Menu
Open tomorrow at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your summer holiday for just £40! Find out more >

Sanderling House
Helford River

£859 - £2095 per week
Book

Sanderling House is the perfect tonic for those seeking tranquillity and a true break from the old routine. Newly renovated to a high standard, but retaining a certain Helford charm, this beautiful house with its large wrap around garden offers a blissful escape for all the family, in an idyllic setting. Surrounded by countryside and just moments from the magnificent Helford River, it is the perfect location to just relax. Enjoy glimpses of the glorious Helford River from the bedroom windows, or just simply chill on the terrace with a glass of something cold. If you fancy some adventure there are magical walks from the doorstep through ancient woods down to hidden creeks and secluded beaches. Settle into unspoilt bliss that is hard to find in everyday life. Helford Village encourages you to find the time for life's little pleasures; maybe you will be crabbing at the jetty or having a morning sea swim. The infamous Frenchman's Creek is only a short walk away from Sanderling House and looking out across the creek, it is easy to imagine how Daphne du Maurier felt inspired to write such a romantic novel.

Meander down the hill into the village, with its thatched cottages and remarkable river views. Pop into the little shop for breakfast essentials or the morning paper, or just wander around admiring your surroundings. How about a lazy lunch of local monkfish or crab at the famous Shipwrights Arms and discover more about the Helford's piratical past as you sip your local ale. Perhaps you could take the passenger ferry across the river for a bite to eat at the Ferryboat Inn, or a wander around Trebah Gardens? Falmouth is nearby for a day out and the beautiful Lizard Peninsula is also close enough to explore.

Previous Next

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1

Double

Bedroom 2

Single

Bedroom 3

Double

Bedroom 4

Single

Entrance via external stone steps

12 steps down from parking area to front door, one small step up into:

Entrance hall

with doors to cloakroom, kitchen, sun lounge and stairs to first floor.

Cloakroom

WC, basin.

Kitchen/dining area

dining table with six chairs, dishwasher, electric hob and oven, fridge, freezer, door to:

Utility room

washer/dryer

Sunroom

open fire, two armchairs, coffee table, patio doors to garden terrace, two steps down to:

Sitting room

two sofas, Smart TV, piano, window seat.

Bedroom 1

double bed.

Bedroom 2

single bed.

Bedroom 3

double bed with open en suite with shower cubicle and basin.

Bedroom 4

single bed.

Family bathroom

bath with shower over, WC and basin.

Garden and outdoor area

patio with table and chairs, lawned area, gravelled parking for three cars.

Additional information

oil fired central heating, the property is at the end of some very narrow cornish lanes so may not be suitable for those that are not confident drivers or for those with large vehicles, garden wraps around the house and is uneven and on different levels so may not be suitable for those with limited mobility, there are 12 steps down from the parking area to the house, no terrestrial TV due to the location of the property WiFi, one dog welcome, short breaks available.

 
 

Beautiful house which has enough space to allow everyone a place to chill when not out exploring. We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly recommend it as a base for exploring the western part of Cornwall.

July 2023

Sanderling House is an exceptional property in the idyllic hamlet of Helford. There is a huge amount of light and airy space in the accommodation. The kitchen is very well equipped as is the rest of the property. The gardens are also very well maintained and peaceful, with the addition of a lovely seating areas on the patio. It is a very short walk down to the village where you will find a lovely pub serving great food, lots of options for walks along the creek, and the reasonable village store.

June 2023

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

Holidays in Helford River

Helford River is a large estuary nestled between Falmouth and the Lizard Peninsula, stretching almost 50km, up to the old port of Gweek. You’ll find a plethora of hidden beaches, stunning scenery and picturesque villages. 

Renowned for its micro-climate, this part of the south coast benefits from a balmy climate, where tropical plants flourish. Experience this for yourselves at one of the beautiful sub-tropical gardens on the Helford River.

With numerous walks and waterside pubs, you can spend your days exploring different parts of the river, discovering hidden creeks and ending each day at a different Cornish pub.

 

Did you know...

Frenchman's Creek inspired the Daphne du Maurier novel of the same name?

Things to do near Helford River

Seal Sanctuary

The old port of Gweek is at the head of the Helford River and is now home to the Cornish Seal Sanctuary, a well known family attraction which rescues all sorts of unwell seal pups and sea lions, aiding their recovery and releasing them back into the wild.

Gardens

Trebah and Glendurgan gardens are close by and bloom beautifully in early spring and summer, making the Helford River a perfect location to visit all year around. With beaches stretching down on to the river side it's the perfect spot for a picnic!

Boat Trips

The best way to experience the whole of the Helford Passage is to take the to water and enjoy a boat trip, of which there are many available.

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

House is great for a large group. Location is fabulous, outside area is lovely and layout of the house is very comfortable. Our only criticism is that the beds are all very small..short and narrow. Rooms are big enough to take larger beds and this would make the whole stay a better experience.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Its lovely to hear that Sanderling House suited you so well, we hope you had a great stay. The beds are advertised as just standard double, so we hope this is what you expected, though we appreciate that if you are used to a larger size at home, these may understandably seem quite small. Your feedback has been passed on to the owner for their consideration though. Thanks for your comments. Lucy, Customer Services

Beautiful house which has enough space to allow everyone a place to chill when not out exploring. We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly recommend it as a base for exploring the western part of Cornwall.

Sanderling House is an exceptional property in the idyllic hamlet of Helford. There is a huge amount of light and airy space in the accommodation. The kitchen is very well equipped as is the rest of the property. The gardens are also very well maintained and peaceful, with the addition of a lovely seating areas on the patio. It is a very short walk down to the village where you will find a lovely pub serving great food, lots of options for walks along the creek, and the reasonable village store.

House was perfectly located - a good hike down to pretty Helford .The house it perfectly equipped and spacious, clean and bright . The information pack was excellent.The garden was secluded , wrapping around the house . It’s not completely fenced off but it was fine for our dog who doesn’t wonder . We had an amazing week.

It was a lovely stay very clean and it was a beautiful spot.

Fantastic spacious property modernised and kitted out to a very high standard with all mod cons and all work well Spotless thanks to Erica the domestic Well heated with beautiful real fire Fab TV Amazing Christmas tree and presents provided ! Cosy n comfortable for a Christmas Holiday in truly testing typical Cornish winter weather Very pet friendly Lovely terrace and garden A few minor niggles that can be easily sorted by Aspects and the owner Tortuous drive to property and ensure first visit is in daylight but this is all part of the fun of being in deepest Cornwall (Google Maps best) 5 min walk to truly world class Shipwright’s Arms where Adam n team at top of their game…. Great food n beer Sanderling House truly a hidden Cornish gem Can’t be many better holiday let’s on the market Will stay again when I’ve cleaned the car ! Aspects staff very quickly attended to a few early hiccups even over Christmas nothing too much trouble

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Sanderling house and we would not hesitate to stay again. The house has a lovely homely feel from the moment you walk in with the large windows overlooking the surrounding fields and distant river views from the d bedrooms upstairs. The house is very well equipped and had everything we needed the beds are especially comfortable! The children loved exploring the garden and outdoor space and the binoculars was put to good use looking for Owls in the trees. We really enjoyed a peaceful and relaxed week. The Shipwright arms is a great place to stroll down the hill to,the views are amazing across Helford to Helford passage and the staff especially friendly and welcoming. We had read reviews left from past guests about the approach to Sanderling house and yes.. it can be quite tight and narrow especially as we was in a large family car but we wouldn’t let this put off any future stays here! It makes it a little bit more fun navigating the Cornish lanes of which you’ll be an expert by the end of your stay and Sainsburys delivered without any hiccup to the property so if a Sainsburys van can….. The new yard restaurant is also a must if you get the opportunity, 10-15 minute drive but a lovely place to dine and again, children and dogs are made to feel very welcome in the pantry. There’s plenty do and explore in this beautiful part of Cornwall or just sit and watch the world go by and we certainly not hesitate to return so much so we extended our stay last minute with an extra night of which the Aspects team was very accommodating and helpful and made this possible, Thank you for a lovely break.

A stay at Sanderling House is a real break away from the bustle of town life …situated uphill on the edge of the small hamlet of Helford it is a homely yet peaceful place where you can fully unwind …Helford is off the beaten track yet accessible to many of the larger places to visit in the south of Cornwall…there is only one shop, one pub and one cafe so nothing too exciting, so you need to a get home delivery from Heston if you plan to eat in ..for those who want to stay at home that’s fine but there are a lots of places to eat out in surrounding areas .

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week staying at Sanderling. The house is clean, spacious and comfortable. Great location - we didn't need to use the car much as there was such a lot to do from the house. Great walks, a little shop for essentials, The Shipwrights Arms, a cafe, great little beach Bosahan Cove a short walk away, a passenger ferry over to Helford Passage for lunch at The Ferry Inn, Trebah gardens. We'd love to go back

We have just returned today from 12 days @ Sanderling House.

We are looking forward to booking for 2023 already, once dates are available!

The house is perfect for those who savour tranquility, river glimpses, sun-rises, but just a few steeper steps up the hill from Helford village, the excellent local store & Shipwrights Inn.

And well located for wider exploration not far away. We enjoyed a day fishing trip with Matt & George @ Porthleven (many fish on the BBQ! ), surfing lessons in Perranporth.

Yet, there are several walks minutes away where you will find river coves often to yourself, and much more of interest.

The house is perfect - it had everything we needed - 2 adults, 2 teenage daughters & a dog. In the heat of the last week, we missed the patio umbrella pictured & for the purists the piano needs a re-tune, but that didn't detract at all.

This is a must visit venue & we cannot wait to return!

PS. the lanes are narrow. Sainsburys delivered to us first day no problem, and indeed we passed a Bentley SUV one day, so do not be put off!

We have just had an amazing week in Sanderling House ( party of 3 - husband & wife & 83 yr old father) The lanes leading to the house are quite narrow ( one car's width) but well worth navigating because when you get to the house it is beautiful! It is in a gorgeous setting with picturesque surroundings. Beautiful quality furnishings throughout ( there is even a piano!) and very comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. Our favourite holiday home so far! Plenty of wildlife too. My husband has taken lots of photos of woodpeckers, rabbits and a deer in the adjacent field. The walk down to the local pub (Shipwright Arms) is rather steep but this didn't stop my 83 yr old dad, he loved this quaint pub that served lovely food and the staff are very friendly. There is also a lovely ittle convenience store that is very well stocked at the bottom of the lane too. We would recommend the circular walk to Frenchmans Creek and also the ferry ride across the Helford River where we hired a boat which was lovely. Afterwards we had a beautiful lunch at the Ferryboat Inn. We also visited Trebah Gardens and also Glendurgan which are next to each other (although Gendurgan is National Trust and Trebah isn't) both well worth a visit. We also visited Coverack which is a beautiful coastal village. We have all had a fantastic holiday, my dad can't stop talking about it, he has loved every minute and we have all come back feeling relaxed and refreshed. We will definitely be going back! And thank you to Aspects holidays for their excellent customer service and communication, we would definitely recommend them.

Mrs Booth & family.

Sanderling House was beautiful!

We had a lovely week's holiday in September. When we arrived we were so pleased to see that it looked exactly like the photos. The house was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The decor was lovely, towels and bedding were great quality. It felt like a home and was very cosy. The garden was also beautiful with a nice table and chairs for outside dining. The Wifi was great and we were able to use Netflix on the TV.

As well as a lovely welcome pack there were dishwasher tablets, handwash, toilet roll, washing up liquid to get us started. We prebooked a Sainsbury's online shop for the first day which worked really well.

It's a lovely walk from the house down to the river and we had a great meal at The Shipwright Arms. The Village Store is very well stocked and serves takeaway hot pasties and coffee!

We explored the area visiting Trebah Gardens, Kynance Cove (the beach there is beautiful) We hired a boat for 2 hours with Helford Riverboats. It's such a great way to explore the beautiful river, finished with a lovely meal dining outside at the Ferry Boat Inn. We did a spot of surfing at Perranporth too!

The road to the house is not for the faint hearted! I'm a nervous passenger and thankfully I wasn't driving but my husband enjoyed the drive!

We stayed at Sanderling House in August. Such a beautiful clean, spacious and well equipped property. Helford village is absolutely beautiful, with a well stocked village shop, a local pub and a lovely cafe just a short walk away. The perfect place to stay if you need to get away from it all! Not ideal if you plan to venture out as the location is very remote and a small car is needed if you are thinking of staying here. All in all we enjoyed our stay here, we have 2 small children that loved eating breakfast watching all the wildlife out the windows and exploring the village but we had a half hour/40 minute drive through extremely narrow roads (the width of a car but 2 way traffic) to get out onto the main roads. Fun for the kids laughing when we met oncoming traffic but a bit stressful for the grownups doing the driving, but at least we are now experts in reversing!! I just wished we had of known before we stayed here, it wouldn’t have put me off but we’d have definitely come in a smaller vehicle.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Ah, the good old Cornish lanes! Unfortunately, if you are staying or visiting anywhere a little more rural around Cornwall, you will generally come across these typical narrow lanes. It is not something that is unique to the access to Sanderling House. Don't let it put you off though, because it is worth it when you get to this lovely property. Hopefully you found that the tranquil setting de-stressed you very quickly after any outings in the car. Just to help prepare others though, we have now added a note about the access, on the website, in addition to the photo that we had already displayed on the website, that gives a bit of an indication as to the width of the lane. We hope that it hasn't put you off returning to Cornwall. Tanya, Customer Services

Wonderful cottage with plenty of space for six - we found it extremely clean and well equipped. Walk into the village is only a few minutes away but steep walk back up. Lots to explore by foot or river.