Menu
Open tomorrow at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your summer holiday for just £40! Find out more >

2 Rose Lodge
The Wharf, St Ives

£516 - £1201 per week
Book

2 Rose Lodge commands an enviable position on the west side of the harbour and has superb, unobstructed views from the sitting room across the Harbour and beyond. Accessed via one flight of external stone steps from the Wharfside, you can enjoy the ever changing scenery from the comfortable window seat, with it's large picture window, or explore all that St Ives has to offer, from your doorstep. Foodies will be spoilt for choice, with numerous restaurants, eateries and pubs close by. Perfect for couples or lone travellers, Rose Lodge has a generous sitting room, where you can relax with a good book, enjoy some local delights at the dining table or better yet, a glass of wine whilst soaking up the glorious view from the window seat, before retreating to the comfort of the king size bed, waking feeling refreshed for the day ahead. Porthminster and Porthmeor beaches are both within a five minute walk, with Harbour beach just seconds from your front door.

Couples, or those travelling alone, will love this centrally located waterside bolthole. Converted from one of the original wharfside buildings, overlooking St Ives harbour, you can sip your morning cuppa in the window seat and watch the sunrise, lighting up this magical town. As dusk approaches, the scenery changes along with the atmosphere, as visitors head off from the beaches and into the many eateries and bars, whilst buskers and artists entertain their passing audience. If a true St Ives experience is what you seek, then look no further than Rose Lodge.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

King

Entrance

access is via a shared granite stairway of twelve steps from the Wharf to the entrance lobby.

Sitting room

double glazed picture window with window seat and harbour views, sofa, dining table and two chairs, electric woodburner effect stove, Smart TV.

Kitchen

double electric oven with halogen hob, fridge/freezer.

Bathroom

bath with electric shower over, WC, basin and heated towel rail.

Bedroom

king size bed, window to side elevation.

Additional information

electric heating via fire in sitting room and modern wall heaters throughout. The apartment is situated on the harbour front, so on busier days with the window open you may hear the sounds and aromas associated with the busy bars and restaurants, there is also a small cafe/bar located next to the apartment which has a shared, external granite, stairway with 2 Rose Lodge. Please note that Rose Lodge does not have a washing machine, however there is a launderette in the town, WiFi, short breaks available.

 
 

Loved everything about the accommodation, service & location

December 2023

Our third stay this year - think that says it all!

October 2023

Special Offers

20% off - 30 Mar 24 to 6 Apr 24

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays at The Wharf

Many of our cottages at The Wharf overlook the working harbour of St Ives. Here you'll find fishing boats, a gorgeous sandy beach and in the summer season you can take advantage of the boat trips on offer. Home to The RNLI, The St Ives Lifeboat Station is close by and is a popular attraction with tourists.

The Wharf, otherwise known as St Ives harbour, is a hive of activity throughout the year. With a continual hustle and bustle on the water and along the harbour front, there is always plenty to do and see while self catering at the Wharf, even at the quieter times of the year.  It’s an ever changing scene so perfect for those artists among you. Don’t forget about the very sheltered, sandy Harbour Beach, a perfect sun-trap in the heart of town and a great place to find seaglass and sea pottery! As night falls at the end of another perfect day, St Ives comes alive with a selection of bars, restaurants and cafés to suit every pocket and every taste in a truly cosmopolitan atmosphere.

Top tip

Be careful of the seagulls when eating at The Wharf.

Things to do on The Wharf

Boat Trips

Why not enjoy the scenery by boat and explore the coastline with an excursion with St Ives Boat Trips. Fishing trips are available for those looking for a bit of adventure, or for a more relaxing experience, a visit to seal island lets you see seals basking on the rocks at certain times of year. 

Eating and Drinking

The Wharf is home to a wide selection of restaurants and cafes, serving up fresh fish and chips to gourmet burgers, with something to suit everyone. Enjoy an ice cream or Cornish pasty and watch the world go by on the harbour front, but remember to keep your wits about you; seagulls in St Ives are renowned for swooping in and stealing food right from your hands!

Smeaton's Pier

From here you'll get a stunning view of the harbour, and an up close view of the crystal clear waters. At the entrance to the pier you'll find St Leonard's Chapel; originally dedicated for local fisherman, it is now a museum and memorial for the fisherman of St Ives.

Lifeboat station

Home to the new £1.5 million lifeboat, the RNLI lifeboat station is a popular attraction for visitors to St Ives. The gift shop next door sells souvenirs where all profits go towards helping to save lives at sea. 

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Loved everything about the accommodation, service & location

Our third stay this year - think that says it all!

Great little place to stay, so central to everything and the view of the harbour and beyond from the front window is just fantastic. We found the lounge spacious and comfortably furnished. The welcome tray of tea/coffee and biscuits and pint of milk in the fridge was a nice touch and very much appreciated. The kitchen was well equipped. Nice bathroom and bedroom, with a very comfortable bed. Already looking at next years' availability.

Great Place to stay,comfortable and handy for all amenities with that big picture window and seat to watch the sun rise and sunset.

Absolutely brilliant views across the harbour. The location is very central to everything. Very cosy flat with everything that you need for a couple. There are even a couple of small surfboards and a windbreak available.

Sharing the stairs with the cafe next door isn’t an issue as they close by 3:00pm.

This was our second stay in this flat and we’ve already booked up for next year.

Another lovely stay at Rose Lodge. Weather was amazing. Love being in the hustle and bustle of the town where you can pop in and out as you please. Added bonus is the lovely coffee shop next door - the best coffee in St Ives. Our second visit this year and we hope to be back again soon.

Rose Lodge was a stunning apartment, location excellent, view stunning and overall we had a super stay

I have stayed at Rose Lodge many times and have always been pleased with the property. There is some slight noise from the pub next door but it’s never been excessive or a problem to me. I will be back to Rose Lodge, I’m missing the view already. Many thanks to Aspects for their continued good service.

Well what can we say about Rose lodge other than it’s a great location with a fabulous ever changing picture of st ives from your lounge window, everything is on your door step, including breakfast at the next door coffee shop. We wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else and have already booked next year’s visit.

Yet another wonderful stay at Rose Lodge, I’m missing that view and I can’t wait to return!! ??

Another fabulous stay in Rose Lodge. Comfortable and quirky. Beautiful sun rises. Close to everything on the flat. Will be returning as soon as we can.

A great little place for 2 adults for an out of season break when St Ives isn't so busy. All beaches close enough for lovely walks by the sea. Shops, cafés, pubs, & restaurants all in easy reach. We just parked our car for the week & relaxed!

A lovely location for a couple. We would definitely book again. We were glad we had been forewarned about possible noise from neighbouring establishments. The pub got a bit rowdy but it was ok really.

A wonderful comfy, cosy apartment. Great central location. Lovely view of the harbour. Will definitely be back.

We have now made six visits to this property and until this visit, we would have been happy to recommend it to others having had some lovely times spent in it. Unfortunately, this has been our last visit due to the continuous excessive noise from the Rum and Crab premises next door. Never in our previous visits have we had any reason to complain, but this year for some reason was different. The noise above the living room of the property was happening every evening (not just an isolated event). One expects a certain amount of noise from adjacent properties due to the location, but this was exceptional. Sorry, but sadly won't be returning.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so sorry to hear this. Whilst there can be associated noise from that location, which we know you are used to and would expect from your previous stays there; the time of year that you visited this time will have contributed to the difference that you noticed. It looks like you usually visit a little earlier in the summer, but this year your dates crossed over with St Ives September festival. They usually hold this every September, though the exact dates can vary. They put on a lot of extra entertainment, live music, films, shows etc at different locations in the town, but most venues will be a little livelier than usual over this time. We hope that this will not put you off returning for good and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at perhaps a quieter time of the year. Tanya, Customer Services

Rose Lodge is a perfect cosy place to stay,right in the centre of everything with the Harbour right on your doorstep with a big picture window perfect for watching glorious sun rises and sun sets.

Lovey cottage. Very comfortable. Early morning awakened by coffee shop next door radio and setting up. Some late night noise from bars nearby.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are so pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay at 2 Rose Lodge. As the apartment is situated right on the harbour front in St Ives, alongside busy bars and restaurants, unfortunately there may be times where you can hear noise from these surrounding businesses. We do try to highlight this in the property description, to make sure that all guests are aware of the location. Katy, Customer Services

Overpriced, dated and in poor repair. Great location and nice view from the window. Beautiful sofa. We stayed in July and the noise wasn't too bad at all. The cafe we share stairs with closes at 3pm

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were so sorry to hear of your disappointment. It seems that this property has experienced a lot of wear over the season, which we are addressing with the owner. We hope that with the actions taken during your stay, and what was discussed with the team in the week, you can see that we do take feedback on board, and work with the owners to address anything required. The owner has some time blocked out immediately after your stay, to address the areas that you raised, and we will carry out a further inspection later in the year as well. Thank you for getting in touch to let us know, and for your patience while we dealt with this. Tanya, Customer Services

Great central location and superb view across the harbour. A clean and well equipped flat Occasional noise from the restaurant / bar next door if we had the dormer windows open but ok when they were closed. We’d happily rent this flat again.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed it there. There will be some noise associated with being in that location, where there are restaurants and bars in very close proximity to the property; the café on 1 side and the Rum and Crab Shack on the other side. This may not be for everyone, but for those who want to be right in the heart of it, right on the harbour and steps away from places to eat, you can't rent somewhere in much better location than this. Tanya, Customer Services

after reading many positive reviews we booked this property and really expected it to be much better, the pub next door no problem with noise or people going to the Cafe property really needs some updating and it is lacking some Love and attention

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. After receiving this feedback and additional feedback from other guests since, we have been in to inspect the property and have been working very closely with the property owner since, who has had several items replaced and many improvements carried out and is continuing to work with us on additional areas that we have suggested are improved. We are sorry that it was not to the standard you had expected but we would like to reassure that feedback is taken seriously by both us and the property owner and we hope that we may one day have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can see all the improvements the owner has made. Tanya, Customer Services

Fabulous location. Comfortable. Clean. Loved it.

Amazing location and a lovely cosy apartment for a couple

Excellent holiday location!

Great location, comfortable bed, cosy apartment which we’ve stayed in over many years. Few little niggles but would definitely book again.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback. It was great to see you back 2 Rose Lodge again. We will make sure that we follow up on those points that you highlighted. Thanks for letting us know. Tanya, Customer Services

Enjoyed our stay at Rose Cottage. Lovely harbour view. Very central location. Well stocked kitchen. Would definitely stay again.

Another stay in Rose Lodge and another lovely holiday which was made even better by the great weather.

The view is enough to make you want to stay again and again! Perfect location and lovely coffee shop next door! I also left my amazon firestick there and it was returned very very quickly and efficiently so cannot thank aspects enough for their service :)

We had a great time staying at the apartment. The location is excellent. Minutes from bars, bakeries, shops and restaurants. This was my first time in Cornwall and I absolutely loved it and I will certainly return.

Lovely apartment, that would benefit from some updating. It’s in a very busy & noisy position but with amazing views. Plenty of piping hot water, good heating & great internet connection. We had a nice stay.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

It sounds like you had a great time here enjoying that fantastic location and views. We try to offer a wide range of properties that will suit the different tastes and budgets of individuals, but we will check on your comments regarding updating the property when we next inspect it and will also pass on your feedback to the owner. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you back soon. Tanya, Customer Services

Location absolutely amazing with spectacular views all day long. Beautifully decorated with everything you need. However the write up doesn't prepare you for the customers for the cafe walking right next to the window as walking up the stairs and being able to look right into the flat. It also doesn't prepare you for the noise in the evening up to midnight from the bar next door - on the same level as the flat. But all considered would definitely recommend for out of season .

Would recommend.

This is a little gem of a property right in the centre of the harbour. Fantastic views and very much felt part of the bustling harbour. Great being able to pop out for supplies without needing a car, and lovely to be able to open our front door, cross the road and step onto the beach. Beautifully clean throughout, well furnished and extremely comfortable. A lovely vantage point to watch the world go by whilst drinking wine and eating a saffron bun!! Fell in love with this little gem so much that we have booked again for next year!

Lovely property. Much bigger than it looks on the photos. Excellent location. Aspects were amazing with the information supplied & even left us a bottle of bubbly for our wedding day! Would definitely book this property again! Amazing value for money!

This was our first time staying at st Ives it did not disappoint us . I could not get over how clear the sea was. Just as beautiful as the Mediterranean. St Ives it’s self it a beautiful place. Our accommodation I can not fault , in fact very quiet. Clean. And comfortable . Thankyou aspects.

Excellent location, lovely views of the harbour. Well equipped kitchen, and very comfortable bed. You need to be careful of the shower it is either way too hot or freezing cold. It definitely could do with replacing.

This is one of the best locations in st ives, a different picture from the window every day. Love it because it’s like a bungalow with it being on the same level.

Lovely spot on harbour front. A cosy bolt hole from the busy town. What a view !!! Very comfortable.

Fantastic apartment, great location with amazing views. Really loved our weeks stay. Would highly recommend the apartment and the company. Would definitely book again through aspects.

Great pre arrival service from Aspects.

Rose Lodge is in a stunning location right in the centre of everything that is St Ives and met all expectations.

We would highly recommend it.

Disappointed with the living room area as the log effect electric fire was replaced by a paint peeled noisy electric heater. Also received three parking tickets. At least the St Ives scenery made up for it and got away before lockdown part 2.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry about the fire. Unfortunately, the log effect fire stopped working and a temporary convector heater was put in place so that there was still a heater there for guests use. We are currently organising a replacement one that will look much more in keeping. Unfortunately, this property does not come with parking, so we cannot really comment on the parking tickets. However, if you are ever looking to return, please do not hesitate to contact us so that we can discuss local parking options with you and hopefully help you to avoid such fines in future. We hope that you still had a great time here and made the most of a nice break away before the lockdown restrictions were put in place again. Tanya, Customer Services

Rose Lodge is an excellent comfortable property with amazing sea views, would recommend this property to anyone

An absolutely brilliant location if you don’t mind the ambient noise of the surrounding bars, buskers and passing coffee shop customers (which we didn’t at all). Coffee shop staff next door were brilliant, allowed us takeaway coffee and breakfast on their plates and were super helpful with tips and recommendations. The front window seat is great, would happily sit there all day people watching!

Fantastic, small and compact property, centrally located with breathtaking views of St Ives harbour where you can watch the day go by. We didn't switch on the TV once during our week stay. Great on both a sunny and stormy day.

Our only point to be mindful about is that EVERYONE walking by can't help but look up at you through the big glass window in the living area as you're just above their eye level. It was a bit like being a goldfish in a goldfish bowl.

Perfect location! Waking up to the beautiful view of the harbour in the morning was bliss. So relaxing and a spacious apartment for 2 people. Aspects left a cleaning kit for us to use during our stay, due to the current covid situation, which included - surface spray, dish cloths, toilet bleach, hand wash, and surface wipes. This was a real nice touch and much appreciated!

The apartment is next to a cafe/bar so sometimes there are people walking up and down the stairs which look into the apartment, however this was not a massive issue as we was out most of the day anyway.

Will definitely return!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are glad that you enjoyed the enviable location of 2 Rose Lodge. To get the benefit of being right on the harbour front, with those amazing harbour views and the convenience of being literally steps away from the restaurants, cafes, shops and beaches of St Ives, you do have the compromise of having passers-by and the risk of some noise associated with being in such a prime central location, so we try to highlight this as best as possible within the description. We hope that it was what you had expected from the information provided, but it certainly sounded like it was the perfect place for you both and we look forward to seeing you back here again. Tanya, Customer Services

An apartment that has everything you need in terms of comfort, cleanliness and location.. location.. Highly recommended !

Love the location .Great views of harbour .Looking forward to returning soon.

All in all very good as usual.

We lovely the position of rose lodge, the never ending changing picture from the lounge window. We also like the improvements in the furnishings in the last year which have been great too. We have got further holidays already booked here.

Another restful week at Rose Lodge with that fabulous view, my favourite being the sunrise over the harbour, such a relaxing start to the day,even the seagulls can't spoil that!!

We could not fault the cleanliness of the property or the location. Very handy for all amenities. The property was very comfortable and spacious and the views spectacular, however it can be very noisy at the weekends due to the bar next door.

Beautiful place would definitely stay here again ... Had everything we needed for our stay so would definitely recommend it to anyone

We would not hesitate to book through Aspects Holidays again. Staff at St. IVES office very friendly and helpful.

Property in a fantastic position close to all amenities. All rooms clean on arrival and no issues with any equipment during stay.

Had another relaxing holiday for 3 weeks but access is not good if you have walking disabilities

A lovely cosy cottage in the heart of the town with everything on the doorstep and we can't wait to be back again(already booked for next year). Would recommend it for anyone who wants to see the changing picture of st. Ives without having to move from their seat.

A beautiful cottage in an amazing location. Would highly recommend. Be aware it is next to the Rum and Crab shack so can be a bit noisy in the evening, but wasn’t a problem in the bedroom.

Rose Lodge is in a great location but there are a few issues that need addressing. The main one is it has a very small double bed so this really needs replacing with a bigger bed. Presently don't stay if you've come for a good night's sleep!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to read that you found the double bed to be too small, and therefore too uncomfortable for the both of you. Currently, there is a standard double advertised there; so if you are used to a king or queen size double at home, this may understandably seem quite small, and may be something to consider at time of booking. We are very sorry if this was not what you had expected. Thank you for passing on your feedback; when you are spending a lot of time in a property, you get to view things in a different way than we do when we visit, so we really appreciate constructive comments that we can pass on and discuss with the property owners. Tanya, Customer Services

Convenient to shops and restaurants. Very noisey due to the business supply’s adjacent to the apartment.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback, though we were really sorry to read that you had experienced so much noise from the neighbouring 'surf shack'. Whilst we include in the property description, that the stairs to the apartment are shared; we do not usually name the neighbouring premises due to the risk of businesses changing ownership and change of use as a result; but we closely monitor feedback to check that it does not cause any issue for guests. Over the years of marketing this property, it has just been mentioned once before, though on that occasion, the noise was from the Rum and Crab shack. With the fantastic location, right on the harbour front, some noise is always a risk, though it has rarely been highlighted as a concern here. However, as a result of your feedback, we have now amended the description to state what the neighbouring properties are, and hope that this helps guests to make an informed decision at time of booking. Thank you so much for binging this to our attention, so that we can look into this further, and take appropriate action. Tanya, Customer Services

A wonderful apartment with an amazing view of the harbour.

Awesome location, well equipped - will book again in a heartbeat !!

Excellent position. Reasonably priced for its location.

Excellent location and ideal for two people. Accommodation is quite roomy and pleasant.

Great cottage hopefully we'll stay again sometime

2 Rose Lodge is a perfect place to see everything thats going on in comfort. Perfect.

Superb views from Rose Lodge, St.Ives at it's very best. The most relaxing place to sit and unwind after a hard days exploring all that St.Ives has to offer.

Awesome location, lovely comfortable accommodation - we will be back!! Loved it !!

We would highly recommend Rose lodge for its excellent location, a good sized property with a fabulous view of everything that is going on in St. Ives.

/What more could one wish for? 2 Rose Lodge ticks all the boxes. If you like watching the sunrise, the changing of the tides and people having their pasties stolen by seagulls then this is the holiday home for you! A comfortable property in a perfect location.

It was lovely . Excellent location but do think that it should be mentioned that there is a very noisy pub right next door.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your comments and we are very sorry to hear that you experienced some noise over the weekend. 2 Rose Lodge is located right on the harbour and next to The Rum and Crab shack. Being in such a fantastic location like this, can mean it may be a little more likely to experience some noise from the nearby restaurants and the volume of footfall on the Harbour front during busy times of the year; though this is the first time we have heard of any noise diturbance here. It's possible that there had been an event/party, given that we do not usually hear of any issues, but we will closely monitor future feedback to see if this is something that will need to be better highlighted in our description. We are glad to hear that you otherwise enjoyed this cottage and the lovely, ever-changing views from there. Tanya, Customer Services.

Perfect location, fabulous view. A great place to sit and watch St. Ives as it changes from morning to night.