our best to help whenever we can. Following the recurrence of this issue after your stay, the property owner is planning on replacing the Wi-Fi at the end of 2023. Your feedback regarding the fixtures and fittings of the property has automatically been passed along to the owner, and the property will be undergoing its yearly inspection where we can discuss any necessary improvements with the owner. Katy, Customer Services.

Wonderful location extremely comfortable flat with panorsmic sea views. Unfortunately, scaffolding work had been done and there was still scaffolding on rear terrace which we had to have removed. Scaffolding work had previously bern done on the seaward side and there was a lot of mess on the upstairs terrace which nobody had thought of cleaning. The flat could have been a lot cleaner. I think we just unlucku. I would return it's a lovely flat. Oh and wifi signal not that good you can't have two devices running at once. The positives are the bed was comfy, the kitchen ewuipment was good. The sofa is comfy and it is wonderful to sit and eat and watch the sea from dining room table.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were so sorry to hear of this, as neither us nor the owner had any awareness of this scaffolding going up there. Had we been aware before your arrival, we would have pre-warned you so that you could make an informed decision about your booking. We are sorry that we did not have that opportunity and for the resulting disappointment. The team were liaising with you at the time of your stay, to assist with this as best as possible, so we do hope that this was handled satisfactorily and that you still had a great time here. It certainly sounds like the property had otherwise worked well for you. Thank you for also letting us know about the wifi. We have passed that information on to the owner and we will monitor this going forward. Tanya, Customer Services

I have been using Aspect Holidays for many years and have always been very pleased with the accommodation I have rented from a very very large selection properties, and I will continue to deal with them for as long as I can.

A marvellous family holiday was had by three generations at Sandy bay, the second time we have done so. Wonderful views of Carbis bay .A lovely place to spend your summer.

Stayed at property for last 3 years and already booked for next year.Location and view would be hard to beat.

The property was in a great location with fantastic sea views with good interior decor and furnishings.Probably not ideal for small children because of the stone spiral staircase and the outside plastic chairs were not good, but overall we had a great stay there

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are glad to hear that you liked it there and thanks for the helpful feedback. We will have a look at the outside chairs when we are next there checking the property, but for now, your feedback has been passed on to the owners. The staircase is certainly something that may need to be considered for some, so we highlight on the website that it is spiral cast stone staircase so that guests can make an informed decision on that. The owners do not allow children under 5 anyway, but we appreciate that those with slightly limited mobility and older children may still not find that the stairs are suitable. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you back here in the future. Tanya, Customer Services

Apartment has stunning views of Carbis bay but the decor needs some attention. The dishwasher was broken when we arrived and no replacement was provided. The kitchen tap was hard to turn on and off. The front door was difficult to close securely. Otherwise ok but not as good as we had expected for the relatively high rental fee.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the dishwasher failed at the start of your holiday. The team tried to source one as quickly as possible, but required the owner's authorisation on this first, so it delayed the replacement until the day of your departure. We were sorry to then hear of the difficulty with the tap and front door. We will get those checked. Thanks for sending your thoughts on the decor. It is not the most modern and we try to show the style of decor as best as we can in the photos, but all feedback is passed on to owners for their future consideration, so thank you for sending in your thoughts. Tanya, Customer Services

We were disappointed with the property as we feel that it needs updating and a few items need replacing. The property is in a fabulous location close to the beach and station.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. I can see from our notes that the items that you had mentioned needed replacing were addressed while you were there, and the kettle that you informed us about after your stay, has now also been replaced. We are sorry that we had not been aware of these beforehand, so that we could have arranged replacements with the property owners before you had arrived. We hope that you still enjoyed it there. Tanya, Customer Services

Apartment very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Beach literally on doorstep. Would definitely book with Aspects Holidays again.

A fab, well equipped property in the perfect Cornish location just above Carbis Bay with great parking! The property has everything you need for your holiday and every bedroom has an en-suite. Just a couple of minutes walk from the coastal train stop into St Ives or alternatively to take the breathtaking coastal path. Located just above Carbis Bay, Sandy Bay has amazing views from the property from St Ives around to Godrevy Point. Aspects staff are very friendly and welcoming and are available to answer any questions you may have during your stay. Would love to return in the not-too-distant future!

We had a lovely family holiday, the view from the apartment was amazing! Great base for exploring Cornwall. The team at Aspects were very helpful. Thank you to all Mary x

Stunning location. Views amazing. Love the spiral staircase. So close to the beach, train station and also lovely walk to St ives. Some rooms need updating especially with the cost of apartment.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback; it really is in a fantastic location and those views of Carbis Bay are just stunning, aren't they? With a huge variety of properties, this apartment is not marketed as one of our higher end/modern properties, but it should always be well maintained, so we will certainly check on that on the next inspection. After such a long, busy season it may just be due a re-fresh to some areas, so please rest assured that your feedback, and comments from our inspection will all be passed on to the property owners. Thank you for the helpful comments and we hope to see you back soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Our stay at Sandy Bay was amazing! The location of the property is absolutely perfect. The views are fabulous from the second floor balcony and from the sitting/dining room. Loved the very short walk to the beach and walk into St Ives, although also used the train a couple of times, a two minute walk away to the station situated behind the apartment. The apartment itself was very well equipped with everything we needed and more. The addition of the Cornish tea, coffee and hot chocolate was a really nice touch. I probably would have expected more than one bath towel each but there was a washer/dryer so not a big issue. The bathroom in our bedroom could do with being updated with a shower over the bath rather than the hand held very old attachment. The other bedrooms had showers. None of the above took away from how fantastic this place is and we will definitely rebook in the future.

The views from this apartment are spectacular. What a fabulous location just about perfect very close to the beach / bay, very close to public transport and footpaths to St Ives and towards Hayle. The apartment's location is the best we've stayed in. Lounge / dining area is very comfortable the remaining areas need improving and a deep clean

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are very sorry if the standard of cleanliness was not to the usual high level that you would expect from the properties that we market; we can only apologise if any areas had been missed. Having now received this feedback, we will follow up on this with the cleaner, so thank you for letting us know. It was great to hear how much you enjoyed your time here in Carbis Bay and surrounding areas, we are just sorry that not everything was 100% for you. Tanya, Customer Services

Fabulous, large apartment with wonderful views of Carbis Bay and beyond. Regular train into St Ives is 5 minutes away and only costs £1 each way. However in order to get such a wonderful view the apartment is elevated and the hill down to the beach is steep! Most people had to stop for a swift breather on the way backup!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Unfortunately, most properties in Carbis Bay are perched high above the bay and so involves a steep walk back up from a day on the beach. It certainly keeps you fit but we are glad that you agreed that it was worth it. Those views really are special! Tanya, Customer Services

Aspects holidays are very good to deal with. Apartment looking a bit tired and bathroom showers need re grouting. Beautiful location, lovely beach and having parking a real advantage. Very close to railway station making easy access to St Ives.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic location of this apartment, though sorry to hear that the grouting needed attention and that you felt the property was a bit tired. We will speak to the housekeeper to check that the grouting doesn't just need an extra good scrub. If not, we will pass that on to the owner and your feedback about it being tired. It is not marketed to be a higher end property, but you should always expect it to be well maintained, so thank you for letting us know. Hopefully we will see you back in Cornwall again soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Excellent location with great views. Easy to book.

Poor parking

Broken facilities that weren’t fixed after promising to fix

Reply from Aspects Holidays

You really do get amazing views from there, don't you? We were sorry to hear that you had problems with parking. There isn't usually an issue with it there, with no real restriction on car size and there being more than enough available for the allocated 1 car per apartment. If you are ever staying here again and you experience a similar issue, please just get in touch with us so that we can help. We would again like to apologise for the washing machine not getting replaced while you were there. The new one was due to be installed mid-way through your stay but with the person due to install it unfortunately testing positive for Covid, he couldn't attend. It looks like the team had contacted you to keep you updated with what was happening, but we really were very sorry that as a result, this was not replaced while you were here. We hope that you still had a lovely time. Tanya, Customer Services

The location of this apartment is amazing. Incredible view across the bay, and only a 2minute walk to the beach (a bit longer home up the hill!). The storage space in the garage was an amazing bonus for all our beach kit too.

However we were disappointed with how cramped the space felt, and really feel that the whole apartment is in need of a complete modernisation and update. For such an amazing location it was a bit disappointing to come away on this much looked-forward-to holiday, to find old-fashioned decor, beds in need of replacement, and every room a squeeze to get in and out of!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were sorry to hear that this apartment was not what you had expected. It is not a large, modern apartment, so the layout, space and style of décor may not be to everyone's taste, but it had all been as shown in the photos when we last inspected the property. The style of decor is down to the individual owners, but we will most certainly pass on your feedback and see if they are considering any updates to the property. We will also very closely monitor any further feedback on the mattresses. It is very difficult to find mattresses that will suit the tastes of every individual, but if there are several comments on this, it is certainly something that would be checked and discussed with the owners. Thank you for letting us know. We hope that you still had a great holiday. Tanya, Customer Services

Luxurious apartment with outstanding views and everything you would need to feel at home. Sleeping with the sound of the waves and waking to the most beautiful views.

An excellent place to stay in all respects. We had a great holiday. Thank you.

Location, Location, Location.The view is amazing,easy access to beach and train station.Stayed there twice and cannot wait for 3rd visit.

Amazing holiday the views are fabulous, highly recommended apartment fully equipped.

Great location so close to the beach

Aspects service 10/10

We were extremely lucky to spend a week at Carrack Gladden over half-term just before the November lockdown. With stunning views across the bay (surfers - and seals!) access to the coastal path just and the St Ives train just outside the door the apartments are really extremely well situated. I can’t wait to visit again - imagine it’s packed in the summer, but no less beautiful.

The view from the Apartment is amazing, I never got bored of it !

Situated right near the train station making getting into St Ives very easy.

Well equipped apartment But some areas could do with an update.

Would stay again though as view was fabulous

Great well placed flat in excellent location with magnificent view

Sandy Bay is a well equipped appartment with breathtaking views which proved an ideal base for exploring West Cornwall. The owners have taken care to provide comfortable accommodation suitable for 3 generations. All in all an excellent holiday with easy access to a clean, safe beach and an array of water sports.

Stayed at the property for 5 nights and wow what a property, we had high expectations and it did not fail to deliver from the stunning views and the high standard of the property

Great location and 5 minute walk to the train station that takes you to St Ives

Already planning our next stay at this great property

Aspect Holidays is a good company unfortunately it was the accommodation that let them down.

Also Hayle is much better then carbis bay. Hayle location and facilities are much better to access.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were really sorry to hear that you had been disappointed with this property and location. We try to offer a range a properties that will suit the differing needs, tastes and budgets of individuals, so please do get in contact so that we can find out what you would like from your next holiday rental, and we will try to find something that will meet (or hopefully exceed) all your expectations. We have several properties in and around Hayle, so hopefully we can find you the perfect place! In the meantime, we will pass on any feedback and suggestions that you have from your stay at Sandy Bay, to the property owners. Thanks for taking the time to send in your comments and we hope to see you again soon. Tanya, Customer Services

A really lovely 3 bedroom apartment overlooking the beach and with the soothing sounds of the sea waves for a great relaxing holiday. Well appointed with car parking space and in very easy walking distance of both the beach and Carbis Bay train station only a 3 min ride from St Ives and £1 each way fare.

Lovely views of Carbis Bay from the lounge and two of the bedrooms. The sound of the waves is very restful. The train to St Ives stops outside the back of the building which is very handy and a spectacular coastal ride. Easy to walk down to the beautiful beach or to walk along the coastal path in either direction.

Excellent quality throughout with stunning views all around.

The location and views were fab but a very dodgy Wi-fi that worked one minute, and not the next. When it did work it took at least 5 minutes for an email or google page to load. Due to the uncertainty of English weather, children do have devices that keep them occupied on Wi-fi, and adults like to check emails or check out nearby restaurants etc which we were unable to do. The rooms are very small and do not have adequate storage. The children had to keep their clothes in piles on the floor or in their suitcases. The wardrobes were full of vaccines cleaners, cushions, ironing board etc. This lack of storage is not what we’d expect from paying such a large amount. We’d recommend taking your own towels, the ones provided are not at all pleasant.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We appreciate how important Wi-Fi is for planning days out and keeping in touch with family and friends when away and we are sorry that there were connection problems. This Wi-Fi here can be a bit slower than what many are used to as it is shared by 12 apartments and isn't suitable for downloading or streaming, but what you experienced, sounded like more like there had been a connection issue with the service provider. It doesn't seem to have been an issue since, but we have amended the property description so that it clearly warns of the service being shared and therefore slower and not suitable for downloading or streaming. We were also sorry to hear that the twin room wardrobe was full of all those items, whilst there may be some items stored in them, there should still be adequate space in there, so we have passed on this feedback to the property owner so that it can be rearranged to ensure usable space for their guests. Thank you for making us aware. We hope that despite your disappointment with these areas, you still had a great time here in this beautiful area and we hope to see you back in Cornwall again. Tanya, Customer Services

Stunning views, excellent location, good accommodation.

Great place to stay with unspoilt views of Carbis Bay beach. Comfortable beds. Great sitting eating breakfast watching the sea

Fantastic Location and Wonderful View of Carbis Bay Beach...Just Perfect!

Great location and the fact that all bedrooms are en-suite is a real bonus.

very comfortable with 3 bedrooms and en suite bathrooms !

The apartment was in a superb location and extremely well equipped for 3 generations

My party were highly impressed with the accomodation and would be pleased to recommend Sandy Bay to all families with active children. Many thanks.