Open today until 8pm 01736 754242

Reserve your 2025 holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Jacks - 12 Back Road West
Downalong, St Ives

£564 - £1311 per week

Just a short stroll from both Porthmeor and Porthgwidden beach, sits 12 Back Road West; one of the original Downalong cottages of St Ives, which has been tastefully refurbished and is set over three floors - with living and kitchen area on the ground floor, twin bedroom and bathroom on the first floor and master bedroom at the top of the house. It is perfectly located to indulge in lazy days on the beach or long walks across the coast path, taking in the breathtaking scenery, which is pretty much on your doorstep. St Ives Harbour with its many eateries, galleries and independent shops is also just minutes away.

There is so much to do and see in St Ives and the surrounding area and you'll be in the perfect spot for it all. You're also just a two minute walk away from both Porthmeor and Bamaluz beaches.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1


Bedroom 2



one step down from street level via small courtyard area leading into:

Sitting/dining/kitchen area

TV, two armchairs, two seater sofa, table with seating for four, induction hob, integrated oven, fridge, dishwasher. Stairs to first floor:

Bedroom 1

twin beds.


bath with shower over, WC, basin. Stairs to:

Bedroom 2

super king size bed.

Additional information

gas central heating, no handrail and open staircases on some sections of the stairs. small outside area to the front of the property, the fire is decorative only. Please note there is no washing machine or freezer, WiFi, one dog welcome.


Lovely little cottage in a perfect location for all the gorgeous beaches and the town.

Ideal cottage to stay in for a holiday...would recommend!

June 2024

Nice property. Good locale and fairly decent throughout. Living room/kitchenette a bit cramped.

June 2024

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Downalong

One of the most popular areas of St Ives, Downalong is an idyllic spot for a seaside retreat. Overlooking the picturesque Harbour beach and just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Porthmeor and Porthgwidden, and the iconic Tate St Ives. Meander along cobbled lanes, dotted with traditional fisherman's cottages, and admire this quintessential corner of Cornwall.

Steeped in history, Downalong is a timeless haven that captures the fishing heritage and thriving art community of this enchanting area of St Ives. With all that St Ives has to offer on your doorstep, spend endless days exploring the sandy shores, stunning coastal paths and bustling harbourside.

Did you know...

Downalong is a historic Cornish term for an area of harbourside fisherman's cottages 'down along the harbour'?

You might also be interested in...

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Nice property. Good locale and fairly decent throughout. Living room/kitchenette a bit cramped.

Lovely little cottage in a perfect location for all the gorgeous beaches and the town.

Ideal cottage to stay in for a holiday...would recommend!

Overall a comfortable clean stay at Jacks for four adults and a furry friend. It is in an excellent location for several beaches, the town, harbour and many restaurants. Parking was available close by at The Island car park for an additional charge.

May suit some guests as the location is very good, but unfortunately not what we are use to needs some TLC to fetch it back to scratch. THIS IS NOT A PROPERTY FOR 4 ADULTS 2 adults 2 small children at the very best

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay at Jacks. As you have mentioned, the location of the property is perfect for exploring the local area, with everything St Ives has to offer right on your doorstep! Because of its traditional fisherman cottage style, some guests may find it cosy, but with the current bed configuration and room set up, we do believe it can comfortably sleep 4. Katy, Customer Services.

The property is in a great location and ideal if you want to stay on the St Ives beaches for a week. However for the price paid, furnishings need updating, in particular the bed mattresses and a new toilet is essential.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback. Whilst this property is not marketed as one of our higher end/modern properties, it is priced accordingly, taking into account many factors including location, number of rooms, size, style of decor, facilities provided etc. It had met all required standards when we had last inspected this property; however, a lot can happen to a property in a short space of time, so thank you for bringing this to our attention, so that we can investigate your comments and pass the feedback on to the property owners. Mattresses however, can be quite a difficult thing for owners to get right for every guest, as everyone will have different preferences when it comes to comfort, so this will just be monitored for now. Thanks for taking the time to send in your comments and we hope that you had a great time. Tanya, Customer Services

Perfect location , immaculately cleaned .

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Jacks. Excellent location, 2 minute walk into the town centre, but not on main drag so quieter than other parts of St Ives. Very close proximity to all the beaches. Very clean & comfy house. This is the 4th house / cottage we have stayed at in St Ives & Jacks was definitely our favourite. Would stay again!

Excellent cottage via Aspects. 5th year in a row we have booked via Aspects and always super impressed with service and quality of properties.

Jacks cottage is in a brilliant location, minutes from 3 of the main beaches as well as the town. There is also a grocery store (norway stores) a few doors down which is really convenient, although the stairs are mentioned in the advert you soon get used to them, i stayed with children age 10 and 15, i wouldn't recommend it for young children. Jacks cottage is cosy at night but is also light and airy and decorated lovely, it has everything you need in the kitchen. We really enjoyed our stay in jacks and would stay again.

Spotlessly clean, well provided cottage in an ideal location near to beaches, shops, cafes etc.

Great location and lovely property. Unfortunately, the TV is not the one in the picture and is not a Smart TV, so you can't watch programmes on catch-up or Netflix. It was also unwatchable during most of our stay due to interference.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry if you had been expecting a smart TV. Electrical items have to be replaced from time to time and it is not always feasible to have new photos taken each time, so they may not always be the same as those in the pictures. However, we have never advertised this property as having a smart TV. We appreciate that many people are used to smart TVs these days, but it is not a standard feature of properties, so we will specifically state on the description if it is a smart TV. Thanks for letting us know about all the interference; we will get that investigated. We are sorry if that caused any inconvenience. Tanya, Customer Services

Cracking little accommodation, great location and very clean inside. No washing machine but that is clearly stated in the description. Pet friendly and the dogs enjoyed it just as much as us.

Jack's is a really lovely cottage - spotlessly clean, comfy beds and everything you need in the kitchen. It's in a fantastic location just a couple of minutes from Porthmeor and Porthgwidden beaches, and seconds from the very-well-stocked Norway Stores. We've stayed in quite a few cottages in St Ives over the years, and this is definitely one of our favourites.

Lovely property, ideal location, loved our stay as always

Lovely place to stay, had everything we needed and beds were nice and comfortable. We had a great holiday and look forward to coming back.

Fab location and lovely character cottage would definitely recommend ??

Lovely clean and comfortable property within easy reach of beaches, shops and restaurants. Handy little shop almost next door was a bonus. The stairs are open with no handrail which is in the property description but they were not a problem, just had to be a little bit more careful, especially after a G&T! I’ve got 2 other properties booked for next year but would stay here again. Thankyou Aspects for another great holiday!!

Enjoyed our stay in this quirky cottage, great location for the beach, harbour and shops.

Lovely cottage with a really cosy feel. Perfect location - central position. Great little shop a few steps away where you can get anything you need. Comfortable and very clean, with everything you need for a holiday. Wish we could have stayed longer! Definitely recommend staying there and look forward to our next holiday there.

Location great, perfect for us. Loved the property, however the lack of washing machine and even a small fridge freezer means we probably wouldn't use this one again. BUT we have already booked again with you for next year x

Reply from Aspects Holidays

It is such a great little place in a fantastic location in St Ives isn't it? The owners have tried to use the space as best as possible in the property but unfortunately, they can't fit everything that they would like in there. Whilst we try to make it as clear as possible that there is no washing machine or freezer in this property, we do understand that these can be important facilities for some, so appreciate that this may put some off booking the property and we are sorry to hear that this prevent you from booking it again. We are glad that you have been able to find somewhere for next year that offers all of the facilities that you would want, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Tanya, Customer Services

Perfect location for Porthmeor beach and the harbour. Allowing 2 dogs to stay with us made our family holiday complete, thank you.

Jacks was an excellent location and had all the features for a relaxing holiday! Very nicely finished and great it accepted a dog! Would stay again and recommend to others!

A lovely cosy cottage in a great location. Well equipped with comfortable beds and nicely furnished.

A perfect cottage in a perfect location.

Great position and full of original character: so convenient for the town and especially Porthmeor beach, you can hear the sea at night which is magical.

It is situated on a busy road and there is no rear outside area.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Being in such an enviable location in the heart of St Ives, so close to all of the beaches, restaurant and shops, Jacks is a very popular choice, and understandly so; but being in the heart of the town and on the main route out from the Harbour, you will have passing traffic and pedestrians. It is not a 'fast' road with heavy traffic, but at times it can be busy with slow-moving vehicles and passers-by. It may not be to everyone's preference, but we hope that you agreed that being just a stroll from the beaches, harbour, shops and restaurants, without those dreaded Cornish hills, far outweighs the noise of the passing traffic. Tanya, Customer Services

We recently stayed at Jacks and would definitely book again. Lovely cottage in a central location. Really enjoyed our stay.

Superb little cottage. Very cosy and in a super location right in the heart of beautiful St Ives.

Perfect location close to shops and beach but not noisy. Really comfortable beds and everything you need for a relaxing time.

Enabled us to really relax which made it hard to leave.

I would happily stay here again and would definitely recommend it.

Perfectly located..cute little cottage close to all amenities. Great place to stay. Not ideal for elderly guests or anyone with mobility problems. We are in our 40's and had to be careful on the steep stairs..especially as they have no carpet and maybe slippery. Great for toning your legs though!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

It is great to see that you enjoyed the beautiful location of Jacks, having everything St Ives has to offer right on your doorstep. Thank you for highlighting that the stairs may be something to consider before booking. We always try to be as honest as we can be with our property descriptions and photos, so hope that the photo of the stairs and description mention of the lack of handrail, and open sections, helped to highlight this ok. Our Sales team are always happy to help advise on the best, most suitable property to suit anyones requirements, so if this an important consideration, please do not hesitate to speak to one of the team when booking another holiday to Cornwall. We hope you had a fantastic time here and thank you again for leaving your feedback. Tanya, Customer Services.

Not suitable for young children...elderly..disabled or infirm

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your feedback. St Ives is packed full of character and traditional St Ives fishermans cottages. The traditional cottages can be a little smaller, with layouts/stairs more quirky and steeper than in more modern buildings, so we understand that this can be an important consideration for some. We always try to be as open, honest and accuarate as possible with our descriptions and photos, and hope that we have achieved that in this case. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with our sales team, to discuss before booking, if this is something that may be a consideration for your party. Maddie, Customer Services.

We loved Jacks! We've stayed in a few properties in St. Ives and we reckon this was the best so far. Lovely décor and furnishings, trendy & chic, a warm & comfortable environment. The coal-effect gas fire is very cosy. A great location on Back Road East and you can unload the car a few yards away outside the Chapel. Even better, a one minute walk to The Sloop! We'd definitely stay again.

Small, but comfortable. No oven = eating out every night! Super clean, very close to the town.

Thought the kitchen was a bit bashed up! Armchairs could have been more comfortable! Shower curtains over bath probably need improvement. This is the first time we have used you but we are happy with yourselves just thought the property could do with some tweaks but loved St Ives as usual so overall happy :)

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your very helpful comments. Great to hear how much you enjoy St Ives. I am pleased to report that the owner has since replaced the armchairs, had some work carried out to the kitchen, and replaced the shower curtain with a screen. Hopefully we will see you back at this property again, so that you can see the improvements. Tanya, Customer Services

Good basic cottage but a fantastic location.

Cottage lovely and clean