Menu
Opening at 9am 01736 754242

Reserve your 2022 holiday for £40! Find out more >

Isabella Agnes
Penzance

£374 - £843 per week
Book

This gorgeous little barn conversion idyllically situated down a country lane makes an ideal get away retreat for couples or small families alike. Although set in a peaceful rural location, Isabella Agnes is brilliantly located for days out by the sea, being only a short drive from the stunning beaches in Marazion, Carbis Bay and the surfer's favourite, Gwithian beach. Enjoy your morning coffee from the decked terrace with views across open countryside or in the cooler months light the woodburner for cosy evenings in.

If you can pull yourself away from unwinding in this lovely holiday home you will never be short of places to explore with the sought after towns of St Ives, and Penzance close by. Still an easy drive away there are numerous hidden coves, beaches and sites including the Minack Theatre, Sennen Cove and the picture postcard fishing village of Mousehole with its winding streets and lovely harbour.

Entrance

via two steps onto wooden decking area with stable door into:

Sitting/dining room

large sofa, two chairs, TV/DVD, woodburner, three steps up to:

Kitchen

electric oven and hob, dishwasher, fridge with small freezer compartment.

Bedroom 1

zip and link beds (king or twin).

Downstairs bathroom

shower, WC, basin.

Bedroom 2

double bed.

Outside area

to the front of the property there is an enclosed decked terrace, with a picnic table and bench, to the rear of the property there is a patio area, this area is not enclosed.

Additional information

oil central heating throughout, located in front of the property is a small pond so children must be supervised. Please note there is a dehumidifier provided within the cottage as the property can suffer with occasional damp areas, WiFi, one dog welcome, short breaks available.

 
 

Can’t recommend aspect holidays enough! After a bad start to our holiday at another holiday resort we went online to look for another place to stay, we came across aspect holidays and so glad we did they were very helpful from the word go couldn’t fault there service. We chose to stay at Isabella Agnes and was not disappointed it was a lovely place to stay would highly recommend and would definitely stay again!

October 2021

The location is peaceful and is perfect for exploring Penwith and the Lizard. The cottage is comfortable and it's nice to be able to sit outside. We loved hearing the owls at night! This was our 2nd time here and we had another amazing week walking the coastal path.

September 2021

Your Holiday

Arriving: Arrival date

Departing: Departure date

Do you have any special requirements?

Call us on 01736 754242

  • 7Cottage available
  • 7Short break available
  • 7Cottage booked
  • 7Your Holiday

2021

1 Jan - 6 Feb374
13 February385
20 Feb - 20 Mar374
27 March413
3 Apr - 10 Apr465
17 April374
24 April413
1 May426
8 May - 22 May443
29 May682
5 June529
12 June550
19 June590
26 June666
3 July698
10 July710
17 July784
24 Jul - 21 Aug843
28 August590
4 September561
11 September504
18 September422
25 Sep - 9 Oct417
16 October426
23 October457
30 Oct - 11 Dec374
18 December513
25 Dec - 31 Dec650

2022

1 Jan - 5 Feb378
12 Feb - 19 Feb458
26 February378
5 March384
12 March389
19 March387
26 March428
2 Apr - 16 Apr546
23 April422
30 April458
7 May - 21 May475
28 May722
4 June559
11 June581
18 June625
25 June704
2 Jul - 9 Jul739
16 July818
23 Jul - 20 Aug880
27 August818
3 September590
10 September528
17 Sep - 24 Sep493
1 Oct - 8 Oct440
15 Oct - 22 Oct519
29 Oct - 10 Dec378
17 December563
24 Dec - 31 Dec704

Holidays in Penzance

On a sunny day, St. Michael’s Mount, Mount's Bay and Penzance seafront might be mistaken for the Mediterranean. Sitting in the corner of a sheltered and attractive bay, the town has been a popular resort since the Napoleonic wars when the wealthier English people were cut off from the continent and searched closer to home for fresh air and the newly-discovered benefits of sea-bathing. The temperature in Penzance is always a little warmer than elsewhere; sub-tropical plants grow well in Morrab Gardens and in the gardens on St. Michael’s Mount.

Penzance is great for short breaks out of season and there are many boating trips from the harbour that will take you to explore the West Coast from the sea. Due to its excellent road and rail links, holidays in Penzance offer something for everyone; beaches, rock pools, coastal path walking, National Trust and English Heritage sites, restaurants and galleries.

Penzance has secret treats; if you take the time to explore. For a start it’s a good town for walking. The very best way to see Penzance is by the alleys and walkways, the through-lanes from here to there. Take a day to explore the town this way and you will discover its beautiful parks, its Regency and Georgian architecture.  

Did you know...

Penzance has one of the mildest climates in the UK!

Penzance: 'Montpelier' of Cornwall

The oldest part of town is the quayside at Penzance’s Inner Harbour. The Dry Dock, Quay Street, Battery Rocks. The original promenade was built in 1844.

You can walk Penzance Promenade from Battery Rocks to Wherrytown, where there is one of two Penzance skateparks. From Wherrytown, keep to the seafront across Newlyn Green and you are in Newlyn. In all a 30 minute stroll, depending how long Jnr. wants to spend skateboarding. There is also a proper-job boating pool at Wherrytown for sailing those radio-controlled (and sail-driven) boats that just don’t get anywhere in the bath at home.

The arrival of the railway in 1852 made the ‘Montpelier of England’ (John Betjeman 1964 Shell Guide) even more accessible. 

Many interesting boats visit Mounts Bay, from the surreal floating yacht-hotels to mighty ships like the four-masted windjammer, KruzenshternThere is a Sailing Club and The Mounts Bay Lugger Association which, as its name suggests, celebrates the beauty of the Cornish Lugger, a traditional fishing boat.

Penzance has two harbour-side pubs: The Dock Inn and The Dolphin. The Dolphin is reputedly the first place in Britain where tobacco was smoked and the hanging judge, Judge Jefferies, is reputed to have held court here in the 1700s after the Monmouth Rebellion.

You might also be interested in...

Places to visit near Penzance

Stay self catering in Penzance and you’re perfectly situated to explore the surrounding towns and villages with their own individual characters. Literally minutes from Penzance is the fishing port of Newlyn whilst a little further on you’ll find the quaint village of Mousehole with its harbourside bistro and community atmosphere. Take a stroll along the coast to Marazion beach or venture in the opposite direction to the beautiful Lamorna Cove. For more ideas, check out our blog post on Days out around Penzance.

Previous Next

Events

Montol Festival

Each year, the people of Penzance celebrate the Winter solstace with a festival of Cornish tradition, torch processions, and dancing through the streets. It's a truly womderful celebration. 

21st December 2021

Find out more >

Golowan Festival - Penzance

Golowan Festival is an annual arts event that celebrates local culture and community. This year's events have been toned down, however, elements of the festival will still go ahead to celebrate midsummer. 

 June 2022

Find out more >

Penzance Literary Festival

Popular with visitors and locals alike, this exciting festival celebrates everything literary, including spoken, written, recited and sung word. Take part in the reading and writing discussions and activities and enjoy the many performances.

6th - 9th July 2022

Find out more >

Things to do in Penzance

The Jubilee Pool
This beautiful art-deco open-air bathing pool is the UK’s largest seawater lido.  There is also an excellent cafe. The pool opens from the end of May until September.  Even in winter, some hardy year-round swimmers use battery rocks (just north of Jubilee Pool) for their daily dip!

Morrab Garden
A sub-tropical garden with Victorian fountains and a band-stand, which still plays host to concerts in the summer. The Morrab Library sits in the gardens and is an absolute joy.  The photographic archives and collections are wonderful. 

Penlee Park
Full of tress and squirrels, there is a specific dog-free and child-friendly play-park within the park. Penzance Tennis Club abuts the park and Penlee House Art Gallery & Museum (with excellent cafe) sits opposite the Penlee open-air theatre and is home to a large collection of Newlyn School paintings.

Shopping in Penzance
Market Jew Street is the main high street and like all high streets, it is in the process of adapting to new out of town shopping habits. However not all town centres have the beautiful granite terrace and arcade steps, the iron railings; or retain the architecture of previous generations above the modern shop frontages. There are many Georgian and early Victorian facades just above eye-level in Penzance.

Causewayhead leads up from the town centre.  A pedestrianised street, this is Penzance's third main retail street. Half way up is the Savoy cinema, said to be the oldest continually running cinema in the British Isles.

Eating out
Penzance self catering holidays are perfect; Chapel Street leads up from the harbour to the town centre where you will find a range of restaurants and pubs as well as independent shops and houses of historic interest and importance. Lavenders Deli on Alverton Street is perfect for stocking up on treats for your holiday cottage. Check out our blog on places to eat in Marazion for ideas on where to refuel during your self catering holiday in Penzance. Or if you fancy a restaurant with spectacular views, The Bay in Penzance is the place to go. Read more on our blog: Restaurants with the best views in West Cornwall.

What our guests say...

We know how important honest reviews are when it comes to booking your holiday. To help you choose the right property for you, we publish all reviews left by guests who have stayed here in the past, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines. Please bear in mind that some facilities referred to by past guests in reviews can be removed or changed at any time.

Can’t recommend aspect holidays enough! After a bad start to our holiday at another holiday resort we went online to look for another place to stay, we came across aspect holidays and so glad we did they were very helpful from the word go couldn’t fault there service. We chose to stay at Isabella Agnes and was not disappointed it was a lovely place to stay would highly recommend and would definitely stay again!

The location is peaceful and is perfect for exploring Penwith and the Lizard. The cottage is comfortable and it's nice to be able to sit outside. We loved hearing the owls at night! This was our 2nd time here and we had another amazing week walking the coastal path.

Perfect for a quiet relaxing holiday. Use Star Inn, St Erth for great pub food.

A pretty and comfortable cottage in an idyllic, out of the way location.

Lovely little cottage if you want peace and quiet as it's down a track and not really walking distance to anywhere. Has a good feel about it and the new bathroom is so nice !

This is a beautiful cosy property, we had a lovely stay here. It’s very clean, bright, well equipped and tastefully decorated.

The location is great! Lands End, the Lizard, St Michaels Mount and many beautiful coves are within a short drive away. There are lots of supermarkets within 10 minutes drive.

We would definitely recommend!

A very pretty cottage , off the beaten track if you like to get away from it all would be perfect. Be ware the single track road can be tricky.

This is a lovely, characterful cottage in a unique, tranquil countryside location. Unfortunately, there were numerous problems with poor property maintenance that seriously affected our stay and I’ve submitted a formal complaint to Aspects detailing these: On our arrival, we found that the bathroom had just been painted and “wet walls” had been written on the door in tape. Paint was dripping down onto the wall tiles & it was a real pain to have this inconvenience after a very long drive. My wife and son both received electric shocks from a broken plug socket in the downstairs bedroom. The bedding, especially the duvets & pillows, were poor quality & uncomfortable, making it hard to get a good night’s sleep. We bought replacement pillows. There was extensive wet mould on the walls in several places, easily cleaned but it hadn’t been done. The main upstairs bedroom / stairwell window had no blind or curtain & there was a piece of broken blind left hanging next to it. All of this gave an impression of neglect, poor standards of safety and hygiene and an overall lack of consideration for guests. We would consider renting again, but only if it were demonstrated that much better maintenance & cleaning had been put in place.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were very sorry to hear of these issues and saddened that we were not aware while you were here so that we could have had these rectified, where possible. The painting should have been completed and dry before your arrival, and we agree completely that you should not have arrived to it like that. Similarly, had we been aware that the blind had not been put back up and that a socket had been broken and not replaced, we would have had those attended to before your arrival and we are really disappointed that these were not reported to us beforehand. These have since been repaired. Isabella Agnes can suffer from damp occasionally, as highlighted in the website description, but those areas that you have mentioned should have been wiped down and as a result of your feedback and further enquiries with the property owner; they have now put a new housekeeper in place. The owners are also installing an oven extractor hood, to reduce condensation in the property, and over the winter months are having a PIV unit installed to minimise the risk of the property becoming damp. Ourselves and the property owners are genuinely sorry for this experience and we have been in touch since to discuss this further, so we hope that you can see how seriously we take such matters. The owners are very keen to ensure that this kind of situation does not arise again, and we hope from the actions that we have discussed, you have been reassured of this and that we may see you back here again. Tanya, Customer Services

Nice looking cottage in a very rural location, down the lanes but not far from Marazion/Penzance. Well equipped and dog friendly. However, damp is a real issue in this property.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

The location really is great for a peaceful escape; we are glad that you liked it. Due to the traditional granite construction and slightly milder conditions that we experience in Cornwall; some properties can be susceptible to damp at times, and with a lot of properties having been closed up for several months due to the pandemic, and not getting much ventilation, this can increase the likelihood of it happening. We always want to be open and honest if something like this is a risk and so it is included within the property description. However, we have spoken with the property owners to discuss any options that may minimise this risk going forward, and we are pleased to report that the owners have some work planned over the winter months that should really help to improve and potentially irradicate this. Thank you for your helpful feedback; we hope that you still enjoyed your stay at Isabella Agnes and hopefully we will see you back in Cornwall again. Tanya, Customer Services

Isabella Agnes is situated in a peaceful location and his well placed to explore the Lizard and Penwith.

Terrible accommodation - would not stay here again!

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We were so sorry to hear of your disappointment. From speaking to you at the time of your arrival; you had been disappointed to find that there was some evidence of damp at the property and disappointed to find a dehumidifier supplied. Being an old, traditionally constructed cottage, this property can be susceptible to damp from time to time, and so the owners provide a dehumidifier to keep this risk to a minimum. We completely appreciate that this may not suit everyone, and so we include the risk of damp and the dehumidifier on the website description. The owners are in the process of investigating other solutions that will provide a more permanent solution to this. Unfortunately, with the toilet seat cracking during your stay, and a decorative bit of wood falling off the window, we appreciate that this only compounded your initial disappointment and we tried to help in rectifying these straight away, with the offer of trades attending. Unfortunately, things can sometimes break or stop working, as they do in our own homes, and whilst we really do appreciate that you would hope for everything to be perfect during your stay, we will always try to do everything that we can to help, should anything go wrong. We are really sorry that in this case, we were not authorised to attend to these issues for you, so that you could get the full use and enjoyment out of everything there.

A lovely little cottage ideal for a quiet break beautifully laid out would not hesitate to return

Lovely central location. Spacious and well equipped property.

Beware of damp issues. This property is remote so not within walking distance of anywhere.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

We are sorry to hear that you had experienced some damp areas in the property while you were here. With the granite construction of a lot of the more traditional buildings around here, the close proximity to the sea and more humid conditions, some properties can be more susceptible to areas of damp occasionally. We try to be open and honest with this in our descriptions if we are aware, and as we do for this property, will state this within the description. The owners of this property supply a dehumidifier, which if used regularly would ordinarily prevent damp areas from appearing, so we will keep a close eye on this. We hope that you still had a great holiday here and if you are ever looking to return to Cornwall, please do not hesitate to get in touch so that we can recommend other properties that will be in a more suitable location for you. Many love the beautiful, peaceful, rural location that Isabella Agnes is situated in, but we appreciate that this may not suit everyone, so our experienced team would be happy to advise. Tanya, Customer Services

We had a fantastic time in this beautiful cottage set in a beautiful location with lots of places to visit.

We had a super holiday in Isabella Agnes. It was in just the right location for us as we like to venture somewhere different each day. It's about 7 miles to St Ives and 5 miles to Marazion. May was a perfect time to holiday here as the hedgerows were in full bloom with colourful wild flowers. The cottage was comfortable, well equipped and in a tranquil setting. Our dog Ruby loved it too! We will definitely be visiting here again.

Lovely little cottage in nice quiet location. Great base to visit lots of the local attractions. Enjoyed cosy evenings in with the log burner on!

A quaint and comfortable cosy cottage with additional parking for more than one car. The welcome gift of a pint of milk and biscuits was a nice touch. Beds were very comfortable and the cottage very warm, very quick to heat up which was welcome as we stayed in November. Bathroom has a powerful shower just wait a moment longer for the water to heat but when it does it's very toasty.

Internet/ Wifi can be patchy and you just need to step outside if you want a phone signal as being an old barn the walls are thick, it didn't bother us much but may bother those who like to stay connected all the time.

We did experience a few issues in our stay but Aspect Holidays team were impressive with their speed, friendliness and helpfulness with assisting us to resolve a series of problems.

Kitchen is well equipped but could benefit from an extractor fan as even with the windows open soon steamed up and had condensation running down walls in kitchen. The property does suffer with dampness and a touch of mould in places there is a dehumidify constantly running to help but the problem does need properly addressing by the property owner particular for those staying in winter as possibly more noticeable at that time of year.

Reply from Aspects Holidays

Thank you for your helpful comments. We were glad that we could help in resolving those issues for you. We will pass on your suggestion of an extractor fan in the kitchen, as being a traditionally built building, where they used materials such as granite; it can hold some of the moisture and occasionally then suffer with a bit of damp. This is seen to regularly by the property owners and is highlighted on the website, as we would always want to be completely open and honest, but if there is anything that can minimise this risk further, it is certainly worth passing on for the owner's consideration, so thank you. We hope that you had a fantastic time here and hopefully we can welcome you back to Cornwall again soon. Tanya, Customer Services. NOTE: the owners have now installed an extractor hob in the kitchen and a PIV unit, which should significantly reduce any risk of damp in the property

This is a lovely,quaint cottage in a lovely location. However I would say a car is needed as it’s quite a way from any main roads. It was September when we stayed and was a bit chilly in the mornings and evenings so we did use the heating, which was brilliant and gave us a very cozy cottage in minutes. Plain white bed linen and white, fluffy towels were supplied. Although we had no need to contact aspect holidays it was good to know we could if needs be.

Would not stay here again

Isabella Agnes was the most beautiful cottage we have ever been too... gorgeous waterfall in front of the cottage and the views are our of this world. Thankyou for such a lovely wonderful stay

Lovely peaceful location but in easy reach of main tourist locations Cosy clean cottage, great place to unwind

An excellent and charming place to stay. Very relaxing and peaceful. Good to be right in the country.