Menu
Opening at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your 2022 holiday for £40! Find out more >

The Old Smithy
Widemouth Bay

£351 - £720 per week
Book

The Old Smithy is an ecologically designed, oak frame retreat, ingeniously planned to take full advantage of the amazing sea view over Widemouth Bay and the rolling countryside. Located in an area of outstanding natural beauty this holiday home is a perfect base for a romantic getaway to enjoy the North Cornish coast and hinterland. The wonderful open plan living area is perfect to relax and enjoy a peaceful countryside holiday with Widemouth Bay beach just a few minutes' drive away. The features within the property have been produced by using traditional joinery craftsmanship and have been combined with all the conveniences of modern living which make The Old Smithy a perfect space to spend time relaxing.

The Old Smithy is perfectly located just a short drive away from Widemouth Bay which is renowned for its surf and long sandy beach which is perfect to enjoy the seaside from dawn until dusk. From the property you can quickly link into the Atlantic Highway to explore and enjoy the North Cornwall coastline, Bude is just five miles away where you will find main shops, large beaches, the Bude Sea Pool and a strong seaside town vibe. Head west along the Atlantic Highway where you can discover the pretty coves of Boscastle and Tintagel or just relax at The Old Smithy in the lovely garden with a glass of wine and enjoy the great outdoors.

Entrance

from the driveway into a small hallway, washing machine with steps up into:

Kitchen/dining room/sitting room

electric oven and hob, fridge freezer, radio, kitchen island with two stools, corner sofa and reclining chair, Smart TV, door into:

Garden

enclosed grass lawn with brick paved area, additional small paved area, outdoor table and chairs.

Bedroom

double bed with en suite bath, separate enclosed shower, WC and basin.

Outdoor area

paved area with additional table and four chairs on the top of driveway area.

Storage room

separate and secure bicycle, surfboard, sports equipment store with hanging facility and drip trays for wetsuits and tumble dryer.

Additional information

Eco-friendly air source heat pump heating and hot water and solar panels. Travel cot, highchair and stairgate provided, WiFi, one dog welcome, short breaks available.

 
 

We spent a week here in September. Great location, lovely building with everything you need. The owners seem to have thought of everything. Cannot recommend the Old Smithy enough.

September 2021

Just come back from a weeks stay at the Smithy. What a fantastic place, very clean, tastfully furnished. Couldn't believe just how well equiped it was, it was just like stepping into a home. The afternoon tea on arrival, was the icing on the cake. Lovely views over the fields, great location, just a short drive to the beach. Will certainly book again and highly recommend.

July 2021

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

2021

1 Jan - 6 Feb351
13 February360
20 Feb - 20 Mar351
27 March377
3 Apr - 10 Apr420
17 April351
24 April377
1 May - 22 May386
29 May559
5 June466
12 June485
19 June506
26 June564
3 July593
10 July603
17 July670
24 Jul - 21 Aug720
28 August506
4 September440
11 September387
18 September378
25 Sep - 9 Oct375
16 October382
23 October411
30 Oct - 11 Dec351
18 December440
25 Dec - 31 Dec556

2022

1 Jan - 5 Feb368
12 Feb - 19 Feb420
26 February375
5 Mar - 19 Mar390
26 March405
2 Apr - 16 Apr495
23 April398
30 April413
7 May - 21 May420
28 May615
4 June488
11 June518
18 June548
25 June615
2 Jul - 9 Jul653
16 July705
23 Jul - 20 Aug750
27 August705
3 September518
10 September465
17 Sep - 24 Sep435
1 Oct - 8 Oct413
15 Oct - 22 Oct465
29 Oct - 10 Dec368
17 December510
24 Dec - 31 Dec600

Holidays in Widemouth Bay

Widemouth Bay is a beautiful beach, just three miles from the town of Bude. With 1.5 miles of golden sand, this is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday within easy reach of the facilities at Bude. The large beach is popular with families, couples and surfers alike. 

Did you know...

Widemouth Bay Beach

Of course, the best part of Widemouth Bay is Widemouth Bay Beach - 1.5 miles of glorious sand.

Though it appears to be one large expanse of sand, the beach is actually divided into two sections: the North Beach and the South Beach (also known as Black Rock). This division comes in the form of a barrier of natural rocks - the largest being the landmark known as Black Rock. At low tide, hundreds of rock pools are exposed - perfect to keep the children (and adults) entertained. 

Ample parking is available at Widemouth Bay, but if you don't fancy getting your toes sandy, you can park at one of the free viewing areas! 

There is a seasonal dog ban on this beach from the 15th May to the 30th September between 10am and 6pm. Outside these hours and from 1st October to 14th May dogs are allowed.

Things to do in Widemouth Bay

If you fancy a change from rock-pooling and making sand castles on the beach, you might like to try surfing. Don't worry if you're a beginner you can take surfing lessons with Freewave Surf Academy or Outdoor Adventure

There are lots of lovely walks in and around Widemouth Bay. You could try walking to Bude, via Philips Point Nature Reserve, over Efford Down, to the watch tower at Compass Point and then follow the canal into Bude. 

If you're looking to explore further afield, check out our blog about things to do in Bude.

Places to eat in Widemouth Bay

There are several eateries in and around Widemouth Bay.

Firstly, The Bay View Inn provides a selection of seasonal classics and food with a twist. They have three separate indoor dining areas, several alfresco dining areas and spaces available for private hire. In peak season, they open a snack shack, serving a variety of take away foods. 

Close to the beach, you'll find Black Rock Cafe and Bistro, serving freshly-cooked artisan food. You can enjoy your food inside, or on the deck soaking up the views. 

With direct access to the beach, Widemouth Bay Cafe serves all day breakfast, fish and chips, burgers, cream teas and other light snacks. 

Slightly outside of Widemouth Bay, Elements Cafe Bar and Restaurant serves a selection of food, specialising in pizza and pasta. The restaurant has beautiful views to enjoy while you dine.

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

We spent a week here in September. Great location, lovely building with everything you need. The owners seem to have thought of everything. Cannot recommend the Old Smithy enough.

Just come back from a weeks stay at the Smithy. What a fantastic place, very clean, tastfully furnished. Couldn't believe just how well equiped it was, it was just like stepping into a home. The afternoon tea on arrival, was the icing on the cake. Lovely views over the fields, great location, just a short drive to the beach. Will certainly book again and highly recommend.

Lovely little cottage nice views , close to Bude would definitely stay again .

The Old Smithy is a great place to stay. Everything has been thought of to provide for your needs. A quiet location within easy access to the Atlantic highway for travelling around.

Absolutely fabulous holiday. Very comfortable and extremely well appointed.

Beautiful oak frame cottage in quiet location with sea views from kitchen window and cows in the field next door - blissful. Just off main highway so handy for getting to the beach, Bude town and travelling around. Would definitely like to stay here again.

Absolutely fabulous little place. Very well equipped had everything we needed. Lovely views over the sea and fields. Highly recommend

A fantastic place to stay with everything you can ask for. This is the second time we have stayed here and hope to do the same next year

Added this place on to our Cornwall stay and so glad we did. Home from home open plan living and we had a few days of less than great weather which meant we got to enjoy the comfy sofa and large TV. Underfloor heating was great and made the place so cosy (once we worked out how to use it!). Place had all we needed and was in a reasonable location if you dont want to be on the coast. Short drive into Bude and Widemouth Bay. Good standard of furnishings and definitely well maintained. The Neff Oven with slide and hide was a nice treat as was the welcome cream tea. Only downside for us was the bed, which was a little low and soft and also difficult to access from one side as there was only a short amount of space at the foot of the bed but not a dealbreaker once you get used to it. Owner definitely has thought of everything to make for a great stay and it was good value

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to see that you had such a great stay at The Old Smithy and that it felt like a home away from home, as this is always what we and property owners aim to achieve for guests. We were sorry to see that you found the arrangement of the bed to be a little tricky during your stay, but we were pleased to see that this wasn't a dealbreaker for you; we try our best to be as accurate as possible when describing and displaying properties on our website, but sometimes it can be difficult to show the size of things in photos. We do hope that we will see you again soon. Ben, Customer Services

While the cottage was exceptionally well equipped, clean and tidy we had a particular problem with the length of the bed which resulted in us leaving the cottage a day early as after 3 nights without sleep I was totally exhausted and the whole holiday was ruined.

I am fairly tall but not exceptionally so (6 ft 1 1/2 in) and it was impossible to get a comfortable position in the bed due to the shortish bed having a wooden foot board at the bottom making it impossible to have anything resembling a straight leg and I was therefore unable to sleep for more than a couple of hours cat napping. While the dimensions of the bedroom do not allow for any more space there are a couple of things that must be done to make the most of the short space. 1) replace bed with a divan style bed which would allow someone to let their feet hang over the edge (I have come across this before and is not a problem and still allows a good nights sleep. 2) The shortage of space between bottom of bed is compounded by Long curtains taking up a lot of the very short gap. This could be eased by having blinds fitted within the window frame thus maximising the available space. My wife on two occasions at least stubbed her toe trying to get through the small space available.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to read that the bed and bedroom size did not work well for you and it is a shame that you ended up leaving a day early as a result. The bed is a standard double size, so the length will not suit everyone, being 3 inches shorter than a king size or super king size; though we appreciate that a standard double without a footboard could improve comfort for taller guests, so we will certainly highlight this suggestion to the property owners. We would always want descriptions and photos to be as accurate as possible so that guests know what to expect, so we are sorry if in this case, you had not been prepared for the length of the standard double and limited space at the end of the bed. If you are ever looking to return to Cornwall, please do not hesitate to contact us as we will always be happy to confirm the bed size and check if there is a footboard present or not. Thanks again. Ben, Customer Services

The Old Smithy is a wonderfully comfortable and quiet place to stay and close to the Atlantic highway making travelling around very easy. Everything has been thought about and it is tastefully furnished. Lovely.

The Old Smithy is a delightful place to stay for a couple visiting Bude in Cornwall. It is supremely comfortable and well equipped. Everything has been considered to make your holiday a pleasure.

The Old Smithy is a wonderful place to stay it’s very comfortable, relaxing and feels like a home. We would thoroughly recommend it and hope to be back next year

This is a lovely property, very spacious, clean and comfortable. Excellent kitchen facilities, excellent bathroom with a lovely shower and comfy large living room. Good car parking with plenty of outside garden space. It had a large 60” tv that was difficult to watch in the daytime because of window reflection which had no blinds or curtains which could be closed. The bedroom also had the same problem making it daylight at 5am or whenever dawn broke. If you are much taller than us (5’8”) the bed will be too small. We found our feet were touching the footboard of the bed. There was also limited room between the bottom of the bed and the wall so one person will find it awkward getting into bed.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your helpful feedback, which has all been passed on to the property owner for their consideration. The owners really wanted to make the most of the design of this property to take in those amazing views and keep it feeling light, airy and full of charm and character. The apex windows have been left intentionally uncovered at the top and can be quite light at certain times of the day and certain times of the year, so it may be something to take into consideration when booking. But for those that enjoy a light airy space, this beautiful property makes for an ideal retreat. The bed is a standard double, so for those who are used to something bigger; again this is something that you may want to bear in mind when booking. Tanya, Customer Services

A comfortable and hassle free 4 night stay. Thanks

Very well equipped property, everything you need to make your holiday comfortable, although a dishwasher would’ve been nice to have but we ate out most days. Great views from the bedroom and kitchen, lovely big bathroom, very comfy bed and plenty of clothes storage. A variety of footpaths and country roads within easy walking distance that take you to the beach and coastal path.

The Old Smithy is a clean, super comfy, well equipped cottage very close to Bude and the beautiful beaches in the area. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Old Smithy cottage is comfortably furnished to a very high standard. All kitchen appliances & equipment plus 60" TV, Sky & BlueRay are provided, anything that you would have or want at home is available at the cottage, the owners appear to have thought of everything Very close to the Atlantic Highway (A39) with great access to a number of beaches, towns and local facilities/shops The pictures of the cottage tell only part of the story, when you walk through the door you know you've found something special So good we've booked Old Smithy again

A great quiet restful place, ideal base to celebrate my 50th birthday. Prosecco and a birthday card as well. Well stocked property with everything you need, even a comfy bed. Great sea views to Widemouth bay from the kitchen window and great cow views from the bedroom haha. Highly recommended. Don't take my word for it. Its a must. Thank you.

Had a fab week in The Old Smithy. Its very comfortable, beautifully appointed to a high specification. Very comfortable bed.

The Old Smithy is a beautiful place... designed, furnished and equipped to the highest standard. My wife and I were very comfortable there and enjoyed a lovely holiday. We hope to visit again sometime.

The Old Smithy will not disappoint you. It is very homely and relaxing. It gave us the Wow factor when we stepped inside. It has great places to visit nearby. With dog friendly beaches. Bude beach was great it turned out 15 yr old dog into a puppy again! Would definitely recommend and would also rebook. Thank you for a lovely week!

Very nice property which is well furnished and comfortable. Ample parking and a nice little garden. The property also has lovely views. My only complaint would be that the garden is not secure. As this property states they accept bookings with a dog I would expect the garden to be secure to prevent any dogs going of exploring! We took our dog and had to be outside with him while he was outside to make sure he didn’t run off! Apart from this, it was a lovely property to stay in.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at The Old Smithy. Whilst the property is advertised as accepting pets, this will not always mean that a property has an enclosed garden or suitable space for a dog, but we will always try to show that as clearly as possible within photos and descriptions of the property. We are so sorry if this was not what you had expected and this caused any inconvenience for you, but glad to hear that you had a great time here nonetheless. Tanya, Customer Services