Menu
Open today until 8pm 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Fisherman's Watch
Mevagissey

£544 - £1195 per week
Book

Fisherman's Watch sits upon the beautiful south Cornish coastline, where you can immerse yourself in the tranquillity of your surroundings, enjoying everything it has to offer. Inside you’ll find an open plan living area with wonderful sea views from the large floor to ceiling picture windows–perfect for watching the sunrise. Or, step outside onto the decked balcony, for superb sea views, the ideal place for a glass of wine, as you watch the boats come and go. Sleeping four, Fisherman's Watch offers families or couples the perfect coastal get away.

Perched upon the edge of Mevagissey, you can take the five minute stroll down to the harbour and explore all that Mevagissey has to offer. There are plenty of pubs, restaurants and cafes to cater to your appetite, or walk into Portmellon, where you can hire paddleboards and kayaks, then finish up with a local ale or cider from The Rising Sun, as you sit upon the waters edge.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Twin

Bedroom 2

Double

Entrance

access via communal hallway, with 24 steps down to the apartment, door to:

Entrance hall

four steps down to bedroom two and doors from entrance hall to:

Kitchen/dining room/sitting room

two sofas, TV, electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, sea views, patio doors to balcony.

Bedroom 1

twin beds, built in wardrobes, sea views, en suite shower room with WC and basin.

Bedroom 2

double bed, built in wardobes, sea views.

Bathroom

bath with shower over, basin and WC.

Outside area

table with two chairs. sea views.

Additional information

Apartments were built to take advantage of the cliff top position and the stunning sea views, therefore access to the building is level with the car park. Fisherman's Watch is accessed via three short flights of stairs (24 steps in total), therefore it may not be suitable for those with limited mobility. Not suitable for children under the age of 10. Please note parking is standard size, carport measurements 210 cms wide, 210 high.Please take care when parking in the allocated parking space (indicated by the letter L) which is nearest to the site entrance. It is generally best to drive past the space and then reverse keeping a close eye on your rear nearside along the wall and the wood encased drainpipe on the driver’s side. On arrival you might wish to park in one of the public spaces to unload luggage and park in the allocated space after unloading. WiFi, short breaks available.

 
 

We really enjoyed our stay at Fisherman's Watch, especially the spectacular views and peaceful location. A quick walk down to the harbour and shops and interesting places to visit in all directions. Although driving in and around Mevagissey is stressful. The flat is spacious and nicely furnished. It would be nicer to have the doublebed in the room with the en-suite bath.

April 2024

The apartment was fantastic and the view was breathtaking. We couldn't stop looking off to the horizon over the sea. Mevagissey is a great little harbour, limited for shops and eating, but lovely nonetheless. Having a parking space was great, it enabled us to get out and see lots of places. A great place, a fab holiday.

August 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Mevagissey

Stay in Mevagissey and you’ll be perfectly placed to explore all that the south coast of Cornwall has to offer. Take a ferry trip to Fowey, visit the Lost Gardens of Heligan or spend a day at the beach at the nearby Pentewan Sands.

Best known for its harbour and fishing boats, Mevagissey still boasts as being part of Cornwall’s thriving fishing industry. Fresh fish can even be bought from the hut on the harbour wall, located a short stroll from the village aquarium, once the lifeboat station. Wander around the harbour area, with its narrow streets, fascinating shops and galleries and recall its smuggling history, or just relax in the bars and restaurants and coves and on nearby beaches.

There is a ferry boat which runs from end of April to beginning of October from Mevagissey to Fowey three or four times a day (don’t miss the return journey!) – journey time about 35 minutes. You may be lucky and spot some playful dolphins!

Top tip

Scroll down and take a look at our live Mevagissey webcam 24/7!

Beaches near Mevagissey

Situated on the south coast, which is known for its balmy weather and beautiful blue seas, you won’t be short of beach days during your stay in Mevagissey.

Portmellon beach – Just over the hill from Mevagissey lies the pretty village of Portmellon with its perfectly sheltered, sandy beach. At low tide, you’ll find a fantastic stretch of sand ready and waiting for beach games, while high tide sees the waves lapping mere feet from the road.

Pentewan beach – A wonderfully large expanse of white sand that’s just down the road from the bobbing boats of Mevagissey, Pentewan is a stunning spot for some sunbathing and sea-bathing. You’ll also find plenty of opportunities for watersports, with windsurfing, kayaking and sailing all popular options.

Polstreath beach – Also known as Mevagissey beach, this pretty cove is a short coastal walk from the harbour of Mevagissey. The climb down might be on the steeper side but you’ll be rewarded with perfect swimming conditions and stunning views.

Gorran Haven beach – Alongside the gorgeous sandy beach at Gorran Haven, which is only a few miles from Mevagissey, you’ll find lots of lovely pubs and cafés where you can rest and refuel after a day in the waves.

You might also be interested in...

Walks around Mevagissey

There are some wonderful walks in and around Mevagissey, especially if you take the coastal path. You can head south to Gorran Haven, a small fishing village with a beautiful beach, just two miles from Mevagissey. Alternatively, if you travel north, you can head towards Pentewen, another small village with a lovely beach. From Pentewen, you can take the trail through the woods, or if you prefer, you can hire a bike from Pentewen to explore the woodland on wheels.

Previous Next

Events

Mevagissey Shanty Festival

The Mevagissey Shanty Festival showcases shanty and accapella groups from all over the UK. The event begins at 7pm on the Friday and will continue on the Saturday at 11am. The main stage at Mevagissey Activity Centre also features a Cornish beer festival.

11th - 13th October 2024

Find out more >

Mevagissey Feast Week

Celebrated since 1754, Mevagissey Feast Week is a celebration of food, music, dance and more. With a host of colourful events being held throughout the week, this is a festival not to be missed!

23rd June - 29th July 2024

Find out more >

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

We really enjoyed our stay at Fisherman's Watch, especially the spectacular views and peaceful location. A quick walk down to the harbour and shops and interesting places to visit in all directions. Although driving in and around Mevagissey is stressful. The flat is spacious and nicely furnished. It would be nicer to have the doublebed in the room with the en-suite bath.

The apartment was fantastic and the view was breathtaking. We couldn't stop looking off to the horizon over the sea. Mevagissey is a great little harbour, limited for shops and eating, but lovely nonetheless. Having a parking space was great, it enabled us to get out and see lots of places. A great place, a fab holiday.

Very comfortable accommodation. Well appointed in every way. The location also enjoys a spectacular balcony view of the village and coastline.

Just perfect for exploring the beautiful Mevagissey. The view from the balcony will not disappoint.

This apartment has a beautiful view and has so much potential. Unfortunately, it would benefit greatly from the single beds being upgraded as springs are starting to come through them and some general thought to what customers might benefit from. One example being that the dinner plates don't fit in the microwave!! Who'd believe it! Shame as we loved the apartment but just felt that no attention had been given to detail.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry if you had found the mattresses to be uncomfortable. We had a member of the team go over to check them upon reading this feedback, and whilst no springs were found to be starting to come through, they do need to be regularly turned, which was done while they were there. There has been no further feedback on this since, but we will keep a close eye on this. We also purchased new plates on behalf of the property owner. We are very sorry that this hadn't been picked up on previously. The team, having visited the property after your stay, worked with the owner, to make a couple of changes and additions to the property. They also had a little re-jig of the kitchen and sitting room. Thanks for letting us know your thoughts. We do take all feedback seriously, and we hope that you still enjoyed your time here. Tanya, Customer Services

Wonderful and peaceful location with a great view. Apartment is not quite on the latest standard with regard to appliances and the bathrooms, but absolutely sufficient unless you need the ultimate luxury experience. Kitchen is great and well equipped. Living room is spacious with two two-seater and non-too comfortable sofas. The allotted parking space is hardly usable for larger cars, and not usable at all for right-hand drivers, but there are easy workarounds on the premises, at least in off-season. Access road is narrow, but also no problem - oncoming drivers are generally cool and friendly. Overall great value and experience - we will definitively consider to come back.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are pleased you enjoyed that fantastic view from Fisherman's Watch and had a great time at the property. We aim to offer a wide range of properties that we hope will meet the different budgets, differing requirements and individual tastes of guests. We always try to ensure that the photos and descriptions are accurate, so we do hope that this was what you had expected. Thank you for your feedback regarding the car parking space too. Due to the space being the first one near the entrance against the wall, It is generally best to drive past the space and then reverse, keeping a close eye on your rear nearside along the wall and the wood encased drainpipe on the driver's side. If you ever have any concerns about parking before your stay please do get in touch and we'll be happy to provide parking space measurements whenever possible. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon. Katy, Customer Services.

In spite of the magnificent views sadly I would not stay there again! The apartment was not the cleanest and the decor a bit tired! Bathroom and shower room need updating, taps stiff and parts of the bath broken, windows jamming, heating system impossible to comprehend. Still we enjoyed our stay at Mevagissey.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are glad to hear that you had a great time here, despite your disappointment at a few areas of the property. We have followed up with the housekeeper and have since heard from the owners that they will be redecorating and updating areas of the property, so thank you for letting us know. We do hope that we will see you back in this lovely part of Cornwall again soon. Tanya, Customer Services

The location and view was perfect. 100% would go again. Apartment is very well appointed for a stay, especially the kitchen and all appliances were well maintained and clean.

This propery is in a very elevated position above Mevagissey. The apartment itself is situated at ground level. It provides all the facilities you need for an enjoyable break. Plenty of cutlery and crockery. It is easy for those without mobility issues to walk to the harbour. The road to the property is up a very narrow and steep hill, not recommended for nervous drivers. The parking space provided is also very compact, not suitable for larger cars. On a positive note, it was more than adequate for a short break in the quiet, winter months.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Unfortunately, many of the traditional fishing villages here in Cornwall were not designed for today's traffic and parking needs, so the streets in them can be quite narrow, and some may not feel confident driving larger vehicles around them. We try to include some information on the property description on our website, so that guests will have a bit of an idea of what to expect. Parking spaces are classed as being suited for average sized cars (within our literature, we give the guide of this as like a VW golf) unless we state otherwise. So, if you are thinking of bringing something larger, it is always best to check with the team beforehand. With the restricted amount of parking at properties in the village, we hope that having a guaranteed space at your property was something that you found to be convenient and was what you had been expecting from the information online. Tanya, Customer Services