Open today until 8pm 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Mermaid's Rest
The Wharf, St Ives

£564 - £1523 per week

Mermaid's Rest is a superb first floor apartment (from street level, but four storeys up from the wharf behind) boasting incredible views over St Ives harbour. The sitting and dining area benefit from having patio doors and a small balcony overlooking the bay and being situated on Fore Street, guests can enjoy an array of independent shops and restaurants right on their doorstep. From your early morning cuppa on the balcony watching the sunrise, to your late-night tipple at the end of day, you will never tire of the view. Uniquely for St Ives, the property also has a stair lift that goes from the communal entrance to the apartment door, use of this can be organised prior to your stay.

There's nothing like space and privacy to help you spend quality time together. Whether holidaying as a couple, or two friends, sometimes one bedroom can feel a little cramped, lacking the privacy you're used to. This two-bedroom, two-bathroom luxury apartment is marketed for a maximum of two people, however, if you are looking for accommodation for up to four people (two couples), why not book Starfish Dreams, the apartment above, as well and receive 10% discount. Please speak to the bookings team to apply this offer, or to discuss the possibility of occupancy for more than two people in Mermaid's Rest, which may be available at the discretion of the owners.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1


Bedroom 2



three external steps from Fore Street to the entrance, then staircase to the apartment. Door into small hallway with doors to all rooms.

Kitchen/dining/sitting room

two sofas, armchair, Smart TV with soundbar, dining table and six chairs, gas hob, electric oven, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher.

Bedroom 1

double bed


bath with separate shower, WC and basin

Bedroom 2

twin beds, en suite shower room with WC and basin.


whilst there are three steps up from street level into the communal entrance, with a stairlift from here to the apartment, the property may be suitable for guests with limited mobility.

Additional information

The apartment is located right in the very centre of town and is great for those who love to be at the heart of the action. However, please be aware that you will hear noise from the restaurants and pubs in the immediate area, especially during high season. Having restaurants below you (which is very handy!) also means you will often notice cooking smells during the day - depending on wind direction and with the balcony doors left open. For these reasons we think Mermaid's Rest is ideally suited to guests who want to be out and about, enjoying the apartment as a base for exploring the best of St Ives and Cornwall, rather than having a quiet home-from-home holiday. Gas central heating throughout, WiFi, short breaks available.


Another incredible stay at Mermaid’s Rest! We really didn’t want to leave… so much so that we’ve booked again. Thank you again for making us feel so at home

March 2024

Beautiful apartment , stunning views and spotlessly clean , thank you a lovely break In St Ives

March 2024

Part of Lighthouse Apartments

Sleeps up to 4 in 2 properties

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays at The Wharf

Many of our cottages at The Wharf overlook the working harbour of St Ives. Here you'll find fishing boats, a gorgeous sandy beach and in the summer season you can take advantage of the boat trips on offer. Home to The RNLI, The St Ives Lifeboat Station is close by and is a popular attraction with tourists.

The Wharf, otherwise known as St Ives harbour, is a hive of activity throughout the year. With a continual hustle and bustle on the water and along the harbour front, there is always plenty to do and see while self catering at the Wharf, even at the quieter times of the year.  It’s an ever changing scene so perfect for those artists among you. Don’t forget about the very sheltered, sandy Harbour Beach, a perfect sun-trap in the heart of town and a great place to find seaglass and sea pottery! As night falls at the end of another perfect day, St Ives comes alive with a selection of bars, restaurants and cafés to suit every pocket and every taste in a truly cosmopolitan atmosphere.

Top tip

Be careful of the seagulls when eating at The Wharf.

Things to do on The Wharf

Boat Trips

Why not enjoy the scenery by boat and explore the coastline with an excursion with St Ives Boat Trips. Fishing trips are available for those looking for a bit of adventure, or for a more relaxing experience, a visit to seal island lets you see seals basking on the rocks at certain times of year. 

Eating and Drinking

The Wharf is home to a wide selection of restaurants and cafes, serving up fresh fish and chips to gourmet burgers, with something to suit everyone. Enjoy an ice cream or Cornish pasty and watch the world go by on the harbour front, but remember to keep your wits about you; seagulls in St Ives are renowned for swooping in and stealing food right from your hands!

Smeaton's Pier

From here you'll get a stunning view of the harbour, and an up close view of the crystal clear waters. At the entrance to the pier you'll find St Leonard's Chapel; originally dedicated for local fisherman, it is now a museum and memorial for the fisherman of St Ives.

Lifeboat station

Home to the new £1.5 million lifeboat, the RNLI lifeboat station is a popular attraction for visitors to St Ives. The gift shop next door sells souvenirs where all profits go towards helping to save lives at sea. 

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Another incredible stay at Mermaid’s Rest! We really didn’t want to leave… so much so that we’ve booked again. Thank you again for making us feel so at home

Beautiful apartment , stunning views and spotlessly clean , thank you a lovely break In St Ives

Another fabulous stay at Mermaid’s Rest! We were visiting for a special occasion just before Christmas and the welcome decorations and Christmas tree were a lovely surprise. Mermaid’s is a home away from home at any time of year but St Ives in the festive season is magical. We can’t wait to come back next year!

Absolutely fantastic stay at Mermaids rest 10/10 the apartment was clean, spacious and very well equipped. I stayed with my 17 year old son in the October half term and it was perfect. Loved the central location. Watched the sun rice every morning and loved sitting in the evenings with the patio doors open listening to the sounds of st ives. Yes you can hear music from the bars and smells from the restaurants but that’s exactly what you expect from such a location, this didn’t bother us at all. Will definitely be booking another trip for 2024

Reply from Aspects Holidays

It's great to hear you had a lovely stay with your son - you couldn't ask for a better place to watch the sun rise each morning, and what a perfect view of St Ives harbour throughout the day! As you've mentioned, the property is right in the very centre of town, near lots of restaurants and bars, which may mean noise is heard occasionally alongside the smells of the local restaurants and cafes, but we hope you agree that it adds to being right in the centre of the action. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mermaid's Rest again! Katy, Customer Services.

Fabulous bolt hole right in the very centre of the hustle and bustle of the main shopping street. Very comfortable and well appointed. WE had another lovely stay here, thank you.

Lovely apartment in an excellent location over looking St Ives harbour with exceptional views. Unfortunately let down by tired lounge furniture and live plants that attract small black flies. Finally the exhaust fan from the Thai restaurant is constantly on from approximately 10.30 am until very late everyday churning out noise and not very pleasant smells.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the central location of the property, but as you have mentioned this positioning means that the smells and sounds of the nearby local restaurants and cafes are present at times. We try to make this as obvious as possible by detailing this in the property description, so that guests know what to expect and can make an informed decision on whether this is suitable for them, so we are sorry of this was not what you had expected. We are sorry to hear that you were left with the impression of the furniture being old or tired. The owner hasn't had the furniture that long but informs us that he had intentionally purchased vintage style furnishings to go with the style/look that they wanted for their property. He has also informed us that he will remove the cacti that these little black flies seem to settle on. Thanks for letting us know. Aspects Holidays Customer Services

Perfect stay yet again! Already booked for next year's holiday! Beautiful apartment with wonderful views! Everything you need is in the apartment. All rooms are lovely! See you next year!

Have been using Aspects for years , excellent service and clear thorough explanations of the properties they advertise . Never had an issue with any property and if there was I’m sure it would be dealt with promptly .

Second visit to this wonderful sunny apartment. Very well equipped for a self catering holiday. View over the harbour is superb. Ideally situated so everything you would need is within walking distance. Would definitely book again with Aspects Holidays as their service is second to none.

Mermaid’s Rest was the perfect home from home for our 3 week stay in St Ives. Very spacious living area and everything you will need has been provided. The panoramic view is incredible and we’re already missing sitting watching the sea. We booked again for next year while we were here as we loved it so much!

Enjoyable second visit to Mermaids Rest. Beautiful, well equipped apartment with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Although weather mixed we managed to get out & about with all that St Ives has to offer. Would have been nice to have been informed of some roofing work being carried out during our stay. My husband got a shock one morning when a man walked past window along some scaffolding erected. Despite this would not hesitate to visit again in the future.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Welcome back to Mermaid's Rest! We are so pleased you had another lovely stay at the property, and explored everything the local area has to offer. We are incredibly sorry that you were not informed about some roofing work and scaffolding - we always aim to give guests as much notice about works as we can, but unfortunately in this case we were still waiting for information at the time of your stay, and we apologise profusely for this oversight. In the event that you were not informed about nearby building works, and you experience disruption, we would encourage you to get in touch with us during your stay, so we can investigate further for both you and future guests. We hope to welcome you back to St Ives very soon! Katy, Customer Services.

A great bolthole, in centre of St Ives, with fantastic views over the harbour, lots of eateries and shops right on the doorstep.

The accommodation is spacious and comfortable, with a full compliment of equipment in the integrated kitchen. The beds too, super cosy!!

At this time of year, the town is relatively quiet, so we enjoyed a peaceful few days. However, in the high season given the position of the property, it could potentially be quite noisy.

Would stay again -

Mermaid’s Rest has the most stunning views of the harbour and sea which take your breath away as soon as you walk into the apartment. The sunrises over the sea are spectacularly beautiful. The apartment itself is gorgeous, stylish and very comfortable. Lots of lovely detail. Hot water is on demand and the flat is nice and warm in winter with all mod cons. The flat is off the main street so no steep hills to climb - just one set of stairs once inside cyber front door. You may well hear some noise and music late at night especially at weekends but it’s not overwhelming and a small price to pay for a beautiful apartment with beautiful views. Loved my stay there.

Mermaids Rest is a gem in the middle of St Ives. It's a home as soon as you walk in the door. Even if it's raining there is so much to do. Books, games, Netflix, prime video all are there and easy to set up. Kitchen again well equipped. Comfy sofa and also sofa infront of the balcony to enjoy the view. Rooms are comfortable and the twin room is en suite. Location right in the middle of Fore Street. Restaurants and shops galore. Parking 5 mins away in Barnoon. By the Sea was fab for take away fish and chips on New Years Eve and watch the night unfold on the balcony and watch the spectacular fireworks. I even had a sing song with the cornish in The Sloop. Wonderful. Thank you all.

Mermaids Rest is a superb property - one of the best holiday properties I've ever stayed in. It is deceptively large, very well furnished and spotlessly clean. The description is very clear with regards its close location to restaurants and bars. This means you get the noise from extractor fans and cooking smells. But this hardly applied to us as we were there during 'the big freeze' of early mid December 2022 - so the balcony was rarely used and the windows stayed closed! It is something to be very aware of though if you are considering staying here in warm weather.

Have been coming to St Ives for 65 years and this is our fourth time this year, so we have stayed in lots of properties. This one is simply one of the best. Location is fantastic, and it is well equipped and furnished ,I shall be booking it again, very soon.

Very very Clean

Mermaid’s Rest is now my favourite apartment and I’ve stayed in lots of nice ones. Absolutely stunning views and a nice little balcony. Watching the sunrise every morning was a beautiful way to start the day. Could have happily sat by the balcony, looking at the changing views, all day. Tne apartment itself is very stylish, well equipped and comfortable. Loved it. You can hear the extractor fan (a low hum) of the nearby restaurant for part of the day and sometimes the low light thudding of music ( in the bedrooms) from the nearby pub til about midnight. It wasn’t a problem for me but worth being aware of. Apartment is one flight up of narrow stairs from the main st. No hills to climb! Nearest parking I think is Barnoon if you’re lucky. More expensive than some but loved it and have already rebooked.

Always book with Aspect for st. Ives very helpful staff & very easy to book .

Stayed at Mermaids Rest for a weeks holiday. My husband and I were blessed with beautiful weather. The apartment is located in the heart of the town. You don’t need a car as everything is easily accessible. We were very happy with this stylish apartment. The views over the harbour spectacular and saw some beautiful sunsets from the many windows. It is a well appointed apartment , despite eating out most days at the numerous excellent restaurants. Cellar Bistro was our favourite… just a few steps away from front door. Enjoyed so much that we have already booked for next year.

A wonderful holiday in a fabulous apartment equipped with everything you need and more ! Fantastic views and despite the busy location surprisingly quiet.

If you don’t mind very early deliveries / bin wagons disturbing your sleep , smells from restaurants unless, you keep all windows shut , it is a lovely apartment

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Being in such an amazing central location, you will hear some noise and get the smells associated with all the great restaurants that are just a stroll from the property. Whilst we have always advertised the risk of noise and smells, we have now made this as clear as we possibly can on the description. For many, the smells from the restaurants, and noises associated with being in this location are not things that are a problem for them or are considered a small compromise for the amazing views and being right in the heart of this picturesque, vibrant, and popular town, where you can park up and forget about the need to drive anywhere all week. But we fully appreciate that this will not be for everyone, so hopefully the updated wording will help to ensure that guests will know what to expect. Thanks for your feedback. Tanya, Customer Services

WOW! Mermaids Rest proved to be everything we hoped for and more! The location is excellent…..but even more the views from the apartment are so stunning especially at sunrise and sunset. So wonderful to see the comings and goings on the sea especially the fishermen setting off. Yes it’s a bit noisy but there are sound proof barriers you can pull down …after all it is in the centre! The apartment itself is very comfortable and well furnished …it was very hot during our stay and the fans thoughtfully provided by the owners were much appreciated. Lovely attention to detail throughout. Highly recommend Mermaids Rest, St Ives is so beautiful couldn’t have asked for more. We shall be rebooking for sure!! Superb.

lovely apartment . Pub noise at the back.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your time at the apartment. We do try to be as upfront and honest in our property description, as being in such a fantastic central location, you may hear some of the hustle and bustle of the town at times. But we hope that you agree that it is absolutely worth it for being just a few steps from everything that St Ives has to offer. Katy, Customer Services.

Fabulous apartment. Well equipped everything you need and more for a self catering holiday. Spectacular views over the harbour. Would definitely book it again if staying in St Ives.

A fabulous home from home, really comfortable and a stunning place to relax and unwind whilst watching the world go by from the amazing double French doors at the front of the property. It can be a little rowdy in the evenings if the pubs have late bands and the nearby restaurant extractor fans do create some good smells, but we loved being in the thick of it and so handy for all amenities.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are glad that you liked it. You will hear and smell some of the sounds and smells of being in such a central location, so we try to make this as clear as we can on the website. We are glad that you agreed, that being right in the heart of it all more than makes up for this. Some will love hearing the hustle and bustle of such a great location, but it won't be for everyone. If you like being in the heart of it all, this property and those views are great. You are just minutes from everything if you want to head out and explore but can easily sit there in the property for hours, just enjoying that view and watching the comings and goings of the harbour. Tanya, Customer Services

Its all about the view! WOW WOW WOW!!!! A superb appartment with panoramic views in a perfect location, easy access to all areas of St Ives. Spotlessly clean with beautiful decor and very comfortable and fabulous ameneties. We could not have wanted more, highly delighted with this wonderful find and we hope to return very soon. Thank you so much

We loved Mermaid’s rest It is comfortable in many ways with stunning views can’t beat them On the doorstep to amenities but being one floor up there is hardly any noise Couple things we recommend changing having stayed in a lot of higher end aspect properties is the Tv in the lounge to a large smart Tv as lots of room fir one on the cabinet and add one in the master bedroom Not everyone is out all the time it’s nice to have options The modern traveller likes to have a choice I’d add luxury linen and pillows .as was a bit starchy Think it would then be perfect Oh, and remove the stair lift on entry it takes a quarter width of the communal staircase and is a little dangerous coming down as the stair tread is not that wide .

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your helpful suggestions. All guest feedback is passed on to owners for their consideration. When you are staying in a property you get to experience them in a different way than we do when we visit properties, so suggestions like this are really useful for ourselves and the property owners. Since your stay, the owner has added a Smart TV and sound bar into the property. Thanks again and we hope you had a great time here. Tanya, Customer Services

Stunning views of the harbour and out to sea. Excellent location. Easy for shops and eateries. Roomy and comfortable living and kitchen area. Access stairs (one short flight) a bit tight, and ensuite to twin room smallish, although bathroom makes up for this. Overall we were very pleased and would definitely return. Thank you.