Brimming with original features and historical murals, this magnificent building is included in "England's Thousand Best Houses" guide. The Longhouse is Grade I listed and dates back to the 1480's. Truly one not to be missed! The quirky staircases and maze of rooms make for a perfect stay. With three very distinctive guest rooms all exuding a charm and character it will be hard to choose which room to stay in. Guests can experience a traditional medieval banquet immersing themselves in the grandeur of the huge great hall whilst kids can explore the secret staircases and cubbyholes.
Situated in a cobbled courtyard at Cullacott Farmhouse a working farm, The Longhouse commands splendid panoramic views across the Ottery Valley. There is a large garden and countryside walks along the lanes down to the River Ottery where you can fish and enjoy the woodland and its abundance of wildlife from deer to badgers. Your dogs will be very welcome visitors to The Longhouse and won't want to leave. The historical town of Launceston is a mere 3 miles away and the beaches at Bude just under 17 mile. The Longhouse can be booked with The Tudor Wing to accommodate large parties.
A little history - Records date from the 14th Century when it was originally part of the huge swathes of land owned by Tavistock Abbey. In 1538, during the Dissolution of the Monastries, it was given, with other properties, to John Russell who became the 1st Duke of Bedford. Many properties including the longhouse, were sold on and by 1620 the Werrington lands were owned by Sir Francis Drake, nephew of the famous Elizabethan sailor of the same name.
The "modern extension" was built in 1579 at the time of the great Elizabethan re-build, providing grander accommodation for the evolving needs of the family of the day. It provided a retiring parlour, bed chambers and the ultimate in sanitation at the time - a garderobe. The property has evolved through the centuries with little alteration leaving an almost complete medieval house.A feature of the property is the Great Hall with the remains of what were once magnificent murals (circa 1485 - 1525). They include a fictive tapestry together with Henry VII/VIII's coat of arms, a representation of St. George and the Dragon and a figure thought to be St. James of Compostella. After storm damage, and with the support of English Heritage, from 1995-1997 the property was restored to provide two self catering holiday lets. The restoration of the property (jointly with the Royal Albert Memorial in Kensington) won the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors' National Building Conservation Award.
two sofas, dining table and chairs, oil fired woodburner.
two sofas, TV/DVD, open fire, dining table and chairs, radio/CD player.
electric fan oven and hob, fridge, dishwasher. Stairs to first floor.
roll top bath, WC, basin
shower, WC, basin.
twin beds, hanging hooks.
double bed, single bed, chaise longue.
double bed, hanging hooks.
lawned garden, terrace with tables and benches, umbrella, BBQ, sunloungers.
washing machine, tumble dryer, WC and basin.
night storage and panel heating, WiFi, up to two dogs welcome, short breaks available.